Help me start over - software - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 12-23-2013, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used Assassin's guide as a total noob with no experience building or touching internal components (but lots of heart) to build my first HTPC a couple of years ago.

I've kept it pretty clean, software wise, but you know how things pile up and others become outdated...

So I was wondering if I could get some advice on how to start over with the software side of things...

why?
  1. I am having trouble with some of the audio (LAV split) drivers using WMC/Media Browser to play a few movies
  2. I could never get the subtitles to work properly after a month (when they stopped working)
  3. I am growing tired of Media Center and want to try XBMC (it seems much better since a couple of years back)
  4. I am modding an old xbox original that I had laying around, and thought using XBMC on the main HTPC would help interface better, with what would essentially be an extender for another room
  5. it's the holidays and I have time, so why not??tongue.gif

preferably, while doing this, I would like to wipe up windows 7 and re-install fresh.

The main problem I see with this is that I'm running everything from a 2TB HDD, and I don't want to lose 1.6TB of media

I have a subscription to Assassin's blog, so I'll use his guides and other info on here to get me going into XBMC once I have a fresh slate... but I'm confused about how to create a fresh slate without putting my media data in danger.
I'm also afraid my family will mutiny if I essentially take away the TV and don't return it within a reasonable amount of time.