A6 6400K poweful enough for my htpc requirements? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am building an HTPC with A6 6400K and 4gb of ram 1600Mhz.

 

Is it powerful enough for

 - 3d bluray (do i need special mobo for this?) or 3d movies in general

 - 10bit 1080p encoded video(mainly anime)

 - madVR

 - 4k video (no a priority but still would be happy to be future proof as i am planning to keep the htpc for a long time)

 - not concerning htpc but light gaming (FIFA 14 or PES 2014 and emulators would be enough).

yeahman45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 87
wiley165 is online now  
post #3 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

even with software decoding the A6 will not play 4k? anyway approx how long before 4k will actually become mainstream? 4k tv, content, etc..? is kaveri gonna work on the actual FM2 mobo?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,551
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post

anyway approx how long before 4k will actually become mainstream?

How is anyone supposed to answer that? 1 year, 3 years, never?

bryansj is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

lol that's why i was saying approx... based on the trends etc... thought someone would know... sorry

yeahman45 is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 87
All I am saying is that 4K is not officially supported by the A6 proc you have referenced.
If you want to reference software, that's another issue.

IMO, It's probably going to be a while before 4K is widely adopted. Especially after the failure of 3D in the home.

Kavari is socket FM2+
Some FM2 Mobo mfg's will support Kavari through a BIOS update, but that may not enable 4K support, just allow the chip to work.

wiley165 is online now  
post #7 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 01:18 PM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post

I am building an HTPC with A6 6400K and 4gb of ram 1600Mhz.

Is it powerful enough for
 - 3d bluray (do i need special mobo for this?) or 3d movies in general
 - 10bit 1080p encoded video(mainly anime)
 - madVR
 - 4k video (no a priority but still would be happy to be future proof as i am planning to keep the htpc for a long time)
 - not concerning htpc but light gaming (FIFA 14 or PES 2014 and emulators would be enough).

For 10bit 1080p video you need CPU performance. No HW acceleration.

BluRay 3D is accelerated by any modern GPU.

3D ripped MKV files (above 2K resolution) and 4K H.264 files are not HW accelerated by any AMD GPU.

They are accelerated by Nvidia VP5 cards (Kepler) or even better by Haswell processors that are the fastest 4K accelerators right now.

For MadVR and light gaming you need a decent GPU performance.

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3960
DXVA Benchmarks
NikosD is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 01:29 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiley165 View Post

I believe only certain AMD "Kavari" and Intel "Haswell" chips support 4k.

The rest of your requirements can be met.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7007/intels-haswell-an-htpc-perspective

http://www.techradar.com/us/news/computing-components/processors/amd-prices-kaveri-apu-paints-target-on-intel-s-haswell-1214816

This is correct, regardless of the unsupported personal opinions NikosD puts forth. Kaveri does support 4K H.264, as listed AMD's own website.

It does not support 60Hz 4K, since HDMI 2.0 is not yet available and 1.4 only supports 30Hz.
Jeff Krogue likes this.
cybrsage is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Regarding Kaveri and 4K acceleration , you can read more here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1512588/after-the-failure-of-amd-to-support-4k-h-264-dxva-acceleration-in-kaveri-when-do-you-think-amd-will-finally-bring-it

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3960
DXVA Benchmarks
NikosD is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 01-20-2014, 01:44 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Yes, the thread where you say AMD is wrong with what their chip can do and you know far more about it than they do - and yet you provide no support for your personal opinion. You simply expect to be believed over what AMD says AMD's products can and cannot do.
cybrsage is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 01-21-2014, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

so to summarise A6 6400k will do perfectly

 - 10bit 1080p video

 - 1080p 3d

 - madVR

 

 

But not 4k video playback

 

Is this correct?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 01-21-2014, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The term "Perfectly" is subjective here.

Yes it will do all except 4K, however...

- MADVR will be limited without adding a dGPU. You could possibly run level 1, maybe 2, but certainly not level 5. To run level 5, you would need a Radeon 7770 or better. There are a few discussions in the forum specific to MADVR.

