Commerical servers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 10-25-2013, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can I convert a Fujitsu primergy rx300 s4 server into home theater media server. An if so is there a tutorial or walk through to help me accomplish the transformation
saint69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 03:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You wouldn't have to do much really. It's a bit of a beast, and with that fan pack would not be quiet, but it's more than capable of the job. You'd just need to have enough (hot plug) disks to do the job. If the server has a hardware raid controller, I'd use it to create a RAID1 (mirror) over a couple of SATA disks, then fill whatever space is left with much larger drives. You could use RAID5 on these, but that's often overkill for home use, so I'd recommend you just set them up in JBOD mode. Install your O/S on the mirror pair, then you have multiple options on how you want to manage the data disks;

Treat them as individual disks and balance your data across them manually
Use something like WHS2011 with Drivepool/Drivebender to create a single large pool of data
Use WS2012Essentials with Storage Spaces
Use a Linux distruibution with FlexRAID

Alternatively, you could use one of the many 'free' NAS options. This is a good link explaining things.
tman247 is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have server 2003 on the unit know an 6 146g hd. Im going to be change out at least 4 drives to 2tb drives. I was thinking about using mymovies collection. But I'm on to different ideas.
saint69 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Server 2003 is jurassic. You'd be much better off with a modern O/S, maybe one geared to media serving. WHS2011 is a bargain at the moment. I agree on upgrading the drives to larger SATA units. As big as you can afford would be the best bet. Mymovies is very good, but there are alternatives; XBMC, Media Browser etc.
tman247 is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was told that whatever software I use that it has to be server compatible.
saint69 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also the server is a 32bit sydtem
saint69 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I meant system
saint69 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-26-2013, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I have an HP Proliant ML350, that was no longer being used by my work, that I was able to transform over to WHS 2011. The only real trouble I had was the drivers for the existing system. Fortunately, they were all saved in a pre stored ROM. All I had to do was point to that when installing WHS, and it was seamless from there.
I don't have it fully utilized yet. It has an SAS controller, (that I've installed SATA drives to...) and a RAID card. (I am unfamiliar with RAID, and have been doing as much reading as I can) I need to buy more drives and implement backups, as well as backup my existing server to it.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-27-2013, 02:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint69 View Post

Also the server is a 32bit sydtem

I did check the specs on this server, and it didn't seem that old. Maybe I was wrong, but the Fujitsu spec page says this system supports the Xeon E5-2600, which is a modern CPU, up to 1.5TB of RAM, SATA/SAS disks and has PCIe Gen3 slots. All very capable, unless you have a much older version of the server. If it really is 32-bit only, then that will certainly limit you, but there are current 32-bit NAS distributions which would still be better than WIndows 2003. Worst case, if you can still find it, you could install WHS v1. This still offers client support up to Windows 7.
tman247 is online now  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-27-2013, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I was told from the person I got it from, but from what I seen from the specs of the unit. I think it will work with whs 2011.
saint69 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 10-27-2013, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 366
I would suggest trying to narrow down what it is exactly that you want to do with your server, before picking an OS for it.

If it's only purpose is to share media files then Server 2003 should be fine. I've had it running on my file server for years, without a single hiccup. It's about as stable and reliable as you could ever hope for.

If you're wanting to do more with it than just sharing files then you might look at one of the home server versions.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #12 of 16 Old 10-30-2013, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided to go with WHS2011, Drivebender and My Movies Home and Essentials Server. thinking of using one drive for OS, and the other 5 to pool together. (3tb drives)
saint69 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 10-30-2013, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Whs does have limits on CPU's and memory.

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 10-31-2013, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post

Whs does have limits on CPU's and memory.

Correct. WHS2011 only supports 1 CPU and max 8GB RAM. If you don't anticipate on needing more than that then it will do just fine.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 10-31-2013, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Schroinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tman247 View Post

Server 2003 is jurassic. You'd be much better off with a modern O/S, maybe one geared to media serving. WHS2011 is a bargain at the moment. I agree on upgrading the drives to larger SATA units. As big as you can afford would be the best bet. Mymovies is very good, but there are alternatives; XBMC, Media Browser etc.

Is is possible to buy it online somewhere? Or just the s/n?

Regards
Schroinx
Schroinx is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 10-31-2013, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saint69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If not WHS2011, what would you do. I only have one processor in the server now. I would like the option to add another CPU and the server can go up to 48 meg of ram of memory.
saint69 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off