Lowest Video Card for MadVR ~$100 or so? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 114 Old 10-29-2013, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The last thread like this I saw was over a year old so I wanted to get some updated opinions on what video card will offer the best price/performance and be able to handle all the best or near best settings in MadVR. obviously, it must bitstream HD Audio formats through HDMI to my receiver. There will be no gaming on this machine, only HTPC video playback. But I want the best video quality I can get out of the HTPC.

I was thinking about the GTX 650 as it seems to be a great card for the money. Overkill? Anything better for the same or less money?
jeff lam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 01:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I have a GTX 660 and it does the job just perfectly.
The 650 has significantly less shader cores, so it would be much slower. However, if its still enough for madVR i cannot tell you from lack of experience. Some of the advanced madVR algorithms are quite demanding, though.

If your budget allows, you could also go for a GTX 650 Ti to have some more performance headroom. If the 650 is your top limit, it will certainly work, but you might not be able to use all of the advanced features (especially future things being added, like debanding which will be in the next madVR release)
Nevcairiel is online now  
post #3 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I have a GTX 660 and it does the job just perfectly.
The 650 has significantly less shader cores, so it would be much slower. However, if its still enough for madVR i cannot tell you from lack of experience. Some of the advanced madVR algorithms are quite demanding, though.

If your budget allows, you could also go for a GTX 650 Ti to have some more performance headroom. If the 650 is your top limit, it will certainly work, but you might not be able to use all of the advanced features (especially future things being added, like debanding which will be in the next madVR release)

DAMMIT!

Looks like my 2 y.o. GT 430 is just not going to cut it any longer..

Now I need a new video card. biggrin.gif

Are there any recommendations in the AMD line that are in the price range of the GTX 650 Ti?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 04:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
7770 Radeon is under $99 and enough for all levels of MADVR

7790 is even better ( also under $100 on sale)
Sammy2 likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #5 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

7770 Radeon is under $99 and enough for all levels of MADVR

7790 is even better ( also under $100 on sale)

Perfect! I will begin to investigate but wonder still how these will perform with the soon to be introduced debanding? If this is for interlaced content it doesn't matter too much because most all, if not all, of my content is 1080p with some 720p.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Banding can occur in all kind of content, usually a result of too high compression.
Nevcairiel is online now  
post #7 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Banding can occur in all kind of content, usually a result of too high compression.

I do 1:1 rips usually but the studios often compress when they master the discs. Too bad that madVR and LAV cannot be in the playback chain for US copy protected CATV content so this forthcoming anti-banding filter can be utilized for that compressed material.

At least CATV is better than Uverse as far as compression goes though.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
BTW, rather than discuss specific cards, what are the minimum specifications to look for in a card to run this upcoming anti-banding filter?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

BTW, rather than discuss specific cards, what are the minimum specifications to look for in a card to run this upcoming anti-banding filter?
Have the same question. Looking for a new video card to replace an old one in my THPC. Thanks for the inputs.
Elpee is offline  
post #10 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

BTW, rather than discuss specific cards, what are the minimum specifications to look for in a card to run this upcoming anti-banding filter?

Not sure how that would be easier, and only gets more confusing when comparing across Nvidia and AMD offerings. As a baseline, I would want a card with GDDR5 memory.

Refer to ReneTHX's chart here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1477339/so-youve-built-your-htpc-now-what-is-next-how-to-get-the-ultimate-picture-and-sound-quality-from-your-htpc-madvr-svp-xbmc-mediabrowser-jriver/60
emcdade is offline  
post #11 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
I've read that thread. I need to bookmark it now. Thanks.

I wonder how this will all pan out with the nee anti-aliasing filter?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #12 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
I think something like a 7790 has a bit of headroom (more than enough) so it's a really good choice without breaking the bank. Now that the rebadge models are launching you can pick one of these up for $100

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #13 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Any particular brand / model?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #14 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I think something like a 7790 has a bit of headroom (more than enough) so it's a really good choice without breaking the bank. Now that the rebadge models are launching you can pick one of these up for $100

Agreed, low TDP as well compared to the next step up 7850. Excited to see what 20nm process will bring us next year.

I have always had good luck with ASUS. Here's an open box for $100.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121727R
emcdade is offline  
post #15 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
New AR isn't much more and I have an amazon store credit too. Hmm..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #16 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 02:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

New AR isn't much more and I have an amazon store credit too. Hmm..

I like XFX and Asus myself...

Saphire I heard was also quiet.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #17 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 02:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

New AR isn't much more and I have an amazon store credit too. Hmm..

