Intel NUC DN2820FYKH Bay Trail - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 106 Old 02-18-2014, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Sure you will... tell them the fan is too loud. smile.gif  That is why I originally contacted them and they agreed to swap it.

Not to keep hijacking this thread but I wanted to offer 1 final post re: my warranty replacement of the original version (Sandy Bridge) Celeron NUC just to close it out. Turns out the fan noise with the SA 002 wasn't any better than the 001 so I asked Intel to send me another replacement and make sure this one was a 004 or 005. They did (kit SA 005 w/board 004) and that finally cleared the problem up. Now I can navigate around XBMC forever and still barely notice the fan at all. Plus not only did Intel waive the charge to overnight ship the 2nd replacement, they refunded the $25 shipping charge for the first even though the first replacement they sent me did fix the only problem I mentioned (the missing internal USB header) when I contacted them for the warranty replacement initially.

So if there's anything worth knowing in all this for potential Bay Trail NUC customers (just to try to tie my experience back to the thread at hand), you can at least count on good support and some latitude from Intel if you need to request a warranty exchange down the road. From my experience anyway.
ElJimador is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 106 Old 02-24-2014, 04:43 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=23636

Intel 10.18.10.3408 Bay Trail drivers released.

Intel says it's only for the DN2820FYK and DN2820FYKH is not listed, hope this is a typo.

This might increase GPU performance slightly for the Bay Trail GPU as well as fix bugs.
HDGT is offline  
post #93 of 106 Old 02-24-2014, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
Stormdreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

In case many of you still wondering (and i am very sorry in case it has already been answered), i can confirm that DN2820FYKH can play 3d blu ray iso and also that the issue with 23.976hz indeed seems to be fixed after many tests i have done.

 

Setup : Windows 8.1 pro, 4GB Crucial ram model CT51264BF160BJ, kingston V300 60GB ssd, YAMAHA v371 amp and LG55LW650S tv. Tested 3 days ago so i used the latest GPU drivers from 20/2

For 3d tried with PowerDVD and tested with a 3d blu ray iso (40GB with average 31mbps rate).

For 3d to work you need latest GPU drivers (...) and the "3D" option to be checked in resolution panel.

In settings (in every program including PowerDVD) the Intel QuickSync has to be enabled for hardware decoding (Same for LAV splitter in MPC and everywhere).

After that the mounted 3d iso played without ANY problems in 3D (without HD audio though.. i think thats still an issue on windows 8.1)

Tested also SBS to 3d on PowerDVD with obviously similar great results.

WinDVD never worked (always got the message "media not supported") although the "Use Hardware Decode Acceleration - Intel Clear Video" was checked.

Stereoscopic player worked but with odd picture dimentions and average 3d (i used there for output the "Intel Stereo Driver")

MadVR also worked (someone asked me in another Greek forum to test) both in the output and filter in MPC and when fullscreen the playback was spottless. When in windowed mode i had some stuttering though.

On openelec (dual boot system) had also no problems with any file and HD audio was working properly although a few times i experienced some throw back in the main menu during either a playback or navigation on menus (an X mark in black screen and then something like quick "restart" of openelec).

 

To test the issue with 23.976, i used in Openelec a video file from a Greek forum after i disabled the de-judder and de-blur on my tv and everything worked like a charm.

 

I dont want to give false hopes since i dont know what would happen with a very high bitrate iso file (the only one i had and used has an average rate of only 31mbps), but at least i can confirm that this NUC (yes... the bay trail) has most probably the issue with 23.976 fixed and can output 3d for sure. 

 

Ps. Please excuse my English.. :)

soulkeeper, Bjur and Dark_Slayer like this.
Stormdreamer is offline  
post #94 of 106 Old 02-25-2014, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
BobSalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CHI, CLD, PAR, PHX, PDX, NKC, AUK, MEL, SYD, BUE, SCL
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Welcome to AvsForum. Outstanding first post. Congratulations.

Former Top 1000 Amazon reviewer bemoaning the loss of objective user reviews. Amazon, stop your complacency!
BobSalita is offline  
post #95 of 106 Old 02-25-2014, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Great post, Stormdreamer. Very encouraging to hear the Bay Trail Celeron NUC can handle 3D playback since everything I've seen posted about previous versions is that you had to step up to i3 for that. (Still not sure I'm really interested in 3D myself but if I do decide to try it it's nice to know there's a lower cost option out there now.)
ElJimador is offline  
post #96 of 106 Old 02-27-2014, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormdreamer View Post

To test the issue with 23.976, i used in Openelec a video file from a Greek forum after i disabled the de-judder and de-blur on my tv and everything worked like a charm.

I dont want to give false hopes since i dont know what would happen with a very high bitrate iso file (the only one i had and used has an average rate of only 31mbps), but at least i can confirm that this NUC (yes... the bay trail) has most probably the issue with 23.976 fixed and can output 3d for sure.

