Network Throughput - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 05-09-2014, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
I've built another i3-3225 HTPC and have a network bottleneck. It works on my other 3225 so I know there's a solution. Here's the facts:

1) MKV in MPC-HC works fine from either local drive (SSD or 2TB HD)
2) File transfer from my NAS (SeaGate GoFlex Home) to this HTPC is at 50 to 60 MBPS
3) Playing an MKV directly from the NAS is like a slide show. The transfer speed is less than 2 MBPS.
4) OS is Win7 Ult, security is MSE with the NAS movie directory, filetype MKV and process MPC-HC on the ignore list. I also added incoming to MPC-HC to the firewall white list.

Ideas?
olyteddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 05-10-2014, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 260

Quote:

Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post


3) Playing an MKV directly from the NAS is like a slide show. The transfer speed is less than 2 MBPS.

 

Is that megabyte per second or megabit? When you use a capital B in MB, that would be megabyte. Are you using wifi or a wired connection? If its wireless, can you try using a ethernet cable to test?

Mrkazador is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 05-10-2014, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
It's already wired and I do mean Capital-B 'Bytes'.
olyteddy is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 05-10-2014, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 260

Is this a 720/1080p rip or a remux? 

Mrkazador is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 03:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

Is this a 720/1080p rip or a remux? 
Rip. But why would that matter? It copies at 50MBPS, plays fine locally but streams at only 2MBPS.
olyteddy is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 243
I suspect the file is not made for streaming. The player has to seek back and forth to read different parts of the file for either video or audio streams. Even though your network has 50MBPS sequential transfer speed, when a file needs to be read randomly, not sequentially, it will drop substantially because of the overhead of seeking back and forth and most NAS also slows down a lot in this mode. To stream it better, you should setup a stream server, e.g. DLNA server or Plex, so that it always sequentially send data over network, not via random file access.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Doesn't sound right. I play MKVs (uncompressed backups of BDs, usually 40ish GB in size) with MPC-HC over wired gigabit all the time, and I've never seen this kind of slowdown. Seeking/RW/FFWD is never a problem. However, my "NAS" is Server 2012 R2 running Stablebit Drivepool. Hell, it's even virtualized under ESXi, and I've never seen any issues.

I suspect this is caused by some weird combination of your MPC-HC settings and your Seagate NAS settings. These OEM NAS units have all sorts of weird settings.
kapone is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Rip. But why would that matter? It copies at 50MBPS, plays fine locally but streams at only 2MBPS.

A high bitrate MKV is only 5 MB/s tops. Your not going to stream at the same speed a a file copy.

Try disabling interrupt moderation, flow control and ip6.

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 309
This doesn't sound like a network issue at all. Are you certain the file you played locally is the same as the file you are trying to stream, and you kept the same lav settings for both tests?

This sounds like the case where you may need to disable hardware accelerated decoding in video settings
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

This doesn't sound like a network issue at all. Are you certain the file you played locally is the same as the file you are trying to stream, and you kept the same lav settings for both tests?

This sounds like the case where you may need to disable hardware accelerated decoding in video settings
As stated in the original post I copied the file from the NAS at 50MBPS. Played it in MPC-HC. Played it from the NAS in MPC-HC (no, I didn't change any settings) and the NAS only sent the file at less than 2MBPS.
olyteddy is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Something just occurred to me. What splitter are you using? LAV? Haali? Codec pack (shudder...)? The splitter may not be caching things fast enough for network playback.
kapone is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post


Rip. But why would that matter? It copies at 50MBPS, plays fine locally but streams at only 2MBPS

 

Its only going to stream what it needs so if your at a scene in the movie that only requires 4000kbps then it will only transfer 4000kbps (0.48 MBps). A rip runs at a much lower bitrate than a remux which is why I asked. 2MBPS could be normal for a rip but something is making it stutter...

Mrkazador is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

Its only going to stream what it needs so if your at a scene in the movie that only requires 4000kbps then it will only transfer 4000kbps (0.48 MBps). A rip runs at a much lower bitrate than a remux which is why I asked. 2MBPS could be normal for a rip but something is making it stutter...

He's not streaming. He plays the file as if it is a local file but actually through NAS. Streaming would be much more network efficient than direct file access on the NAS.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #14 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post


He's not streaming. He plays the file as if it is a local file but actually through NAS. Streaming would be much more network efficient than direct file access on the NAS.

 

Now you are confusing me... I thought the NAS was connected to the network using ethernet. What difference is there between streaming and direct file access? 

Mrkazador is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

Now you are confusing me... I thought the NAS was connected to the network using ethernet. What difference is there between streaming and direct file access? 

TCP sockets vs SMB.... smile.gif
kapone is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

Now you are confusing me... I thought the NAS was connected to the network using ethernet. What difference is there between streaming and direct file access? 

Streaming requires a streaming server that offers the block of data on demand. File access means the player need to understand the file format and seek for the contents for itself. Let's say if the mkv file has video stream at the beginning of the file and audio stream at the end of the file, the direct file access needs to constantly using random file access to seek to the video stream and audio stream back and forth, all through SMB and networking then the NAS boxes translation layer. With a stream server, all the back and forth seeks are done locally by the server instead of via the remote client.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #17 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapone View Post

Something just occurred to me. What splitter are you using? LAV? Haali? Codec pack (shudder...)? The splitter may not be caching things fast enough for network playback.

I agree. I encountered this a few times in the past due to some corruption of codec pack installations.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #18 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Good guesses, all. More information: Right now I have the same movie file from the same NAS on the same network playing at 3 different points in the movie on three separate Windows 7 PCs. Two of them are fine, I can even skip around without re-buffering. The network utilization on the two working machines is 2% to 5% with peaks of 30% or so when I skip around. This to me is normal. The third stream (remember, same source file, same network, new PC) is a less than 2% slide show. This third PC can play the file fine locally or when played from one of the two PCs that are streaming fine, but not from the NAS. MPC-HT used by all.
olyteddy is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Well, that tells you a lot, doesn't it now? smile.gif The third PC is borked. Something not working right on that one. Reinstall time?
kapone is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Oh come on now, I'm not gonna randomly re-install for what is apparently either a MPC-HC problem or a network setting.
olyteddy is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Oh come on now, I'm not gonna randomly re-install for what is apparently either a MPC-HC problem or a network setting.

Nope. It could be a splitter/MPC-HC/network/firewall/driver/port/antivirus/switch/router/....problem smile.gif

My point is that there's something on that third PC that's not working right, because your NAS and other two PCs seem to play along fine. Saying that it's an MPC-HC or a network setting problem is a bit premature since we don't know that for sure. You could certainly try debugging it, but unless the hardware/software/driver versions/player settings/cables etc etc are all exactly the same on all 3 PCs, it's actually faster to reinstall than debug.

Unless there's something preventing you from doing that. Like protected recordings. Then it becomes more complex.
kapone is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
It is a brand new install. The machine was only activated yesterday and installed a week ago. FWIW It is definitely not a NAS problem, I have the same file playing fine in 4 players now (2 VLC and 2 MPC-HC).
olyteddy is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Did you try reinstalling network drivers?

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Match your MPC-HC settings (and any other splitter/codec settings) across all your PCs to see if there's something different.
kapone is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Update: Not likely MPC-HC. VLC has a problem with it too.
olyteddy is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 126
smile.gif
kapone is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 05-11-2014, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Done and solved. Had to place the whole NAS disk on the MSE WhiteList on the new machine to get it to acknowledge it. Just ran 6 streams of the same movie (2 on each of 3 computers, including the new one) and not a hic-cup.
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off