the cheapest cpu for 3d video and 1080p - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

what is the cheapest cpu for 3d video and 1080p that plays them smoothly? I was planning to buy a core i3 haswell but I will maybe save my money to invest in my gaming rig later this year

yeahman45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
I would just spend up on the i3 since you get also a faster CPU and better performance with the money spent.

A video card that would do good 3D and not too expensive will cost the difference of an i3 and a lower CPU like a Pentium. A good card choice would be a RADEON 6570 (under $50) if you really wanted one.

If you want to save money and don't mind a weak CPU then just get an AMD chip and skip the video card all together. Many AMD chips are cheaper than i3 and have better graphics and 3D.
yeahman45 likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I would just spend up on the i3 since you get also a faster CPU and better performance with the money spent.

A video card that would do good 3D and not too expensive will cost the difference of an i3 and a lower CPU like a Pentium. A good card choice would be a RADEON 6570 (under $50) if you really wanted one.

If you want to save money and don't mind a weak CPU then just get an AMD chip and skip the video card all together. Many AMD chips are cheaper than i3 and have better graphics and 3D.


what cheap apu do you recommend?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Basically any sub $100 AMD can do 3D and good iGPU relative to an i3 for $100+ You can spend $44 or $89. It's all about your budget and what you want.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Basically any sub $100 AMD can do 3D and good iGPU relative to an i3 for $100+ You can spend $44 or $89. It's all about your budget and what you want.


so an A4-4000 should do it?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
jayhay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd suggest a Celeron 1820. Great little chip for $40. It will own 3d, 1080p, plex stream/transcoding etc. I have it's younger brother, the 1620, running 24/7 in my HTPC and it crushes everything I throw at it..

http://www.microcenter.com/product/428533/Celeron_G1820_27GHz_LGA_1150_Boxed_processor

You could run it on this board too, as long as a single hdmi is enough. These little gigabyte/haswell combos are the best for your buck right now. Especially for low-power htpcs.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/427650/GA-H81M-H_LGA1150_mATX_Intel_Motherboard
jayhay is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 145
All the Llano APUs could do 3D MVC decode/Frame Packing output but with Trinity, the A4 could not. I would try to confirm if Richland is the same.

See here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1438867/looking-at-a-new-cheap-htpc-build-a4-3400-3d-playback-questions#post_22581893

Of course, YMMV depending on what you define as "3D" -- full frame packed 3D or SBS?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 11:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhay View Post

I'd suggest a Celeron 1820. Great little chip for $40. It will own 3d, 1080p, plex stream/transcoding etc. I have it's younger brother, the 1620, running 24/7 in my HTPC and it crushes everything I throw at it..

http://www.microcenter.com/product/428533/Celeron_G1820_27GHz_LGA_1150_Boxed_processor

You could run it on this board too, as long as a single hdmi is enough. These little gigabyte/haswell combos are the best for your buck right now. Especially for low-power htpcs.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/427650/GA-H81M-H_LGA1150_mATX_Intel_Motherboard

That CPU (G1820) only has a base video frequency of 350mhz (Intel HD graphics) and a max of 1.05ghz, It does not support quick sync video, or 3D frame packing. It won't decode and pass an MVC 3D signal from an ISO, or do full 3D SBS or TPT.

MVC is the preferred format I think, since it's codec only displays the changes from one frame for the second eye. Side by side or Top bottom Top is two entire frames, so it takes up more space and requires double resolution (3840x2160) for full 3D. I do not think Pentium or Celeron Intel can handle this.

