What was my Windows Media Center thinking? Missed recording - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-21-2014, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There's a show I really like that I keep the recordings of so I want them to be perfect. It's from 10-11 PM and another show I don't care as much about records from 9-10 PM. I watched the recording list in WMC as my watch shows 10:00:00, by 10:00:10 it was still recording the previous show as if it had nothing else to record (in which case it records and extra minute). By 10:00:20 it was obvious something was wrong (my PC and watch are both synced to the atomic clock).

I rushed to manually start the recording, something I had never done before, in my rush i somehow managed to start recording a completely unrelated channel, I try again and somehow it starts recording a different but still incorrect channel. By now it's telling me I have 3 conflicts, 2 of which are the recordings I accidentally started on wrong channels, with all this it took me 4 minutes to cancel the 2 accidental recordings and get it to record the proper channel.

Why would it have ignored a recording like that, even though it was clearly in the scheduled recordings list? It had never done that before. The only thing I can think of is that there was a conflicting show at the same time which I manually cancelled hours earlier and the recording schedule was correct minutes before and after it should have recorded but it sat there recording an extra minute of the previous show as if it had nothing else t record.

Also, why did trying to start the recording manually from the guide record completely unrelated channels instead (I right clicked the show in the guide and selected record, it went to a completely unrelated channel)?

I'd like to make sure this never happens again. I've been using WMC for over 2 months and it's the first time it frustrated me like this. Luckily there's a rerun of the show it screwed up, but now it's not really tempting to watch a show where I'm missing the first 4 minutes.

Thanks
aab1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-21-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 177

Not a lot of help but what does view scheduled - History report?

Charles R is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-22-2014, 04:18 PM
Member
 
driver7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aab1 View Post

There's a show I really like that I keep the recordings of so I want them to be perfect. It's from 10-11 PM and another show I don't care as much about records from 9-10 PM. I watched the recording list in WMC as my watch shows 10:00:00, by 10:00:10 it was still recording the previous show as if it had nothing else to record (in which case it records and extra minute). By 10:00:20 it was obvious something was wrong (my PC and watch are both synced to the atomic clock).

I rushed to manually start the recording, something I had never done before, in my rush i somehow managed to start recording a completely unrelated channel, I try again and somehow it starts recording a different but still incorrect channel. By now it's telling me I have 3 conflicts, 2 of which are the recordings I accidentally started on wrong channels, with all this it took me 4 minutes to cancel the 2 accidental recordings and get it to record the proper channel.

Why would it have ignored a recording like that, even though it was clearly in the scheduled recordings list? It had never done that before. The only thing I can think of is that there was a conflicting show at the same time which I manually cancelled hours earlier and the recording schedule was correct minutes before and after it should have recorded but it sat there recording an extra minute of the previous show as if it had nothing else t record.

Also, why did trying to start the recording manually from the guide record completely unrelated channels instead (I right clicked the show in the guide and selected record, it went to a completely unrelated channel)?

I'd like to make sure this never happens again. I've been using WMC for over 2 months and it's the first time it frustrated me like this. Luckily there's a rerun of the show it screwed up, but now it's not really tempting to watch a show where I'm missing the first 4 minutes.

Thanks

If the recording was in the "to be recorded" stuff, I would check your clock.  I've noticed with mine when I had the time synched with any of the NTP sources that are built into windows that they run 5+ mins fast compared to what the TV networks time is.  It wasn't that I was missing records but they would constantly be late and miss the leadins and be through the theme before it started recording.  I would suggest doing a test, turn to some channel about 10 mins to the hour.  Then in the guide set the next show to come on to record, then watch the channel and when it starts recording it will popup the info bar showing that it is in fact recording.  When this happens, check the computers clock and you should know how far off the clock is compared to the networks.

driver7 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-11-2014, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know without a doubt my PC has/had the right time which is why by 10:00:20 I knew something was wrong.

Anyway, only later I realized the show from 9-10 PM actually ends at 10:01:00 (not due to the extra minute WMC records, the show ends at 10:01:00 according to the program guide).

Is there a way to tell WMC in such cases that I'd rather get the first minute of the second show and lose the last minute of the previous show?
aab1 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-11-2014, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 210
If it I series recording, you can move the series up and down the priority list.

Get more tuners is the only real option.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-12-2014, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

If it I series recording, you can move the series up and down the priority list.

Get more tuners is the only real option.

Where do you do that? I only ever get that priority list when setting up a recording, how do you access it for recordings that are already set?

In any case these shows aren't technically in conflict, the problem is that the previous show for some reason ends at 10:01:00 when the next show starts at 10:00:00.

I can't add more tuners as I'm using the Colossus which only supports 1 card in WMC with the beta drivers.
aab1 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-12-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 210
For series recording, you can go to Scheduled recording->Series->Change priority. I assume a higher priority recording will pre-empt other recordings.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-12-2014, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was going to suggest that you add more tuners. But something doesn't make sense here. You said you have 3 conflicts. This is only possible if you have 3 tuners? If you have 3 tuners, it should record the 2nd show in parallel.

If you have only 1 tuner and you set the priority for the 2nd show to be higher, it will not record the 1st show. However, you can schedule manual recording to override. It is annoying for some shows to have bad recording schedules. I don't know why they do that. Maybe try to get you watch a preview of their later program?
pixelation is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-13-2014, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post

I was going to suggest that you add more tuners. But something doesn't make sense here. You said you have 3 conflicts. This is only possible if you have 3 tuners? If you have 3 tuners, it should record the 2nd show in parallel.

If you have only 1 tuner and you set the priority for the 2nd show to be higher, it will not record the 1st show. However, you can schedule manual recording to override. It is annoying for some shows to have bad recording schedules. I don't know why they do that. Maybe try to get you watch a preview of their later program?

The 3 conflict issue was a temporary thing as I tried to cancel the accidental recording that started on the wrong channel and start the proper recording on the right channel.

How do you adjust the priority of recordings that are already scheduled? I've only ever seen the priority option when adding a new recording, in Beyond TV which I used before with analog cable there was a priority list where I could move every show up or down the list, is there something similar in WMC?

Thanks
aab1 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off