Best OTA Tuner - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Best OTA Tuner

Home Theater Computers

mcdev's Avatar mcdev
11:58 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 17
05-13-2014 | Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Hey guys. I just moved and I am thinking about cutting the cord. Currently my HTPC has a Ceton InfiniTV four tuner card, but that only works with a CableCard. I would appreciated some suggestions for an OTA tuner and will still allow me to record a couple of channels while watching another, if possible. Seems like most of the tuners I have found are geared toward use with a cable provider and not OTA... An FM tuner would be a bonus, but not at all necessary.

Thanks!
freetvEE's Avatar freetvEE
12:04 PM Liked: 12
post #2 of 17
05-13-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Feb 2012
I have been using the HDHR4 on lots of my HTPC installs lately and it has been working well on my systems, plus it really is the most flexible since it is a network TV Tuner. 99% of my jobs are for OTA Antenna (dumping cable). The HDHR3 had issues, but they seemed to have fixed things up with the HDHR4. It is a dual tuner, but if desired you can add another and make 4.
captain_video's Avatar captain_video
02:51 PM Liked: 156
post #3 of 17
05-13-2014 | Posts: 3,636
Joined: Jan 2002
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual (2 tuners, networked)
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (2 tuners, PCIe X1)
AverTV A188 Duet (2 tuners, PCIe X1)
Hauppauge 950Q/HP USB tuner (single USB tuner)

There are others, but these are probably the most popular among members here.
JavaJohnNV's Avatar JavaJohnNV
03:18 PM Liked: 14
post #4 of 17
05-13-2014 | Posts: 79
Joined: Apr 2007
The latest firmware update for the HDHR3 has fixed most all the problems, and the HDHR3 can be found for as little as $65.
mcdev's Avatar mcdev
06:12 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 17
05-13-2014 | Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Just got off the phone with Comcast and it looks like I will definitely be leaving cable behind. They are charging $30 a month for internet, which I can live with, but to bundle it with their lowest level of cable costs $80 a month, with all my own equipment.
freetvEE's Avatar freetvEE
09:17 AM Liked: 12
post #6 of 17
05-14-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJohnNV View Post

The latest firmware update for the HDHR3 has fixed most all the problems, and the HDHR3 can be found for as little as $65.

Which "latest" firmware do you speak of, because everything I have seen doesn't fix the issues on channel 4 in Denver, CO? This forum post gives the long and bloody proof of the issues here: http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=15709&p=96672#p96672 I would highly recommend the HDHR4 over the HDHR3 even if it costs a bit more $$$, I compared all of my channels with the exact same conditions & antenna on both and the HDHR4 is just a stronger TV Tuner-on all channels it was the same or even better reception on most...
aminoacid's Avatar aminoacid
11:18 AM Liked: 10
post #7 of 17
05-14-2014 | Posts: 104
Joined: Sep 2007
Do I need HDTC-2US to tune in OTA HD channels or HDHR4 enough?
freetvEE's Avatar freetvEE
11:27 AM Liked: 12
post #8 of 17
05-14-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aminoacid View Post

Do I need HDTC-2US to tune in OTA HD channels or HDHR4 enough?

No need, just use the HDHR4 that I have linked on the Silicon Dust website above.
JavaJohnNV's Avatar JavaJohnNV
05:28 PM Liked: 14
post #9 of 17
05-14-2014 | Posts: 79
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by freetvEE View Post

Which "latest" firmware do you speak of, because everything I have seen doesn't fix the issues on channel 4 in Denver, CO? This forum post gives the long and bloody proof of the issues here: http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=15709&p=96672#p96672 I would highly recommend the HDHR4 over the HDHR3 even if it costs a bit more $$$, I compared all of my channels with the exact same conditions & antenna on both and the HDHR4 is just a stronger TV Tuner-on all channels it was the same or even better reception on most...
Maybe I should have said that firmware 20140121 fixed all the problems I was having. You, apparently not so much.
freetvEE's Avatar freetvEE
05:29 PM Liked: 12
post #10 of 17
05-14-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJohnNV View Post

Maybe I should have said that firmware 20140121 fixed all the problems I was having. You, apparently not so much.

Me & lots of others around the Denver, CO area at least... ;-)
JavaJohnNV's Avatar JavaJohnNV
05:42 PM Liked: 14
post #11 of 17
05-14-2014 | Posts: 79
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by freetvEE View Post

Me & lots of others around the Denver, CO area at least... ;-)
I think in future posts I'll add the disclaimer: While it worked for me, it will probably still suck for you. :-)
It is nice to hear that the current version is better then the last.
Mike99's Avatar Mike99
01:56 AM Liked: 51
post #12 of 17
05-15-2014 | Posts: 3,043
Joined: Sep 2004
I use two of the AverMedia Duet dual tuner cards for a total of 4 tuners.
freetvEE's Avatar freetvEE
12:51 PM Liked: 12
post #13 of 17
05-15-2014 | Posts: 248
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I use two of the AverMedia Duet dual tuner cards for a total of 4 tuners.

I think they stopped making these, not sure you can find them anymore... Have you seen them for sale anywhere recently?
Mike99's Avatar Mike99
06:20 PM Liked: 51
post #14 of 17
05-15-2014 | Posts: 3,043
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by freetvEE View Post

I think they stopped making these, not sure you can find them anymore... Have you seen them for sale anywhere recently?

I year or so ago I contacted AverMedia & they said the Duet was not discontinued but they were just out of them. So I bought my second from ebay for about $50.

Then both Newegg & Amazon had the full versions (not the white box) for $50. So I bought a third one for a spare. And AverMedia still did not have these back up on their website, and still don't. And now neither Newegg nor Amazon has them. I don't know how they were temporarily available. Maybe AverMedia found some in the back of their warehouse, who knows.

Since they haven't been on the manufacturers website for a long time they probably are discontinued by now.
mcdev's Avatar mcdev
11:44 PM Liked: 10
post #15 of 17
05-17-2014 | Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Thanks for the help guys! Received my HDHR4 yesterday and set it up this morning. So far, so good!
billdacat's Avatar billdacat
05:56 AM Liked: 16
post #16 of 17
05-18-2014 | Posts: 188
Joined: Aug 2009
Think about additional HDHR's. Sometimes two tuners are just not enough. Redundant tuners are the cats meow for the 'just in case" situation. rolleyes.gif
Mike99's Avatar Mike99
02:00 PM Liked: 51
post #17 of 17
05-18-2014 | Posts: 3,043
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdacat View Post

Think about additional HDHR's. Sometimes two tuners are just not enough. Redundant tuners are the cats meow for the 'just in case" situation. rolleyes.gif

Highly agree,

Sometimes you record 2 programs, one after the other, on different channels & the first one ends 1 minute past the hour. Because of that 1 minute overlap you need 2 tuners. Or if you pad the recording times which also could create an overlap. That means you cannot record 2 programs during that second time slot because the first one runs over.
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3