Copy TV From Cable STB DVR to HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-11-2014, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Years ago, there was a solution for XP where you would attach the HTPC to the cable box via firewire. You would then load drivers such that the HTPC thought it was connected to a DVHS. Using various software, I forget the names offhand but I could look them up, you could record on the HTPC to a TS file while playing back from the DVR.

The use case is to just preserve DVR recordings so as not to lose them if the DVR has to be swapped out or dies.

Is there a modern day methodology for Win7?
Crescent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-11-2014, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 234
I'm not sure of the drivers/software will work with win7 (I seem to recall reading that they do, but I may have imagined it) but your biggest problem is probably going to be DRM. Anything marked as copy once, won't transfer from the DVR. It's going to depend on your cable provider.

If I had a signature, this is where it would be.
ajhieb is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Here's a thread on the subject, I believe it still may work if you're running 32 bit Windows 7.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/403695/how-to-record-via-ieee-1394-firewire-to-windows-xp

The only "modern" alternative would be to get a capture device that takes in component/composite (i.e. analog) outputs and captures to a digital format.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the link. I failed to find it in my own search. Looks like it still may work.
Crescent is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NFLnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Van Down By The River
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Easiest, least expensive and most painless way is to just buy one of these: http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-Edition-Definition-Capture-Passthrough/dp/B008ZT8QKO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1389553600&sr=8-1&keywords=hauppage+hd%3Dpvr

When I built my HTPC, I looked into all kinds of capture cards and software, etc. Someone suggested the HD-PVR (I have the older one that only has the component inputs, but it works well too) and I haven't looked back. It has worked great for me for the last 4 years. I mostly use it to archive NFL games for my own personal use (watch during offseason) from my DirecTV DVR and it records to .ts format. I honestly can't tell a difference between the recording and the original from HDMI.
NFLnut is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFLnut View Post

Easiest, least expensive and most painless way is to just buy one of these: http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-Edition-Definition-Capture-Passthrough/dp/B008ZT8QKO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1389553600&sr=8-1&keywords=hauppage+hd%3Dpvr

When I built my HTPC, I looked into all kinds of capture cards and software, etc. Someone suggested the HD-PVR (I have the older one that only has the component inputs, but it works well too) and I haven't looked back. It has worked great for me for the last 4 years. I mostly use it to archive NFL games for my own personal use (watch during offseason) from my DirecTV DVR and it records to .ts format. I honestly can't tell a difference between the recording and the original from HDMI.

Does it work with copy protected content?

If I had a signature, this is where it would be.
ajhieb is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NFLnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Van Down By The River
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It records whatever is being played out of the DVR. I haven't used the HDMI model (mine is the original HD-PVR 1 which only streams out component, but I cannot see a difference between the HDMI recording), but I believe that as long as you are playing the recording, it will record without a problem.
NFLnut is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NFLnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Van Down By The River
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After looking at a couple of FAQ's, there are some reports that it will not be able to record HDCP video without using something like an HDFury. But as I said, I have used the original HD-PVR which has only component inputs/outputs and I honestly cannot tell a difference. The PQ is identical to watching the HDMI recording. It works awesome for what I need, which is archived football games in high definition.
NFLnut is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-12-2014, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFLnut View Post

After looking at a couple of FAQ's, there are some reports that it will not be able to record HDCP video without using something like an HDFury. But as I said, I have used the original HD-PVR which has only component inputs/outputs and I honestly cannot tell a difference. The PQ is identical to watching the HDMI recording. It works awesome for what I need, which is archived football games in high definition.

I'd say the component version would work fine as there isn't and HDCP issues with that analog signal. The HDMI version on the other hand is probably going to be more trouble than it's worth for copy protected content. Unless I'm mistaken the HDFury is just going to convert the signal back to analog again so you're not getting any benefit from using the HDMI version. (if anything you're just adding extra devices which cost more)

If your content isn't encrypted, the firewire method (on supported systems) is pretty easy, and you end up with a perfect copy of the original. (plus it costs the price of a firewire cable... and maybe a FW card if you don't have one)

If I had a signature, this is where it would be.
ajhieb is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-13-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
bakerja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nashville
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the component version and it works great. Had a power supply fail about a year ago but replaced it and everything is great.
bakerja is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off