They can probably handle some crushed down formats or versions of 3D like you might illegally download and possibly play them back if you force your display into SBS or TPT mode because the "auto" won't work because the 3D video sync is missing. But those are often half resolution, and also crushed down in bit rate. A full 3D torrent might be as much as 70GB download. There is a difference between real 3D (full 3D) that you might get from a BR disc you purchase and the nearly worthless torrents you might download in half resolution and half bitrate. For MVC or full 3D you need a 3D capable GPU (many AMD iGPU's, Radeon 6000 serie like 6570 or higher is good choice or anything 7000 series, Higher end Nvidia cards, or the icore family of Intel (i3,i5,i7)

I know that chip just launched so I went to look it up but it looks like nothing changed for Celeron from the old versions http://ark.intel.com/compare/78955,71072,43523,29736

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 02-17-2014, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post


That CPU (G1820) only has a base video frequency of 350mhz (Intel HD graphics) and a max of 1.05ghz, It does not support quick sync video, or 3D frame packing. It won't decode and pass an MVC 3D signal from an ISO, or do full 3D SBS or TPT.

MVC is the preferred format I think, since it's codec only displays the changes from one frame for the second eye. Side by side or Top bottom Top is two entire frames, so it takes up more space and requires double resolution (3840x2160) for full 3D. I do not think Pentium or Celeron Intel can handle this.

They can probably handle some crushed down formats or versions of 3D like you might illegally download and possibly play them back if you force your display into SBS or TPT mode because the "auto" won't work because the 3D video sync is missing. But those are often half resolution, and also crushed down in bit rate. A full 3D torrent might be as much as 70GB download. There is a difference between real 3D (full 3D) that you might get from a BR disc you purchase and the nearly worthless torrents you might download in half resolution and half bitrate. For MVC or full 3D you need a 3D capable GPU (many AMD iGPU's, Radeon 6000 serie like 6570 or higher is good choice or anything 7000 series, Higher end Nvidia cards, or the icore family of Intel (i3,i5,i7)

I know that chip just launched so I went to look it up but it looks like nothing changed for Celeron from the old versions http://ark.intel.com/compare/78955,71072,43523,29736


so it means that celeron will not handle 3d?

 

so minimum requirement/cheapest CPU for 3d video is?  A6-5400K?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 02-19-2014, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post
 


so it means that celeron will not handle 3d?

 

so minimum requirement/cheapest CPU for 3d video is?  A6-5400K?


is it or there's a cheaper option?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 02-19-2014, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 145
You still haven't answered the question about the type of 3D: SBS or Full 3D.
Mfusick likes this.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 02-20-2014, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

You still haven't answered the question about the type of 3D: SBS or Full 3D.

 

TBH, i don't really know the difference but I want it to be able to watch all 3d video formats.

yeahman45 is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 02-21-2014, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post
 

 

TBH, i don't really know the difference but I want it to be able to watch all 3d video formats.

so is there a cheaper option than the A6-5400K?

yeahman45 is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 02-21-2014, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post

so is there a cheaper option than the A6-5400K?

No. See: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1240499/faq-for-the-3d-htpc/1410#post_23735790

Intel: i3/i5/i7
AMD: A6/A8/A10

A6-5400K is $60 at Newegg.com. How much cheaper do you need?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 02-21-2014, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
|Tch0rT|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lower mid Michigan
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 61
In previous posts you were asking about using madVR. I know the APU I use is double the price of a A6-5400K but I recently built an HTPC using an AMD A8-6500 with 8GB of 1866mz RAM (2GB dedicated to the GPU) and I can run almost everything I've tested using JRiver + madVR (bicubic75+AR chroma upscaling and Jinc3+AR upscaling and 3DLUT for color correction). I only have one odd video file (Almost Human S01E02 720p) that has drops 20 some odd frames in like a 10 second scene. 1080i files I have to turn off the auto deinterlacing for smooth playback but I don't have a lot of those videos. All of my files though aren't high frame rate though (23.976, 24, 25, and 29.97). The A8-6500 supports 3D from what I understand.

