After the failure of AMD to support 4K H.264 DXVA acceleration in Kaveri, when do you think AMD will finally bring it? - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 08:47 AM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I downloaded the file x86 ISO File Name: GRMSDK_EN_DVD.iso now as I continue ? 

 

marck120 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 08:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
The files proppage.dll (32 bit, 64 bit) in GRMSDK_EN_DVD.iso are identical with those in GRMSDKX_EN_DVD.iso. You don't have to download both.

Now you registered both DirectShowSpy.dll and proppage.dll successfully. You should be able to see the filter graph of any DirectShow player with graphstudionext.exe (for a 32-bit player) or graphstudionextx64.exe (for a 64-bit player) by pressing Ctrl+G.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #123 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 09:11 AM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I open graphstudionext.exe, I press Ctrl+G and nothing happens, why ?

 

marck120 is offline  
post #124 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 09:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Play something with a DS player. Otherwise "Remote Graphs" will be empty.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #125 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 09:58 AM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ok perfect, now it works, here is finally the pattern of wmp:

 

 

 

How do I 'insert the correct filters to view the file SONY FDR ?

marck120 is offline  
post #126 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 10:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Video codec: H.264, audio codec: AAC of this file (use "mediainfo" utility). You can specify the video decoder for H.264 (e.g. LAV Video Decoder) and the audio decoder for AAC (e.g. LAV Audio Decoder) with Codec Tweak Tool > Win7DSFilterTweaker > Preferred Decoders.

Your filter graph contains "AC3Filter" and "ffdshow Audio Decoder". You can eliminate them by:

- Uninstall AC3Filter (why do you need this?)
- ffdshow Audio Decoder: uninstall it, or run "ffdshow audio decoder configuration" as an administrator (important, otherwise you have to log off and in to reflect the change), go to the "DirectShow control" pane and change "Merit" to "normal" or below. You can also change the merit value by graphstudionext.

WMPlayer SRSWow DMO etc. are DirectX Media Objects (not DS filters, but can be used in DS framework) built in WMP.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #127 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Through Win7DSFilterTweaker I configured the h264 video codec on ​​(Lav, video) and AAC audio codec on ​​(Lav, audio), windows media player now works for the rest of the configurations I have not figured out how to do it. See the pictures as an example for me would be of great help.

 

I'AC3filter I use it with DVBViewer

 

 

 

The configuration of ffdshow I have not figured out how to be performed, from here I think

 

 


This however is the pattern of MPC HC:

marck120 is offline  
post #128 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 01:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
It depends on AC3Filter's merit value if it is loaded or not (I guess). Lower the value (by GraphStudioNext, or AC3Filter's own configuration panel). ffdshow video/audio decoder has its own configuration panel (found in Windows Start menu), where you can change its merit value (run it as an administrator as I wrote above).

But why use WMPlayer? Stick to MPC-HC or MPC-BE, a lot easier to configure.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #129 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm sorry but I do not understand what is the value that I have to lower, is located in this window ?

 

 


We will use MPC-HC, I just wanted to fix the wmp to run correctly.

marck120 is offline  
post #130 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Set "Priorita" to "Normale" or lower.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #131 of 148 Old 05-19-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Perfect, I configured on normal priority

 

 

 

For the rest, I think it's alright ? 

 

Thanks for everything, for explanations and availability.:)

marck120 is offline  
post #132 of 148 Old 05-20-2014, 01:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by marck120 View Post

For the rest, I think it's alright ? 

The sole purpose of lowering the merit value is not to load ffdshow Audio Decoder when you don't need it. So it's up to you how to configure the rest (how you would like ffdshow Audio Decoder to behave when you want to use it).

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #133 of 148 Old 05-20-2014, 05:35 AM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post


The sole purpose of lowering the merit value is not to load ffdshow Audio Decoder when you don't need it. So it's up to you how to configure the rest (how you would like ffdshow Audio Decoder to behave when you want to use it).

 

Thanks again for availability :)

 

Changing the value ffdshow Audio Decoder do not know how it could affect the video playback, the quality of 'sound always seems the same. For now it seems to work okay, if I have a problem you know. 

marck120 is offline  
post #134 of 148 Old 05-20-2014, 06:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Basically what you need are the following three components:

Splitter filter (e.g. LAV Source Splitter)
Audio decoder filter (e.g. LAV Audio Decoder)
(Audio processing filter; this is an option)
Audio renderer filter (e.g. Default DirectSound Device)

ffdshow Audio Decoder supports various audio processing in addition to decoding (i.e. it's a combination of decoder and processors). If you want use some of them, use it instead of LAV Audio Decoder. Otherwise LAV Audio Decoder is simple enough (it also supports basic channel mixing). WMPlayer also adds a couple of processors of its own (SRS WOW effects, equalizer, etc.).

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #135 of 148 Old 05-20-2014, 09:06 AM
Member
 
marck120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you for the explanation.  

 

I'm not very experienced, to perform various configurations should follow some guidelines, otherwise I just messes. 

 

However, with MPC-HC I feel good, the 64-bit version reads 4k video files without problems, of course I want to test it with the new Haswell that I intend to accomplish.

marck120 is offline  
post #136 of 148 Old 08-15-2014, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
magnusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any update on AMD and acceleration for 2160p24 and 2160p30? My 6 core cpu can do 2160p24 fine but stutters on 2160p30. Latest Catalyst beta.

AMP: Hegel H100, DAC: Arcam rDAC, Speakers: Tannoy Revolution Signature DC6T, TV: LG Oled 55EC930V (US: 5EC9300), HTPC: ATI 280x, Windows 8.1 with blu-ray
magnusr is offline  
post #137 of 148 Old 08-15-2014, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
For H.264 I have no news.

