Intel NUC DN2820FYKH Bay Trail - Page 6 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2014, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
I'll go back and read the beginning, but when was this determined?

Last I heard, Bay Trail is Intel's "Haswell-by-marketing" chipset with ivy bridge hd graphics (which didn't handle 24p like haswell)

Also, one of the chromeboxes advantages to those of us who are only interested in additional boxes to run openelec was that ram+ssd are included (saving the expense of sodimm and a usb flash drive)
Hi, I've seen multiple screen shots with 23.976 and that's what I'm getting. As I understand it, the Ivy B graphics driver was brought into line some time ago.

http://i.imgur.com/mL99nZ1.jpg

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."


Last edited by mastermaybe; 09-29-2014 at 09:39 AM.
mastermaybe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2014, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I must say I am impressed. I spoke with Intel about the fact that advanced audio codecs cannot be bitstreamed as originally claimed and marketed. The eventually ended up approving an upgrade to a unit that does support that feature. Very nice of Intel and very classy.
originalsnuffy is offline  
Old 11-18-2014, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
fly_sig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the latest Intel® HD Graphics Driver for Windows* 7/8/8.1 version 15.33.30.3958 posted for Ivybridge and Baytrail in the Intel support community Graphics forum
I get now HD Audio bitstreaming without a flaw on my j1900 platform ASRock Q1900-ITX under Windows 7 64-bit and PowerDVD 13
Maybe you can install this driver also on your NUC.
Give it a try.
fly_sig is offline  
Old 11-18-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,162
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Yeah, @bryansj mentioned the latest driver provided bitstreaming in windows for him. Strange as the missing pap drm is usually in the mei drivers

Of course bitstreaming has always worked in openelec, which is more of a pleasure to use as an htpc IMO
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 01:36 PM
Member
 
mismjy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No video output from DN2820FYKH

Now that I store all my media on a NAS, I bought one of these units on Amazon to serve as my HTPC. I plan to run WMC and XBMC on it.

The unit seems to be one of the newer N2830 versions based on the SA number (H22962-103). The problem is that the machine doesn't produce any video output through the HDMI port. I've tried two monitors and three different cables without success. I've also tried booting it with and without memory or SSD installed.

From what I've read online, you may not be able to get to the BIOS screen if there is no memory installed (weird as that sounds). If that is true, I'm wondering if the problem is the memory I bought?

Here's what Amazon cross-sells:

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-PC3-12...bxgy_pc_text_y

However, I read that the N2830 supports DDR3 1333Mhz memory so I ordered this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The memory fits properly in the NUC, but again I get no signs of life beyond a power light.

Am I correct that not having the memory installed can mess up the boot process? Also, does the memory I ordered look compatible with the N2830 version?

I'm debating whether to keep tinkering or declare it a lost cause and return the box. Thanks for any info or advice.
mismjy1 is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
3rob3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I had the same exact problem. You HAVE to use low voltage memory(DDR3L). Because the video shares the memory you will not even see bios. I tried two different sticks I had and eventually had to buy another stick that specifically said low voltage. I use this one now:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
mismjy1 likes this.
3rob3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 10:05 PM
Member
 
mismjy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rob3 View Post
I had the same exact problem. You HAVE to use low voltage memory(DDR3L). Because the video shares the memory you will not even see bios. I tried two different sticks I had and eventually had to buy another stick that specifically said low voltage. I use this one now:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Thanks for the tip - that did the trick. Kind of silly mistake on my part - the Intel product page clearly states you need DDR3L and not DDR3.
mismjy1 is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmzip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomfield Connecticut
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Hi, Could you tell me the exact components you used in this little NUC?

I'd like to make a box that will run windows (7 or 8?) and Jriver and feed it into my Oppo then out to Anthem Preamp.

Thanks for the help
fmzip is offline  
Old 12-18-2014, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 208
This thread is a bit dead, but I'm not getting much help on the kodi/xbmc website.

I've begun to have issues with VC one files- lots of dropped frames. I never had this problem before so I'm wondering what I need to do in the settings area to correct this? at least that's my thought at this point. Thanks for any help.
James
mastermaybe is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
https://communities.intel.com/thread/58966

Intel 10.18.10.4061 drivers released.
HDGT is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
baumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,
I'm thinking about getting this NUC to use as a HTPC, but I'm a bit confused by the whole PAP/HD-Audio passthrough story in Windows.

According to a post in the Intel Forum there seems to be a fix for this issue:
communities.intel.com/message/263590#263590 (sorry, I can't post it as a link yet)
Can anyone here confirm this? Is this problem solved with the newest driver? (I can't find the mentioned Version 10.18.10.3958 on the Intel HP anymore)

Thanks
baumi is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off