Finally bought a ssd, thinking about doing a fresh install and building my setup from the beg. again. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 21 Old 01-09-2014, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I have been using my htpc for about 2 years and I just bought a ssd and I am thinking about just doing a fresh install of windows, and starting over again, thinking this would make everything faster again. I currently have a partitioned hard drive with my os on its own part, and most of my media and personal files on the other. When I built the pc, I was using a hdhr prime, and a haup. tuner for ota. I ended up canceling cable mostly except they gave me free limited basic which is on one tv. So now I just use that box upstairs instead of the xbox extender. I installed a antenna and I use that for all my other tv's. I also have 2 tv's that use plex to watch content stored on the htpc. I watch the ota, stuff, movies and torrents on the htpc, using wmc and MB. I would like to try xbmc, as I think it might be better for getting internet based content like torrents and stuff? Should I start from scratch and give xbmc a try or do I still need wmc for watching my ota stuff with the guide? How hard is it going to be to get shark and all that stuff set back up?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 01-09-2014, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
I bought an SSD a few weeks back for my main HTPC. I'd suggest doing a migration from the old partition to the new drive, it's really not too difficult and will save you some time in the end.
post #3 of 21 Old 01-09-2014, 12:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 649
I disagree.