But for H.265 you could try Strongene's OpenCL decoder which is optimised for AMD.

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NikosD is online now  
post #138 of 148 Old 08-31-2014, 01:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
It seems that in 2 days from now (2nd of September), a new card from AMD will be reviewed by technical sites.


I read some interesting info regarding the new multimedia engine of Tonga GPU (R9 285) which is considered as a new iteration of GCN architecture v1.2


"The GCN 1.2-based GPUs will also feature a new multimedia engine – which comprises of universal video decoder 6.0 (UVD 6) and video encoder engine 3.1 (VCE 3.1) technologies – as well as a new high-quality scaler for video. There is no word about support for ultra-high-definition (UVD) video codecs, such as H.265/HEVC or VP9, so it looks like the new GPUs will not support them."

Let's hope that finally, after 7 months of my first post, AMD will support in HW 4K H.264 and possibly a GPU assisted H.265 format

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by NikosD; 08-31-2014 at 01:55 AM.
NikosD is online now  
post #139 of 148 Old 09-02-2014, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
At last!

The first AMD card with 4K H. 264 fixed-function HW decoding support.

" New video decode block. The R9 285 also includes a new video decoder block for full hardware decode of H.264 4K streams. H.264 base, main, and high profile up to 5.2 are all supported. That means the new block can handle decoding 4096×2304 streams at 60 fps. There’s also a new fixed function video transcoder unit (VCE) that supports full hardware encoding to H.264, but AMD didn’t provide additional details on features or capabilities that distinguish this new unit from previous generation hardware."

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NikosD is online now  
post #140 of 148 Old 09-03-2014, 07:53 AM
Member
 
highd3f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Croatia
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Only new AMD GPU's will support 4K H.264 decoding? No love for my R9 290X?
highd3f is online now  
post #141 of 148 Old 09-03-2014, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
At last!

The first AMD card with 4K H. 264 fixed-function HW decoding support.

" New video decode block. The R9 285 also includes a new video decoder block for full hardware decode of H.264 4K streams. H.264 base, main, and high profile up to 5.2 are all supported. That means the new block can handle decoding 4096×2304 streams at 60 fps. There’s also a new fixed function video transcoder unit (VCE) that supports full hardware encoding to H.264, but AMD didn’t provide additional details on features or capabilities that distinguish this new unit from previous generation hardware."
Here is more detailt with DXVA Checker. If you need more info, pls reply here

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DXVA.PNG
Views:	294
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	243601  
Trần Hoàng Hiệp is offline  
post #142 of 148 Old 09-03-2014, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Very interesting.

They added MJPEG in HW, like Haswell (Intel) and up to 4K.

Also I see MPEG-4 ASP up to 4K too, which I think is not right.

They probably just forgot to close the driver up to 1080p for MPEG4 ASP.

Unfortunately I don't see any HEVC sign, in a hybrid form, like Intel and Nvidia.

What I really would like to see is H.264 performance using the benchmark option of DXVA Checker in 1080p and 4K H.264 files.

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NikosD is online now  
post #143 of 148 Old 09-08-2014, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here is benchmark you want
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dxva_checker_benchmark.PNG
Views:	43
Size:	253.3 KB
ID:	252370  
Trần Hoàng Hiệp is offline  
post #144 of 148 Old 09-08-2014, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trần Hoàng Hiệp View Post
Here is benchmark you want
Perfect, thanks!


But what version of DXVA Checker did you use (x86/x64 - v3.0.1/3.1.0/3.1.1) and in what mode, DXVA processing or DXVA decoding ?


If you used DXVA processing in what resolution/scaling, native or some other ?

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NikosD is online now  
post #145 of 148 Old 09-08-2014, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
Perfect, thanks!


But what version of DXVA Checker did you use (x86/x64 - v3.0.1/3.1.0/3.1.1) and in what mode, DXVA processing or DXVA decoding ?


If you used DXVA processing in what resolution/scaling, native or some other ?
DXVA Checker x64 v3.1.1

What i posted is in DXVA Decoding.

Here is DXVA Processing in naitive mode (4K Video)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dxva_checker_benchmark_processing_naitive_2.PNG
Views:	26
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	252570   Click image for larger version

Name:	dxva_checker_benchmark_processing_naitive_1.PNG
Views:	21
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	252578   Click image for larger version

Name:	dxva_checker_benchmark_processing_naitive.PNG
Views:	17
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	252586  
Trần Hoàng Hiệp is offline  
post #146 of 148 Old 09-08-2014, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here is DXVA Checker benchmark for 1080p
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DXVA_Checker_1080_Decoder.PNG
Views:	20
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	252634   Click image for larger version

Name:	DXVA_Checker_1080_Processing_Naitive.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	252642  
Trần Hoàng Hiệp is offline  
post #147 of 148 Old 09-08-2014, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trần Hoàng Hiệp View Post
Here is benchmark you want
I managed to download the same file and using DXVA Checker v3.1.1 x64 with the decoder you selected in DXVA Decoding I got this with signature system (HD 4600@1.2GHz)





http://s4.postimg.org/j133ftgkt/HD_4600_4_K.jpg

Latest UVD from AMD is definitely faster than any other UVD, but it's still behind QuickSync.


Thanks again for your benchmarks

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NikosD is online now  
post #148 of 148 Old 09-11-2014, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Latest UVD from AMD inside R9 285 is 3 times faster than VP5 and even faster than VP6 according to Anandtech in both 1080p & 4K H.264 files using Microsoft's decoder.
(LAV filters don't provide support yet)


Here is the article:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/8460/a...9-285-review/4


It looks like a 4K80-85fps decoder to me.

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3621

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NikosD is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off