- I have yet to find any definitive data regarding Hi-10P. There was another post a while back asking the same thing. People who claim to be using Hi-10P claim they are doing so on recent Celerons and Pentiums, and equivalent AMD APU's. Some even claim to run on an iPad. It's not a popular format outside Anime. Feel free to use Google to do some legwork on your own.

Edit:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1494341/looking-for-300-htpc-for-hi10p-playback

Edit 2:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1477339/so-youve-built-your-htpc-now-what-is-next-how-to-get-the-ultimate-picture-and-sound-quality-from-your-htpc-madvr-svp-xbmc-mediabrowser-jriver
yeahman45 likes this.

wiley165 is online now  
post #13 of 21 Old 01-21-2014, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

ok except madVR and 10bit video, how good will it run the other formats? Will it struggle, lags, frame loss?... For madVR. I have a radeon 4870HD 2gb that i intend to replace soon..so i can use it on my upcoming htpc... is it powerful enough for madVR?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 01-21-2014, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 87
It depends on what level you intend to run it at.

Read through the second link I provided. There should be some charts by ReneTHX that should guide you.

Edit:
You should be able to run MADVR at level 3 without a dGPU.

wiley165 is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 01-22-2014, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

ok thx. will an Intel Pentium Processor G3420 perform better? it is same price range but it is an haswell CPU

yeahman45 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 01-22-2014, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 87
For what you have stated as your intended purpose, No.

For Intel procs, you need a i3 or better for 3D.

wiley165 is online now  
post #17 of 21 Old 01-22-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Jeff Krogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post


This is correct, regardless of the unsupported personal opinions NikosD puts forth. Kaveri does support 4K H.264, as listed AMD's own website.

It does not support 60Hz 4K, since HDMI 2.0 is not yet available and 1.4 only supports 30Hz.

Yup, you need to weight for a mobo or graphics card that supports HDMI 2.0 for full support.

Jeff Krogue is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 01-23-2014, 03:54 AM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post

ok thx. will an Intel Pentium Processor G3420 perform better? it is same price range but it is an haswell CPU

The CPU of G3420 is faster than A6-6400K.

The GPU for 3D gaming and MadVR is slower than A6.

The Video processor for 4K and 3D video is a lot faster than A6.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiley165 View Post

For what you have stated as your intended purpose, No.

For Intel procs, you need a i3 or better for 3D.

If you mean 3D gaming or 3D rendering in general (Direct3D, OpenGL) yes.
If you mean 3D video, no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Krogue View Post

Yup, you need to weight for a mobo or graphics card that supports HDMI 2.0 for full support.

There is no need to wait for anything.
HDMI 2.0 adds 4K at 60 Hz.

So what ?

BluRay spec goes up to 30fps, not 60fps.

Why BluRay 4K spec requirements, whenever they come, have to include 4K@60 fps ?

It could be easily support up to 4K@30 fps.

Most of the clips out there are below or equal 30fps (like 23.976, 24, 25 or 30).

4K@60 fps is just another excuse been used by members of this forum for the luck of 4K HW accelerated support by AMD.
yeahman45 likes this.

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3960
DXVA Benchmarks
NikosD is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 01-25-2014, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

an Intel Pentium Processor G3420 with a radeon 4870 2gb would be better than an A6 6400K(optionally my radeon 4870 2gb) for my requirements? G3420 has the advantage of using less power too.. that's an advantage as my htpc/server will be on 24/7

yeahman45 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 01-26-2014, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post
 

an Intel Pentium Processor G3420 with a radeon 4870 2gb would be better than an A6 6400K(optionally my radeon 4870 2gb) for my requirements? G3420 has the advantage of using less power too.. that's an advantage as my htpc/server will be on 24/7

 

my radeon 4870 might consume too much power imo... can you recommend budget low powered GPU card for my requirements?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 02-16-2014, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

ok forget about 4k and madVR. Will the A4-4000 do

- 1080p

- 3d video/bluray

- 10bit video

 

well?

yeahman45 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off