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1492107/help-me-build-a-htpc-for-less-than-800-just-movies-and-music/0_100

This thread had some good talk in it:
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post


If you are interested in madVR (Jinc) upscaling SD / HD -> FHD, HD 7770 or GTX 650 Ti is minimum (and enough). Quietness is one of the keys in choosing a graphics card. Some of the quietest cards are

Sapphire HD 7770 Vapor-X
ASUS HD7790-DC2OC-1GC5 (fits only an ATX case because of taller heatpipes)
MSI N650Ti TF 2GD5/OC BE

AMD card is straightforward to set up (23.976Hz, switching between full and limited RGB, stereoscopic 3D all work instantly as they should). NVIDIA card needs lots of tweaks (that's why I prefer AMD).


-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #18 of 114 Old 10-30-2013, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168


I have this card crammed in my case right now so I think the taller heat pipes of the HD7790 will fit. I need to find the dimensions and see. Fortunately I did not go with a low profile case when I built my HTPC.

Edit: This is 7.3" x 4.4" and the HD7790 is 8.5" x 5.1" so it is a bit bigger. I'm not sure if I have that much room or not.. I will need to verify by opening up the case, I guess.


Sammy2 is offline  
post #19 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
This Radeon HD 7850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 will be $105 AR on Shell Shocker in a little while today.. Thoughts?

BTW, my antec NSK 1380 case has a 350W power supply that cannot be upgraded because it is custom fit to the case.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #20 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 11:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
I am not sure if the more advanced chip works better for MADVR.

I think the clock speed is 860mhz on those versus 1075mhz on a 7790- not sure how that effects Madvr Performance.

I would tend to think the higher 7800 series card would do well since it's above the 7700 series- but a "50" versus a "90" puts the bottom of the 7800 lineup against the top of the 7700 lineup. I would not imagine the difference would be very great. Much like how a faster or higher mhz single or dual core chip can sometimes be faster at single threaded applications versus a slow quad core. IDK ???

In any event- 7790 is enough (7770 is actually enough with only 1GB) so I am not sure you would get the traditional benefits of the higher card being a non gamer. ?? IDK ?? If the price is right I would imagine it's a good choice. But I would not pay more for it.

Something like a 7870 is what I have my eyes on personally. A good step above the 77xx cards. But I already have a 6870 X2 which is "enough" so IDK? I think I am rambling.....

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #21 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Yes that was quite the ramble..

It looks like the price is comparable during the Shell Shocker window between the 7790 and 7850 cards but looking at the specs on newegg's page the 7790 does seem to be a better card, with the exception of the lower stream processors of 896 compared to 1024 for the 7850 with the 7790 having a lower power demand.

One other thing, I don't have an SLi Header on my PSU. Do these cards require it and I'll need an adapter off of Molex?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #22 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
I think a XX90 will need a PSU power plug (or 2)

Some of the low power xx50 cards sometimes power only off PCI slot. You will need to pay attention to the card you get. My 6870 uses dual power, so I would imagine a newer more powerful card certainly would. I know I have seen the 50 series without them, but I never noticed with the 70 or 90 series. I am guessing you need it with a powerful card.

What does the specs say ? I am guessing it has 6 pin power connectors

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #23 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121633

This does not seem to need a power plug ^

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150642&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-_-na-_-na-_-na&cm_sp=&AID=10446076&PID=6146852&SID=stnlus5vg2ch

This one needs 1 ^

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150604

Something like this needs 2 ^

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #24 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
From Asus for the 7790:

Power Consumption: up to 150W1 additional 6 pin PCIe power required

I just realized that this is $130 AR but the 7850 is only $105 AR on SS right now.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #25 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
So both the 7790 and 7850 need power but that can be taken off a molex with the right adapter (from monoprice of course)?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #26 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812887001


This is an option if you get desperate although often times it's better to replace your PSU

You have two IDE power free (I am guessing yes)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #27 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Replacing the PSU in my case means replacing the case as it is integral. I'm not too worried about having enough power as everything else in there is low power.. Low RPM HDD's, SSD, clarkdale CPU, etc. There isn't even an optical drive in the case.

There's no IDE devices in the machine at all.

Case

Sammy2 is offline  
post #28 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182081

50% OFF with private coupon code. That's a bad ass-ed PSU for $50:eek: It would be ideal (if you can fit it)

Silent Fan only kicks on when needed, and it's 94%+ efficient PLATINUM. Japanese capacitors, double ball bearing etc...

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #29 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Replacing the PSU in my case means replacing the case as it is integral. I'm not too worried about having enough power as everything else in there is low power.. Low RPM HDD's, SSD, clarkdale CPU, etc. There isn't even an optical drive in the case.

There's no IDE devices in the machine at all.

Case

You can probably rig it with IDE then. Buy the $5 adapter. (monoprice does not sell them I don't think )

Check to see because some cards come with those adapters. I have a couple floating around. If I find one I'll send it to you if you really need it. I won't use it. All my PSU have the wires.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #30 of 114 Old 10-31-2013, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off