My Home Theater/Video Gaming/HTPC/2 Channel rig (Mitsubishi, MartinLogan, Marantz, DIYMA, and others)

|Tch0rT| is online now  
post #16 of 28 Old 02-21-2014, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post


No. See: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1240499/faq-for-the-3d-htpc/1410#post_23735790

Intel: i3/i5/i7
AMD: A6/A8/A10

A6-5400K is $60 at Newegg.com. How much cheaper do you need?


lol as stated in my thread title, the cheapest lol. Ok thx for your replies guys

yeahman45 is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 02-21-2014, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by |Tch0rT| View Post

In previous posts you were asking about using madVR. I know the APU I use is double the price of a A6-5400K but I recently built an HTPC using an AMD A8-6500 with 8GB of 1866mz RAM (2GB dedicated to the GPU) and I can run almost everything I've tested using JRiver + madVR (bicubic75+AR chroma upscaling and Jinc3+AR upscaling and 3DLUT for color correction). I only have one odd video file (Almost Human S01E02 720p) that has drops 20 some odd frames in like a 10 second scene. 1080i files I have to turn off the auto deinterlacing for smooth playback but I don't have a lot of those videos. All of my files though aren't high frame rate though (23.976, 24, 25, and 29.97). The A8-6500 supports 3D from what I understand.


finally I am giving up on madVR as i want a cheap htpc just to watch full hd and 3d movies

yeahman45 is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 02-22-2014, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

you guys confirm A6-6400K will run all 3d video formats and 1080p without any issues?

 

I was really tempted in investing in the core i3 haswell but there is a price difference of about $130.

yeahman45 is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 02-27-2014, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yeahman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahman45 View Post
 

you guys confirm A6-6400K will run all 3d video formats and 1080p without any issues?

 

I was really tempted in investing in the core i3 haswell but there is a price difference of about $130.


I meant A6-5400K

yeahman45 is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 02-27-2014, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, I confirm.
But remember, comparing to Haswell i3, A6 sucks more power, hotter, the fan is noisier.
Mfusick likes this.
Elpee is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 07-21-2014, 08:22 PM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So what are these two types of 3d?
shnxx is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 01:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
So what are these two types of 3d?
Side by Side (Half) (SBS(H)): Just a normal 1920 x 1080 @ 24Hz, right and left images being downsampled and packed into the single 1920 x 1080 frame. Every decent CPU/GPU can play this 3D format because it is within HDMI 1.3 specs.

Frame Packing (referred to as "full 3D" above): Right and left images are packed into a larger frame of 1920 x 2160 @ 24Hz. This format is only defined in HDMI 1.4a and GPU needs to support MVC (Multi-view Video Codec) decoding and Frame packing output. (Precisely speaking, GPU does not have to support MVC decoding, most decent desktop CPU can decode MVC by brute force.)

BTW the cheapest processor/mb that supports Frame Packing 3D is Athlon 5150/5350 + AM1 mb, ~$90 in total. Maybe Sampron too, I will try it later. A caveat is that it (as well as A6-5400K/6400K) does not support dual HDMI outputs, so that if you want to use an AVR, it must be HDMI 1.4a-compliant.

Last edited by renethx; 07-22-2014 at 01:34 AM.
renethx is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 04:32 AM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can the j1900 handle SBS?
shnxx is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 04:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
Can the j1900 handle SBS?
No problem. SBS(H) is just 2D 1080p24 from the viewpoint of the player / graphics card / processor / AV receiver. It's the display device that recognizes the incoming video signal as SBS(H) and processes it as such.

J1900 does not support HD audio bitstreaming under Windows, btw.

Last edited by renethx; 07-22-2014 at 04:57 AM.
renethx is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 213
I was under the impression anything could handle side by side. Its up to the tv to split it apart.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
chadsdsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ya, I think side by side is just regular 1080p with 2 sides and the tv makes it 3d but at a lower resolution.
chadsdsmith is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 01:29 PM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
No problem. SBS(H) is just 2D 1080p24 from the viewpoint of the player / graphics card / processor / AV receiver. It's the display device that recognizes the incoming video signal as SBS(H) and processes it as such.

J1900 does not support HD audio bitstreaming under Windows, btw.

Is there a fix coming for that?
How annoyinf
shnxx is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 07-22-2014, 10:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
Is there a fix coming for that?
How annoyinf

I haven't heard of a fix yet.
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off