CyberLink PowerDVD v14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 04-09-2014, 03:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
CyberLink has announced the release of PowerDVD 14, a media player for 4K, HD, 3D, Blu-ray.

CyberLink PowerDVD 14 includes many new features:

- support for the H.265/HEVC video codec and ALAC (Apple lossless) audio playback.

- the new RAW and JPEG decoder for faster photo importing and slideshow playback.

- letting you pin YouTube videos so you can play them when you are not connected to the Internet.

- support for video upload to Vimeo or watching Vimeo videos from within the CyberLink PowerDVD user interface.

- playing MP4 video files with embedded subtitles and multiple audio tracks.

- letting you browse through photos and videos in the media library in a calendar view.

- support for MKV files with multiple video tracks.

- letting you change the user interface background by setting the PowerDVD background image.

- letting you use gesture controls with touch screen displays when browsing through media, viewing photos, and during video playback.

- enhanced program support for high DPI displays.

- audio exclusive mode (WASAPI) for improved audio during movie playback.

- improved meta data for music playback, including support for embedded album art for FLAC, APE, OGG audio.
kokap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 04-09-2014, 03:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
PowerDVD 14.0.3917.58 has one interesting feature:

it detects Cinavia only on Blu-ray discs or BD ISO images mounted to virtual discs.

PowerDVD 14 doesn’t detect Cinavia on BDMV/BDAV folders located on HDD/USB flash drives.
kokap is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 04-09-2014, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Great... thought about it...NOT buying!!!... eek.gif
balky is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 04-09-2014, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
"audio exclusive mode (WASAPI) for improved audio during movie playback."
I thought this was required for copyright reasons.
rickcfer is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 04-09-2014, 12:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Audio exclusive mode (audio encryption) has worked with 48kHz (or higher) 24bit LPCM audio (this is an AACS requirement), but not with 48KHz 16bit LPCM (always sent to Windows mixer). Maybe this is improved? Or you can choose WASAPI shared / exclusive mode for any audio stream (e.g. in MKV)?
renethx is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 06-03-2014, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
--Sclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aurora, IL USA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Are there any PDVD 14 users who upgraded from 13 that can comment what benefits (or lack of) you are seeing? I'm trying to find incentive to update to 14 but just don't see many.

Vizio M801D-A3

JimK

--Sclaws is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 06-03-2014, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
Hankori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have upgraded from Power DVD 13 to 14. I believe the Power DVD 14 loads faster and the Blu-Ray movies seem to be crispier and have more contrast than Power DVD 13. The only problem is the Cinevia detection kicked in in Power DVD 14. But I hope AnyDVD will fix it soon.
Hankori is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 06-08-2014, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
7.4.6.0 2014 04 15
- New: PowerDVD 14.0.24931.3917 is now supported by AnyDVD's unique Cinavia fix
- New (Blu-ray): Support for new discs
- New (DVD): Support for new discs

Does this version of anydvd not work for you?
Bignickfly is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 06-10-2014, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Hankori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No AnyDVD versiorn 7.4.6.0 still does not work. I even have the latest version 7.4.7.0 and the Cinevia issue is still there.
Hankori is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 06-23-2014, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankori View Post
No AnyDVD versiorn 7.4.6.0 still does not work. I even have the latest version 7.4.7.0 and the Cinevia issue is still there.
Looks like they are still trying!!!

7.4.8.0 2014 06 22

- New: The notification icon will turn purple, if AnyDVD's unique.

Cinavia fix is active during playback. If it doesn't turn purple,.

the fix doesn't work correctly.

- New: ArcSoft TMT 6.7.1.199 is now supported by AnyDVD's unique.

Cinavia fix

- New: PowerDVD 14 build 4028 is now supported by AnyDVD's unique.

Cinavia fix

- New: Nero Blu-ray player 12.1.20074 is now supported by AnyDVD's.

unique Cinavia fix

- New: DVD playback with PowerDVD 13 & 14 is now supported by.

