Possible to merely "copy" an MKV's encoding settings? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2013, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coldblackice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible to merely "copy" an MKV's encoding settings found in its file information and use those same settings to rip from the original source again, resulting in an MKV of the same quality?

For example --

Person A and Person B both have the same exact bluray that they want to rip.

Person A rips the bluray into an MKV. Person B wants to mimic the quality of Person A's ripped MKV, so Person B looks in the A's MKV's info, finds the settings:

-Writing application (mkvmerge v5.8.0)
-Writing library (libebml v1.2.3 + libmatroska v1.3.0)
-Writing library (x264 core 125 r2200 999b753)
-Encoding settings (cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:-3:-3 / analyse=0x3:0x133 ...)
-Bitrate (5000Kbps)

And then seeks to use the same programs and settings on his rip of the bluray.

Would this work? In other words, is the encoding information that's stored in A's MKV enough for someone to mimic themselves and get the same quality rip? Or is there some "magic" or "flourish" that wouldn't show up in an MKV's info, which could drastically vary the quality of the rip?
coldblackice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2013, 05:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Typically, a rip is a direct lossless copy of the movie on the disc. There should be no quality differences.
The only times you see quality differences is when you re-compress the video to save space. Rippers like MakeMKV only does lossless rip. I know some programs like Clone BD will re-compress the video to fit certain storage space.
In the case of re-compressed video, MKV metadata alone if not enough to tell what the encoding parameters are. Far from it.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 11-14-2013, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
bulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Allen TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
cold: always wondered that but i've never tried

fox:
"rip" does not mean lossless.

from their own website: " MakeMKV is a format converter, otherwise called "transcoder"." = NOT lossless, and as far as i remember from the DVD days, transcoders = suck . (just like other softwares it might have options to keep audio/video untouched but whatever)
bulls is offline  
Old 11-14-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulls View Post

from their own website: " MakeMKV is a format converter, otherwise called "transcoder"." = NOT lossless, and as far as i remember from the DVD days, transcoders = suck . (just like other softwares it might have options to keep audio/video untouched but whatever)

You are totally wrong on this. Enough said. Go research.
StinDaWg likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 11-14-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Yes. Completely wrong. Do you have a link?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 11-14-2013, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Gorath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All MakeMKV does is take the video file(s) and the audio file(s) from the BluRay or DVD and put them in a .mkv container. It doesn't do any compression.

I think what you are thinking of having is something like "AccurateRip" that is used to verify the accuracy of an audio CD rip.
Gorath is online now  
Old 11-14-2013, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
bulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Allen TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
twilight zone
bulls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off