Makemkv - 7.1 Sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 12-24-2013, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,

I have been experimenting with Makemkv for ripping blu-ray dvds to a hard drive.

I cannon seem to get the 7.1 sound to work in the resulting file.

When I playback with Windows Media Player, my receiver says the sound is Dolby Digital 5.1.

When I playback with Windows Media Center, the receiver says the sound is PCM 2 channel.

Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.

Brady
bbibb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 12-24-2013, 10:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Are you sure the source has a 7.1 audio track? Not all of them do.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes. The source is 7.1. I fell in love with 7.1 and am always checking this out. There is a scene in this movie where a horse is on the roof of a house. It sounds like the thing is right above your head. Amazing.

Makemkv shows a checkbox for the DTS HD Audio, and I made sure that was checked.

Brady
bbibb is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 08:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Use the program mediainfo to look at the mkv file and see what audio track was ripped.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Brady
bbibb is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It looks like the .mkv file is storing the proper format, but it does not seem to play via WMC or Windows Media Player?

Brady
bbibb is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 12:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
What are you using for htpc playback? Are you using lav with wmc? What receiver are you using and how is it connected to your htpc?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 12:44 PM
Member
 
sippelmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It sounds like WMP/WMC is downsampling on its way to the AVR.

I think only Win8 has 7.1 built in. What OS are you on?

In any event, the most likely fix is to get LAV filters and bitstream the content to your AVR (which I assume can handle 7.1).
sippelmc is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 12-25-2013, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the input.

I installed LAV. Don't know how I missed this. I follow Assassin's guides pretty close.

Now when I play the .mkv movie with Windows Media Player, the receiver shows DTS 7.1.

BUT when I play the movie with Windows Media Center (the preferred route), the receiver shows PCM 2 channel.


My HTPC is connected to an Onkyo TX-NR818 with an HDMI cable. The HTPC is running Windows 7 Home premium, 67 Bit OS.

I also have a Blu-ray player connected to the Onkyo. This seems to play 7.1 fine.

Any additional insight you may have would be greatly appreciated.

-Brady

Brady
bbibb is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 12-26-2013, 09:45 AM
Member
 
sippelmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
What player are you using in WMC? External or internal? It sounds like you are 99% there, we just gotta get bitstreaming through WMC to run.
sippelmc is online now  
post #11 of 21 Old 12-26-2013, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbibb View Post

Thanks for the input.

I installed LAV. Don't know how I missed this. I follow Assassin's guides pretty close.

Now when I play the .mkv movie with Windows Media Player, the receiver shows DTS 7.1.

BUT when I play the movie with Windows Media Center (the preferred route), the receiver shows PCM 2 channel.


My HTPC is connected to an Onkyo TX-NR818 with an HDMI cable. The HTPC is running Windows 7 Home premium, 67 Bit OS.

I also have a Blu-ray player connected to the Onkyo. This seems to play 7.1 fine.

Any additional insight you may have would be greatly appreciated.

-Brady

the 67 bit OS is your problem.

smile.gif

seriously though doesnt wmc bypass all non microsoft directx filters and use its own filter graphs during playback?
qz3fwd is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 12-26-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbibb View Post

BUT when I play the movie with Windows Media Center (the preferred route), the receiver shows PCM 2 channel.

The easiest solution when using the Windows players is to remove LAV and install the Shark007 Codecs.
During installation, select the [x] SUGGESTED settings checkbox and on the Audio TAB, set HDMI in both GUI's (32bit and 64bit)
You'll also need 2 installations, The 32bit Codecs and the x64Components addon.
Download url's to current versions can be found on the Setup and usage page.




Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

doesnt wmc bypass all non microsoft directx filters and use its own filter graphs during playback?

Not when it is setup to use external filters (LAV) properly; which is what the Shark007 Codecs will do for you.

Use
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 12-26-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Try using XBMC for playback. If the movie has 7.1 audio it should play via XBMC with no problems.
captain_video is online now  
post #14 of 21 Old 12-26-2013, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

Try using XBMC for playback. If the movie has 7.1 audio it should play via XBMC with no problems.

Agreed.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 12-26-2013, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbibb View Post


Did you extract the DTS core (aka regular DTS) track in addition to the DTS HDMA track?

DTS HDMA is DTS core + the delta to restore lossless playback for it to work properly.
Tong Chia is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 12-27-2013, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
is there a list of movies that are 7.1...?
lefthandluke is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 12-27-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,935
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 227
The list will be too long and meaningless.

OP's problem is software player side of things. To bitstream or playback 7.1 audio needs proper setup and configuration on each playback software. Not all players support full 7.1 lossless playback. It is never an easy task on a PC.

Get a free DTS-HD MA decoder is also another issue. Most of them are embedded into the commercial pay software. Without it, you will only be able to decode the 5.1 DTS core, not the 7.1 lossless.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #18 of 21 Old 12-27-2013, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Tong Chia is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 12-30-2013, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

The easiest solution when using the Windows players is to remove LAV and install the Shark007 Codecs.
During installation, select the [x] SUGGESTED settings checkbox and on the Audio TAB, set HDMI in both GUI's (32bit and 64bit)
You'll also need 2 installations, The 32bit Codecs and the x64Components addon.
Download url's to current versions can be found on the Setup and usage page.
Not when it is setup to use external filters (LAV) properly; which is what the Shark007 Codecs will do for you.

I uninstalled LAV and installed Shark 32 + 64. I set the options you suggested. Works!

Thanks a bunch.

Brady
bbibb is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 12-30-2013, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bbibb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lefthandluke View Post

is there a list of movies that are 7.1...?

Here is the listing I use: http://www.blu-raystats.com/Stats/Stats.php


Select the Audio dropdown, choose 7.1, then click the "Filter" button on the right.


Hope this is helpful.

Brady
bbibb is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 12-30-2013, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbibb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

The easiest solution when using the Windows players is to remove LAV and install the Shark007 Codecs.
During installation, select the [x] SUGGESTED settings checkbox and on the Audio TAB, set HDMI in both GUI's (32bit and 64bit)
You'll also need 2 installations, The 32bit Codecs and the x64Components addon.
Download url's to current versions can be found on the Setup and usage page.
Not when it is setup to use external filters (LAV) properly; which is what the Shark007 Codecs will do for you.

I uninstalled LAV and installed Shark 32 + 64. I set the options you suggested. Works!

Thanks a bunch.

you're welcomed. I work hard at making this easy.
fitbrit likes this.

Use
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off