HTPC Remote Connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-01-2014, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GhostDZ9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Guys,

 

So I have built a HTPC, everything is working great except for one thing, and that is that I have to walk to the computer to turn it on. With my HTPC I don't have an IR receiver in the case. I have a Logitech harmony one remote that I would like to be able to turn on/off the computer just by pressing the power button in the remote.

 

I am open to all suggestions. :)

 

Thanks.

GhostDZ9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 02-01-2014, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
buy a cheap windows mce remote. program harmony to use a windows mce device. badabingbadaboom. it'll ut it to sleep and wake it, not turn it on and off like the real powa button
jbcain is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 02-02-2014, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GhostDZ9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the input, I'll look into it. 

GhostDZ9 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 02-03-2014, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Tyborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since you're open to all suggestions, just leave the thing on at all times.
Tyborg is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 02-03-2014, 09:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
assassin is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 02-04-2014, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
jenielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I leave mine on 24/7 and have for like 2.5-3 years. It gets updates in the middle of the night, downloads the newest security profiles, etc. On top of it, when I need to transfer a movie from one computer on my network to another, it is already on, and I don't need to go turn it on. Just some thoughts.
jenielsen is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 02-04-2014, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 2,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 151
There is a thread called, "Building the perfect silent HTPC". In it, I seem to remember the original poster mentioning a device he installed that allowed him to turn on the pc from off, using his remote. I think he mentions it in his opening post. His user name is jkur, so you can search for all of his posts. I am relying on my memory though, so ymmv.

I agree with the idea of simply putting your pc to sleep and waking it for use. It uses less electricity, and wakes much faster that booting. I don't know how to set it to wake with a remote though. I use an old HP remote receiver with mine, but it doesn't wake it with my remote. Maybe my usb port isn't powered during sleep.

Sent from my Nexus 7
Djoel likes this.
leebo is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 02-04-2014, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I stumbled across this the other day. I don't know anything about it or its reliability.

http://www.simerec.com/PCS-2.html

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 02-05-2014, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GhostDZ9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

For the people who are suggesting that I leave my HTPC on all day long, they can come pay my electricity bill :), that is not an option, in regards to file transfers I have a NAS in which I have it programmed to be on when I am most likely to transfer files.

 

I will look into the other options/ threads :)

 

Thanks

GhostDZ9 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 02-05-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Post #2 is the answer. No need to look elsewhere.
mdavej is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 02-09-2014, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Tyborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostDZ9 View Post

For the people who are suggesting that I leave my HTPC on all day long, they can come pay my electricity bill smile.gif, that is not an option

This always surprises me. Last month I paid ~$0.095 per kWh. I could grossly over estimate my average HTPC energy consumption to be 40 watts(idle will be much less than this). I leave my HTPC on 24/7. So with my gross over estimate I would have paid ~$2.73 to power my rig for the whole month. People spend hundreds or more building these machines and then post questions about having trouble with sleep/resume/WOL questions because they want to avoid spending less than a value meal to power them for the month. HTPC does not equal HVAC. Hopefully after spending money on hardware and time troubleshooting why it won't power on/sleep/missed a recording you will remember this post and just leave it on 24/7.

For those worried about wear and tear on components leaving them on 24/7, I'm running an HTPC that I built in 2008 24/7 and other than an HDD dying(which I would have expected anyways) it is still running strong and used daily. I wish the thing would die so I could get some upgraded hardware.

http://www.duke-energy.com/pdfs/Appliance_OpCost_List_Duke_v8.06.pdf
Tyborg is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 02-09-2014, 07:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostDZ9 View Post

For the people who are suggesting that I leave my HTPC on all day long, they can come pay my electricity bill smile.gif, that is not an option, in regards to file transfers I have a NAS in which I have it programmed to be on when I am most likely to transfer files.

I will look into the other options/ threads smile.gif

Thanks

So you want to spend $30-$50 for something to turn it on and off instead of letting it sleep for pennies per month? If you have a modern CPU it will only draw a few watts during sleep.

So in addition to wasting that $30-$50 which will you may never recoup in savings you are also going to be adding to e-waste by buying something that really isn't needed in the first place.
assassin is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-10-2014, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 2,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Post #2 is the answer. No need to look elsewhere.

It's not the answer in my case, as the remote does NOT wake my pc. My keyboard does, but not the remote.

Sent from my generic not my computer device.
leebo is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 02-10-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by leebo View Post

It's not the answer in my case, as the remote does NOT wake my pc. My keyboard does, but not the remote.

Sent from my generic not my computer device.
If your keyboard does, your remote should also. Could be wake settings for the HID device in device manager, USB wake settings in your BIOS, or a dongle that won't wake (some of the cheaper ones won't). I think it would be better to resolve those than spend a lot on some additional remote power switch device.
mdavej is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 02-10-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 2,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 151
I agree, but the OP asked for something to turn on his PC from an off state.

Sent from a mobile device.
leebo is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 02-10-2014, 07:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by leebo View Post

I agree, but the OP asked for something to turn on his PC from an off state.

Sent from a mobile device.
I know. Most of us are trying to talk him out of it because it's a bad idea. tongue.gif
mdavej is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 02-11-2014, 11:17 AM
Member
 
T0R0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why is it such a bad idea ?

I've googled this debate and have read things from different forums and articles. And although the pro sleep crowd has some points on its side (namely swift startup and little cost difference to sleep),
I fail to see why every time this comes up, it's considered a bad idea.

Not to say that one is better than the other, I'm a novice compared to most here.
As for me personally I find full off a better solution for several reasons.

1. Peace of mind, I know it's off in case there's a power surge
2. I don't come home every night, sometimes I stay out.
3. It's not just my htpc, that's one device of many that I fully turn off (most thru a power strip)
4. For the most part, sleep is just buggy for half the people out there (IMHO)
5. Most hiccups and freezes get sorted out with a full power restart when they creep up.

Anyway that's just my experience and wanted to point out that not everyone that wants full off needs to be convinced that sleep is better.
All that being said, if you think that a full power off is somehow harmful to the hardware, then I'd switch camps .
T0R0 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 02-11-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 421
It's a bad idea for an HTPC because it is complicated and expensive to turn on a PC from an IR remote. You also have to go to the extra steps of shutting down every time you watch TV or an extender. Sleep/wake has worked flawlessly for me for years and is dirt simple to get working with a remote. If you don't care about using a remote, then continue to manually power your PC on and off to your heart's content.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off