Thanks for the info and nice post. Also, you've definitely given hope

Here are some test files that you can use to see what bitrate it can handle http://jell.yfish.us/

Can you share your XBMC Video setting choices from System->Video->Playback and from the OSD Video Options?
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #97 of 106 Old 02-27-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Jeff Krogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I think at the very least I might get a quad core itx board when they come out, I was kind of waiting on info about the 23.xxx issue.

Jeff Krogue is offline  
post #98 of 106 Old 02-27-2014, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I saw no changes with the new graphics drivers. They installed just fine on win 8.1.

Now that I have given up on real time decoding of sacd ISO files I am happier with the unit. Real time DVD audio decoding is also hit or miss. But it plays multi chapmen hi res flac files just finer.

A reinstall eliminated my vc-1 codec issues with mpc-hc.

Arcsoft TNT 6.5 audio is stereo only for me. Since mpc does the trick I have resigned myself to the knowledge that the arcsoft purchase was not a good use of funds.

I do like the idea that it may well play 3d files.

I think this unit is supposed to address the 23.9 issue. But I am not sophisticated enough to see the bug or measure it
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #99 of 106 Old 03-02-2014, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
Stormdreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

I just tried directly the file Jellyfish-120-Mbps.mkv in xbmc (windows not openelec) and i didnt notice anything strange in motion. Everything seemed smooth and ok to me.

In stats, i had 2 dropped frames in total and the cpu had an average of 30-35% load

I have to mention here that files are located at a NAS in the same switch with the NUC

Stormdreamer is offline  
post #100 of 106 Old 03-03-2014, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
richardbrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My head is spinning after reading this whole thread.

I'm trying to find the cheapest route to replacing my awful Lenovo q180.

I just need something that plays nice with my HDHomerun Prime, can run WMC without freezing, stuttering, or otherwise crapping out, and play the occasional 1080p blue ray rip. Nothing too complicated, but clearly my q180 was not up to the task.

Can this NUC meet my needs?
richardbrum is offline  
post #101 of 106 Old 03-06-2014, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
samsonescu11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hy guys,

 

To be honest I`m very interested in buying one of these toys,but first I would like to ask you if the picture quality is comparable with a decent media player(by that I meant Dune media players).Mainly, I wil be using this for playing .mkv.Please,any opinion it`s more than welcome.

Thank you.

samsonescu11 is offline  
post #102 of 106 Old 03-06-2014, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Dune in the same rig where I have this NUC. The picture quality with vanilla MPC-HC looks the same to me.

Both are excellent.

But that is one person's opinion.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #103 of 106 Old 03-07-2014, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I have the earlier version Celeron NUC (Sandy Bridge) and although I've never owned a Dune or any other dedicated media player I can tell you that the picture and audio quality of watching any of my ripped movies or recorded HDTV shows through the NUC (running openelec) is no different from watching the bluray or DVD itself, or playing the recorded TV back through my tivo (including all HD audio on the bluray rips). Unless Dune offers some kind of processing/upscaling to make ripped media look better than its source material then it's hard for me to imagine how the Bay Trail NUC with better graphics than mine would be any step down.
ElJimador is offline  
post #104 of 106 Old 05-10-2014, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It would appear that the 2820 is being replaced with a 2830. To my knowledge, Intel is not running any kind of replacement program, though their website implies that there are known defects with the 2820 chip.

There is another relatively low cost unit similar to the DN2820FYKH coming out also. Perhaps those of you who better understand the chipset variations can comment if that is a more or less powerful unit.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #105 of 106 Old 06-17-2014, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I found out that the 2830 Celeron is being shipped under the old NUC model number. The way to differentiate between the 2820 and the 2830 CPU is by the SA or AA numbers found on the box or the main board.

2820 units:

SA H22962-102 and earlier
AA H24582-202 and earlier

2830 units:

SA H22962-103 and later
AA H24582-203 and later

I'd be curious to know if anyone has purchased one of the newer 2830 NUCs and where they bought it.
captain_video is offline  
post #106 of 106 Old 06-22-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
gthrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
I found out that the 2830 Celeron is being shipped under the old NUC model number. The way to differentiate between the 2820 and the 2830 CPU is by the SA or AA numbers found on the box or the main board.

2820 units:

SA H22962-102 and earlier
AA H24582-202 and earlier

2830 units:

SA H22962-103 and later
AA H24582-203 and later

I'd be curious to know if anyone has purchased one of the newer 2830 NUCs and where they bought it.

I just bought one this past week. I'll check mine out when I get home. I haven't read this whole thread yet, but does this work with quicksync or not? None of the options I choose in LAV show as active.
gthrift is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off