AnyDVD's unique Cinavia fix

- Note: PowerDVD 13 build 3919 is already supported by AnyDVD's.

unique Cinavia fix

- New: Added PowerDVD 14 info to logfile

- New (Blu-ray): Support for new discs

- New (Blu-ray): Added information window, if processing a disc.

might take a long time

- Change: Removed firewall rule creation from setup program

- Some minor fixes and improvements

- Updated languages
Bignickfly is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 06-24-2014, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
mdapht01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am using the Benq w1080st (the short throw cousin of the Benq w1070) projector with my macbook retina pro running windows 8.1. The laptop has passed the hardware requirement test from Cyberlink. I'm using PowerDVD ultra 14. The projector works at 144 Hz, and I am using active shutter glasses that work at 144Hz as well. I've been able to view native 3d blu-rays with no issues whatsoever and the image is fantastic. However the 3D conversion feature on PowerDVD 14 is one that I'd really like to use for 2d blu rays and rips thereof, but it doesn't seem to work. When I press the 3d button, I go get the slightly displaced overlay of two images, that is supposed to create a 3d image, but when I view using my glasses the images are still flat. There is no 3d effect whatsoever. What could I be doing wrong? Any input much appreciated. Thanks!
mdapht01 is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 08-19-2014, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry to ask this in PowerDVD thread:

If I want to buy Media Player Software for displaying best result for 4k content (with Sony 4K Projector), including 1080p of course.

What is the BEST options I have?
iwanrs is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 10-23-2014, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Has anyone tested PDVD 14 with a Dolby Atmos disc? Does it pass atmos correctly?
JaremyP is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 10-23-2014, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaremyP View Post
Has anyone tested PDVD 14 with a Dolby Atmos disc? Does it pass atmos correctly?
I wish I knew the answer to that.

On a side note don't bother upgrading to PowerDVD_14.0.4412.58 if you rely on analog audio for whatever reason as all you will get is static when not bitstreaming.

ikkuranus is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
In order for Cinavia to work it needs to have hardware and software that detect it - so if you have (or can get) and "older" version BD drive for your computer, you would not need to worry about Cinavia.

There is a list of BD players Not infected with Cinavia detection here: https://forum.slysoft.com/showthread...d-players-ONLY)
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Cinavia is not a virus, your hardware or software cannot be infected by it. No more than your hardware or software be infected by a built in shutdown button.

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.
htpcforever is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpcforever View Post
Cinavia is not a virus, your hardware or software cannot be infected by it. No more than your hardware or software be infected by a built in shutdown button.
That wording ("virus") is from the SlySoft forum - it's just a "play-on-words". The point is if you have an older BD player (or software) that is not equipped to detect Cinavia you don't have to worry about it (regarding playing your copied your movies).
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Yeah, Cinavia requires both a hardware and a software component to work. I wonder why my LG Super Multi Blue HL-DT-ST GGC-H20L drive detects Cinavia...it is a pretty old drive, circa 2007/2008.


EDIT: Ahh, never mind. In the PC world, the hardware is not required as a component, only software. That is why you cannot use a specific disc drive and bypass it altogether...at least according to Chevron from SlySoft - and he would know.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
True that in general all bd players produced after feb 1st, 2012 require cinavia. For standalones that is.
However since OP asks about computer drives. it's the pc SOFTWARE players that (OP asks about computer internal/external drives) need to have cinavia support, it's pretty safe to assume computer drives will not need cinavia support. Probably no space in a drive for the extra internal hardware needed for it.
https://forum.slysoft.com/showthread...782#post364782

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.

Last edited by htpcforever; 10-24-2014 at 05:49 PM.
htpcforever is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpcforever View Post
Yeah, Cinavia requires both a hardware and a software component to work. I wonder why my LG Super Multi Blue HL-DT-ST GGC-H20L drive detects Cinavia...it is a pretty old drive, circa 2007/2008.


EDIT: Ahh, never mind. In the PC world, the hardware is not required as a component, only software. That is why you cannot use a specific disc drive and bypass it altogether...at least according to Chevron from SlySoft - and he would know.



https://forum.slysoft.com/showthread...782#post364782
Bummer. So PowerDVD with an "older" drive won't do any good.
Are there any software players that can handle 3D and don't have Cinavia?
I use JRiver for 2D movies, so that's not a problem but JRiver doesn't do 3D.
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 74
If you can find an older version of the software players you will be good - or you can buy a lifetime subscription to AnyDVD HD. I would recommend the AnyDVD HD route - you are always covered then. I know WinDVD 11.0 (not the current 11.6 version) is not Cinavia aware.

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.
htpcforever is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 10-24-2014, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpcforever View Post
If you can find an older version of the software players you will be good - or you can buy a lifetime subscription to AnyDVD HD. I would recommend the AnyDVD HD route - you are always covered then. I know WinDVD 11.0 (not the current 11.6 version) is not Cinavia aware.
I am a "lifetime" AnyDVD HD subscriber - but it looks like (from post above) that a final (works for everyone) solution to Cinavia is not available yet from AnyDVD.

