How to access bluray menus on the HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2014, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I am using AnyDVD HD to open blurays and can't find a media player that will show the menus. Before purchasing AnyDVD I tried Cyberlink and Arcsoft's offerings. They both told me that my HTPC was not HDCP compliant and I didn't want to deal with tracking down which piece of hardware was causing the problem. Having done a trial of AnyDVD in the past and knowing that it would let me watch BDs I bought it because my demo period was over. I am now able to play BDs but then I started trying to access the menus and can't find a way to do it.

I have tried:
Jriver
MPC-HC
VLC
Pot Player

It's funny because I have spent so much time ripping my BDs just so I don't have to see the commercials and menus. Sometimes I want access to the menus because not all TV shows have the files in order on the disc. I hope I didn't just waste $70 on AnyDVD.
rec head is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2014, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
sycochkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The only player I have that will display the menus is PowerDVD.
rec head likes this.
sycochkn is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Have you considered ripping them to mkv files? MakeMKV will rip each episode of a TV series disc as individual mkv files. You can name them so they're in the right order.
captain_video is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
The only programs that can play back all blu-ray menus are the paid applications like TMT5, PowerDVD, and WinDVD (all of which require HDCP I would assume). Some other programs, including XBMC, can play non-Java menus. I know it's a huge pain, but I would try ripping the episodes with makemkv and renaming them.
lockdown571 is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I do rip and rename them. The problem is that you need to confirm the order of the episodes. Track 1 is not always episode 1. That means putting the disc in a standalone player and noting the first scene or episode duration. It would be nice to be able to do it all from the PC.
rec head is online now  
Old 03-04-2014, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 161
There are lots of ways to find the episode titles. If the episodes all have titles in the opening credits then you can simply view the video and note the title. If you look on epguides.com you will find lists of just about every show ever aired in the US and the UK with episode titles and descriptions.

Some shows may not display titles but have episode numbers in the closing credits. These are also listed on epguides.com.

If you can't find either a title or an episode number displayed in the video then look at the list of guest stars on the show. You can google the actor's name along with the show title and chances are you'll find the name of the episode they appeared in.
captain_video is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 10:59 AM
Member
 
hooraysimpsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe Mediaportal also shows non-Java bluray menus
hooraysimpsons is offline  
Old 03-25-2014, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
dae3dae3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chesterton, Indiana
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If you ripped to ISO then WinDVD Pro 11 will play the Bluray. I honestly don't know if it will do what you want but there is a free trial so you can try it out. Don't buy it directly from them though if you decide to purchase. You can get it at Amazon for significantly cheaper than at the their own website. I paid $30 for it last month at Amazon and it is currently $35.


My subs play all the way down to 0 Hz!!! It's so low you can't hear or feel anything.

dae3dae3 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off