HomeRunPrime + CableCard + Encrypted >> "whole-house" viewing options? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stranman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I applogize if this has been covered before, but I haven't found a central thread for reference searching the forums, which I'm surprised about (maybe I'm searching the wrong terminology?).

I have Cox Cable in NorthernVA = mostly encrypted HD channels
locals (ex. ABC, FOX,...) = mostly not
premium (ESPN, TBS,...) = encrypted

I currently have a HomeRunPrime3 and I record HDTV to my HTPC in the den. Watching these recordings (encrypted or not) in the den HDTV w/ WMC is no problem, but I'd like to expand to view these recordings to the "whole house"...

Den HTPC = Win7+WMC (Intel i7-4C, 4GB memory, 5TB HDDs)


What are my options to view these encrypted recordings, if possible?

- Build more smaller Win7 WMC computers (NUC style)?


TIA
- P
Stranman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 08:03 AM
Member
 
blushrts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do the recordings say "copy protected" on the info screen? If so your only option is a media center extender (Xbox, echo, or a few others you can find on eBay).
blushrts is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 192
You can build computers to access the tuners and record their own programs, but you cant share the recordings between computers (provided they are encrypted as you said). If you record Walking Dead in the living room you can't watch it in the bedroom - it will toss you an error.

Windows Media Center Extenders are the only way to access recorded programming throughout the house.
Xbox 360
Ceton Echo
Linksys DMA2100/2200
D-Link DSM 750
HP x280n
Niveus Edge

I use a 360 and a DMA2100 and both work great for live tv and DVR recordings.
Stranman likes this.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

You can build computers to access the tuners and record their own programs, but you cant share the recordings between computers (provided they are encrypted as you said). If you record Walking Dead in the living room you can't watch it in the bedroom - it will toss you an error.

Windows Media Center Extenders are the only way to access recorded programming throughout the house.
Xbox 360
Ceton Echo
Linksys DMA2100/2200
D-Link DSM 750
HP x280n
Niveus Edge

I use a 360 and a DMA2100 and both work great for live tv and DVR recordings.

If you're only doing TV and recorded TV from WMC, the above extender option is best. If you're looking to replicate the full media playback experience, then you'll have to choose between that and shared recording across the house. Every extender option is flawed or limited in some way when it comes to playback of other media types. There is no perfect solution right now unfortunately due to Copy-once restrictions on CableCard tuners.
pittsoccer33 likes this.
mcturkey is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
As noted, you can use a cable card tuner such as HDHRPrime or Ceton to work around the encryption issue, the key is whether the channels you want to watch are flagged "copy once" or "copy freely". That answer will greatly impact your options. If you've got any premium channels such as HBO then those are almost certainly "copy once" and will limit you to the extender solutions mentioned. If all your channels are "copy freely" like mine are on FiOS, then you've got more choices.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post

As noted, you can use a cable card tuner such as HDHRPrime or Ceton to work around the encryption issue, the key is whether the channels you want to watch are flagged "copy once" or "copy freely". That answer will greatly impact your options. If you've got any premium channels such as HBO then those are almost certainly "copy once" and will limit you to the extender solutions mentioned. If all your channels are "copy freely" like mine are on FiOS, then you've got more choices.

I believe OP meant "copy once", not encrypted. They are already using the HDHRPrime, and Cox flags almost all channels.
mcturkey is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stranman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, well I could have swore most channels were protected, but checking again this evening, it appears I was wrong or Cox changed since the last time I checked?!

Some sports are coming up Protected, but that's all I'm finding right now.

Hmm. Unless I'm interpreting this incorrectly.

Stranman is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-08-2014, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stranman View Post

Hmm, well I could have swore most channels were protected, but checking again this evening, it appears I was wrong or Cox changed since the last time I checked?!

Some sports are coming up Protected, but that's all I'm finding right now.

Hmm. Unless I'm interpreting this incorrectly.


You've got it correct. That's the attribute you care about for sharing vs. not sharing recordings. If it's Protected=No you're good to go. If it's Protected=Yes then you can only watch it on the PC that recorded it. You can store it wherever but only the PC that recorded it can play it back.

Encrypted is also accurate. Protected=No means the *recording* will not be encrypted. Protected=Yes means the *recording* will be encrypted so only the recording device which has the key can play it back. It doesn't necessarily correspond to how it's broadcast. Even OTA digital signals can have the Copy Once flag set so that recordings of them (should) be encrypted.
Stranman likes this.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-09-2014, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stranman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, this little non-encrypted turn of events has definitely made my week.
Time to build out the empire! haha

Thanks to all for your input!
Stranman is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-09-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

I believe OP meant "copy once", not encrypted. They are already using the HDHRPrime, and Cox flags almost all channels.

Probably, a lot of people confuse the two.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 04-09-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
blushrts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My only two cents would be to tell you that the situation could change at any time and your provider could copy protect programming. Just factor that into your decision before going crazy and spending a lot of money.
pittsoccer33 likes this.
blushrts is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 04-09-2014, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by blushrts View Post

My only two cents would be to tell you that the situation could change at any time and your provider could copy protect programming. Just factor that into your decision before going crazy and spending a lot of money.

Very important point. Given that Cox flags content for Copy Once in most markets, they might well do so in the future, rendering your investment wasted frown.gif
pittsoccer33 likes this.
mcturkey is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 04-10-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Go the extender route for the ease of use, and future proofing.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off