I'm only considering PowerDVD because I have a 3D TV now (and a few movies), and my current Media Center program (JRiver) doesn't do 3D playback - so I would need another software player if I want to watch 3D rips. I can wait for Slyce.
Thanks for your replies.
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 10-26-2014, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 202
What version PDVD14 would you guys recommend I just want to watch 2D blu rays, and dvd's...There seems to be a sale going on.

Thanks


DJoel.
Djoel is online now  
post #23 of 31 Old 10-26-2014, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Aryn Ravenlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post
What version PDVD14 would you guys recommend I just want to watch 2D blu rays, and dvd's...There seems to be a sale going on.

Thanks


DJoel.
Not really a fan of recommending PDVD at all, but it does have some uses still. If all you want is 2D blu-rays and DVDs, buying the most basic version available will still be overkill for your needs.
Aryn Ravenlocke is online now  
post #24 of 31 Old 10-26-2014, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Thanks I'll look into the basic version.

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #25 of 31 Old 10-27-2014, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
You might want to take a look at JRiver Media Center for 2D playback and media management. Although it doesn't work with 3d or Blu-ray menus if you use those. But if you just rip and watch the main movie it does a great job (using LAV and madVR). http://www.jriver.com/index.html
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 10-27-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post
You might want to take a look at JRiver Media Center for 2D playback and media management. Although it doesn't work with 3d or Blu-ray menus if you use those. But if you just rip and watch the main movie it does a great job (using LAV and madVR). http://www.jriver.com/index.html

Thanks, I already have JRMC, I was using PowerDVD13 it was working pretty well until it was corrupted some how
I'm not that good using Jriver thou. I just recently erased all my library from there. Just felt it was easier to work with PDVD than other players in my system.

DJoel
Djoel is online now  
post #27 of 31 Old 11-06-2014, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Amazing how it's just like crickets in these PDVD threads these days, lol. Not like the old days with like PDVD 7--that thread was probably like 100 pages. Ahh the memories...


Anyway, anyone (that's actually using this) have issues with MCE remote commands and PDVD 14? The program seems to just ignore commands whenever it wants? WTF? I can tell the receiver is getting the commands as it has a small LED that blinks when it gets IR, so it's not an issue with the receiver.


PDVD 13 worked fine with this. As an example say you're watching the [forced] previews, press skip forward to skip them and it works like once and then the rest of the presses don't work. And it's not the disc stopping the action because you can hit chapter forward on the screen with the mouse and I can use the media keys on my keyboard to do the same and it works fine. But the remote just stops responding?


Same thing with calling up the "Show Information" popup window with the remote (the one that shows the formats/bitrates/output)--sometimes I can get it to come up but I can press the button like 10 times afterwards and it won't come off. Again used to work perfectly fine in 13.


Any ideas?
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 11-06-2014, 11:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Okay nm, looks like it's not a PDVD problem but a Windows one. Not sure what's going on but it's not registering multiple same-button presses in a row, have to press a different button in between--very odd. Guess I have to look into this issue separately.
Edit: Ohhhh yeahhhh now I remember...after a quick Google search turns out I forgot Windows uses parity remote coding by default. Been a while since I did a reinstall of Windows et. al. on the HTPC. Guess I forgot about that! Easily fixed by a reg key and now back in business

Last edited by ES_Revenge; 11-07-2014 at 01:08 AM.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 11-07-2014, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post
Okay nm, looks like it's not a PDVD problem but a Windows one. Not sure what's going on but it's not registering multiple same-button presses in a row, have to press a different button in between--very odd. Guess I have to look into this issue separately.
Edit: Ohhhh yeahhhh now I remember...after a quick Google search turns out I forgot Windows uses parity remote coding by default. Been a while since I did a reinstall of Windows et. al. on the HTPC. Guess I forgot about that! Easily fixed by a reg key and now back in business


Can you post the reg key contents so others can use it if they have the same issue?

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.
htpcforever is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 11-07-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpcforever View Post
Can you post the reg key contents so others can use it if they have the same issue?
Sure...didn't bother at first since it's not really related to PDVD but Windows, but here you go. Pretty much anyone with an MCE-IR receiver would want to do this/have done it already...


In Regedit, go to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\


Then find either of "Hidir" (key for HID-IR) or "Idir", then "Remotes", (both on the left side) and then to "EnableDebounce" on the right side. Set that to zero (0), then save, exit and reboot.


Alternatively just search the registry for "enabledebounce" and you'll find all instances of it. Make sure they're all set to zero (0) and that'll disable the parity requirement for remote commands.
htpcforever likes this.
ES_Revenge is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off