readying for 3d...but first - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-30-2013, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to buy a new Panasonic ST60 Plasma TV soon so I can watch 3D Films.
First however I need to get my HTPCs ready.
I like NVIDIA video cards...or I did until I started this exercise!

My current video card is a Gigabyte GTX 550Ti with Mini HDMI output and two DVI -D dual link outputs.
So I dont have a Receiver with HDMI 1.4a specs...its an Onkyo SR606.
So I will have to run a cable from my Video card to the new Plasma
and a separate cable to the receiver to carry HD audio.

Given the Nvidia 550Ti card has a HDMI connection to my receiver already ..I will obviously
use that for audio.
My question is can I use a DVI-D to HDMI cable(connected to one of the two DVI-D Dual Link outlets
on the 550Ti)...to carry the 3D Picture to the Panasonic Plasma??

I ask this because I know the Panasonic can do Full Frame sequential 3D ie 1080p
(as against interlaced which is half resolution).
So I am worried the DVI-D to HDMI wont satisfy the 3D needs ??

Why NVIDIA cant do like AMD cards and put Displayport outlets instead of more DVI-D ones!
I know its all about games...but Displayport can do games as well...

Hope you can help...

I am actually thinking maybe a I should go over to an AMD 7790
which has HDMI...plus Displayport and DVI-D outlets.

What is a good 3D card now which can do MadVR as well??
Not many nice NVIDIA cards...that are quiet... but can do both 3D and MadVR.
devoz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-30-2013, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In talking about what the Panasonic Plasma can do I meant this...so its understood

Frame sequential is full resolution alternating left and right every frame.
Field sequential is interlaced half vertical resolution, one eye goes into the odd field and the other eye goes to the even field. Each frame contains both eye views since it contains both fields.
Line by line looks similar to field sequential, but the difference is that the frames are defined as a progressive picture. Since there are no fields in a progressive picture, the terms odd/even fields are replaced with odd/even lines.

From what I understand LG 3D TVs do Field sequential 3D as example.

So I assume that the bandwidth requirements for Panasonic maybe higher...because of this type of 3D
hence my seeking clarification on the DVI-D output issue and whether its good enough for the job?

As I said my current card ..the Gigabyte GTX 550Ti ..has an HDMI outlet
which is great...but for some reason they choose to use Mini HDMI!
which has proven problematic in maintaining a good solid connection.
It can be bumped and loose its connection unlike a full HDMI outlet.

So unlike AMD which seem more inclined to use Displayport..as against say VGA or another DVI-D
most NVIDIA seem inclined to the above.

The new need to use the video card for 3D
comes on top of the need in the HTPC area for working with MadVR(hence a 550Ti)
plus the need for card that is quiet
and also if possible doesnt have too high a consumption of power
and hence pump out too much heat.

So its also why I asked if anyone had seen the HTPC 'Nirvana' video card lately?

It used to be the Nvidia GT430 ..then MadVR came along and now it seems the
650Ti ( NVIDIA) or 7790(AMD) is the new sweetspot.
devoz is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 05:41 AM
Member
 
springmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If things havent changed with the nvidia cards you run hdmi connection to 3d tv and a dvi to hdmi cable from nvidia card to receiver that way you get 3d to tv and hd audio to receiver.
springmaker is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 185
DVI to the ST60 and HDMI to the AVR. Then you run the video outputs in Duplicated or Extended mode (can't remember, but one works and the other doesn't).

Or do what I did with my 3D TV and get a new AVR as well.

bryansj is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 05:55 AM
Member
 
springmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With the gt430 it was hdmi to tv and dvi to amp and was extended display because duplicate wouldn,t work if receiver doesn,t support 3d.
springmaker is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I can confirm that gt 430 provides HDMI 1.4a 3D through a DVI-to-HDMI generic adapter cable.
Roussi is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Okay, so if your AVR is HDMI 1.4a, such as a Denon 2312ci, you can pass the frame sequential 3D through it from a GT 430 card?

What is not being discussed here is the player. It is my understanding that MPC-HC does not do this so you need to utilize TMT or similar but then there's that Cinavia thing..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Okay, so if your AVR is HDMI 1.4a, such as a Denon 2312ci, you can pass the frame sequential 3D through it from a GT 430 card?

What is not being discussed here is the player. It is my understanding that MPC-HC does not do this so you need to utilized TMT or similar but then there's that Cinavia thing..

Correct. Your TV will detect the 3D signal (if you have auto detect enabled on the TV) and playback 3D.

I use TMT6 and AnyDVD HD takes care of the Cinavia.

bryansj is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Okay, so if your AVR is HDMI 1.4a, such as a Denon 2312ci, you can pass the frame sequential 3D through it from a GT 430 card?

What is not being discussed here is the player. It is my understanding that MPC-HC does not do this so you need to utilized TMT or similar but then there's that Cinavia thing..

Correct. Your TV will detect the 3D signal (if you have auto detect enabled on the TV) and playback 3D.

I use TMT6 and AnyDVD HD takes care of the Cinavia.

I bought the set for inky blacks and to get a 225% increase inscreen area from 40" to 60", not so much for 3D or apps even so investing in software for content I'm not really interested in probably won't happen but I may do a free trial. Do you load them as iso's and does AnyDVD HD have such a thing as a free trial?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I load 3D as ISO. If you don't then the BD folder structure is 2x larger than 2D. There is some sort of sym linking done on a 3D disc that doesn't rip correctly.

AnyDVD has a free trial. It just allows you to block Cinavia from the players. Or you just use an older version of TMT 5 that doesn't support Cinavia.

I don't use 3D much on my TV either and I even bought six pairs of glasses. Just make sure you avoid SBS 3D, it is ugly. IMO the best 3D movie I've seen lately on my TV was Life of Pi.

bryansj is online now  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didnt think DVI-D could carry streamed HD audio ...Dolby True HD etc?

Also I have a Gigabyte GTX 550Ti video card.....
....not a Gt430(it was mentioned as part of the discussion about what happened at beginning of 3D)

Also I would love a new HDMI1.4a AV Receiver...but I need to see how 3D comes up first ...as to whether I want to spend for 3D alone
devoz is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-01-2013, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
No audio from DVI on the GT 430, only 3D video. I use analog from the HTPC on this particular setup.

Sammy2, a minor correction: it is not frame-sequential 3D that gets passed to the TV, it is frame-packed (2205p@24Hz). AFAIK, no consumer TV can receive, or a receiver pass, FHD frame-sequential (1080p@120Hz; requires dual-link DVI or DP).

Unless you invest in AnyDVD (which is worth it), I believe your only option in avoiding Cinavia is Stereoscopic Player. Not sure how good it is at playing BD's, or if can utilize MadVR.

I regularly play BD3D's with TNT5 (pre-Cinavia) on a 720p 100" screen, and it is quite spectacular. Your new plasma should be better than that; I believe you are in for a treat when you get it going.
Roussi is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-01-2013, 09:42 PM
Member
 
springmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My gigabyte gt430 quite happy to pass audio over dvi was using it before upgrading receiver this a known work around for a non 3d receiver has been discussed elsewhere on this forum.
springmaker is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off