Radeon HD 6450, Haswell GT1, Haswell GT2 or A6-6400K for nicely-deinterlaced 1080i? Argh! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-15-2014, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
allio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I’m doing an overhaul of my father’s HTPC and am struggling a bit with the right way to go. Here’s what he’s currently using to run WMC on Windows 7:

Athlon II X2 245
2GB DDR3-1333
Geforce GT 440 1GB DDR5

On the other hand, here’s what I’m using to run XBMC/TVHeadend on Ubuntu:

Phenom II X4 955
8GB DDR3-1600
Sapphire Radeon HD 6450 1GB DDR3

We both largely use our HTPCs to watch live TV (1080i/50).

Dad's machine has been running like crap recently, and I’m planning to replace the CPU, bump the memory up to 4GB and add a small SSD. Also central to my plan is nabbing the GT 440 for my own purposes, as AMD cards can’t do vector adaptive deinterlacing in Linux and I understand that the Geforce will manage a lot better. However I’m not sure what to replace it with in Dad’s box while ensuring that he doesn’t take a hit in image quality.

My first thought is to swap it with the 6450, as I understand that it’ll do vector adaptive deinterlacing in Windows. He certainly wouldn’t care about or even notice high quality upscaling so madVR etc isn’t necessary. Anandtech’s review of the 6450 says that it can do VA deinterlacing of 1080i/60 while enforcing smooth playback, so that should theoretically do the trick. However there are also lots of (admittedly pretty old) reports on AVS about problems with the 6450 with 1080i, like a lagging interface and dropped frames. I don’t want to take a few hundred bucks from my Dad and hand him back something that performs worse than the old one.

If I repurposed the 6450, I’d put a Pentium G3220 in there as a cheap, zippy upgrade to the old Athlon. However I’m not convinced that the GT1 HD Graphics in the G3220 is up to high-quality (VA equivalent) deinterlacing of 1080i. Another option is to just get an i3 with GT2 HD Graphics, which I understand can definitely manage VA of 1080i no problem. I don’t really mind spending the extra cash if it's worth it, but I’d rather avoid it unless I have to as I don't think I'd get any tangible CPU performance improvements for the near-doubling in price.

Finally, I could get an AMD APU. This would definitely have the graphics grunt, but would leave some CPU performance on the table compared to the G3220 and results in me having to chuck the 6450 in the bin, which seems wasteful. I'm also reluctant to get a Richland now when A6/A8 Kaveris are just around the corner (theoretically...) and really don't want to put an A10 in there.

So, what would you do?
  • G3220 + onboard GT1 (cheap)
  • G3220 + 6450 (cheap)
  • G3220 + a new GPU (expensive)
  • A6-6400 + onboard (cheap)
  • i3 4130 + onboard GT2 (expensive)
  • Wait for A6/A8 Kaveri

Feh!
allio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-15-2014, 09:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Celeron G1820 is enough, or A6-6400K if he wants 3D. Add a discrete graphic card only when PQ is unsatisfactory. As far as deinterlacing is concerned, Celeon = Pentium = Core i3/i5/i7.
allio likes this.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-15-2014, 10:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
allio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Celeron G1820 is enough, or A6-6400K if he wants 3D. Add a discrete graphic card only when PQ is unsatisfactory. As far as deinterlacing is concerned, Celeon = Pentium = Core i3/i5/i7.

Definitely no 3D.

So a G1820/G3220 can produce deinterlacing quality of a 1080i/50 signal on par with a A6-6400K/Radeon 6450? No jagged diagonals, and 50fps rather than 25fps? If so this is actually a really easy decision...

Thanks for your reply!
allio is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-16-2014, 04:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Intel HD Graphics is perhaps better than HD 6450 because deinterlacing is done in ASIC (unless you encounter the 29/59 Bug).
renethx is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-16-2014, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Add the ram and SSD and check back.
Also define 'running like crap', as in perhaps loaded with browser bars and spyware/crapware?
Ruiner is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-16-2014, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sorry, OP. Off topic for a while.
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Celeron G1820 is enough, or A6-6400K if he wants 3D. Add a discrete graphic card only when PQ is unsatisfactory. As far as deinterlacing is concerned, Celeon = Pentium = Core i3/i5/i7.

renethx, when you're talking about PQ, BTW, I have a quick question.
An HTPC with Core i3 vs discrete HD 7770 vs a HD Player Oppo 105, which one should I buy for PQ? Why? I'm mainly playing 3D iso movies.
Thanks for your reply.
Elpee is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-16-2014, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
allio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Add the ram and SSD and check back.
Also define 'running like crap', as in perhaps loaded with browser bars and spyware/crapware?

Huge long pauses navigating the WMC interface, changing channels, responding to remote commands, generally doing anything. There's no crapware - it's literally just used for running WMC and never even sees the Windows desktop. Most of the time it's not even connected to the internet. It's not all down to hardware, I know, as it certainly wasn't anything this bad when I first built it, but it was never a speed demon even in its day and it is time for an upgrade I think. And my upgrade fingers are itchy smile.gif

Besides - I want to snag that GT 440! There's no onboard video so I have to replace it with something, and a straight swap for the 6450 would be a downgrade if anything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Intel HD Graphics is perhaps better than HD 6450 because deinterlacing is done in ASIC (unless you encounter the 29/59 Bug).

Perfect. Thanks.
allio is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-16-2014, 09:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elpee View Post

An HTPC with Core i3 vs discrete HD 7770 vs a HD Player Oppo 105, which one should I buy for PQ? Why? I'm mainly playing 3D iso movies.
Thanks for your reply.
If you mean Blu-ray 3D, then PQ is almost identical whatever graphics processor you use.
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers
Gear in this thread - A6-6400K by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off