Newbie proposed first build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 05-15-2014, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hows it going guys my brain is on overload but I've managed to come up with this build

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3KFwG

It will be used for streaming downloading 1080p movies TV shows and to web browse ..... No gaming at all ....

I would also like to get ota channels and live TV if I can but there will be no cable connection. Please feel free to give any advise as this is my first time doing anything like this

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 05-15-2014, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-15-2014, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thumbs up to the Sammy SSD - will provide you some fast performance! Also, I like the Silverstone case, have the GD08 myself though. You will like the construction of it. Only thing I see missing is a HDD of at least 2tb to get you started with storing media. Other than that, looks good!

Toys

My Gear
Toys7505 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 05-15-2014, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Build is getting way up there in price for me

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-15-2014, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You could save some additional $$ by going intel.....say a Celeron processor and ASRock motherboard from the Egg. Could save you another $40 that you can apply towards a WD or Seagate HDD.

Toys

My Gear
Toys7505 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 03:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I always thought and was cheaper then Intel and the HDD would just be under additional memory or storage? .

Can you reccomend what specific CPU and mobo? Is the mobo have wofo built in

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 03:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You can run an Intel Celeron with HD graphics included - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117301

and this motherboard since I see you want a mini ITX - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157451

it doesn't have wifi built in but you can always add a card to handle that...........

Toys

My Gear
Toys7505 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mini isn't necc at all I have no preference ..

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheaper the better but I want it to be fast and powerful I will sacrfoce size

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Orange14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've been using the Gigabyte H87N-WiFi motherboard in HTPC builds and it works well.  You could couple this with a Pentium G3220 CPU for a first rate unit.  Unfortunately, it will cost a little more than you have in the original build.

Orange14 is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What would be the benefit over running the original setup?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Orange14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotgrowth View Post

What would be the benefit over running the original setup?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk


I don't know since I only use Intel CPUs.  Can't give you any advice about AMD chips.  I think the Gigabyte motherboard that you identified in that build is pretty similar to the H87N.   I stream Netflix and Amazon Prime over the WiFi and it works fine.

Orange14 is online now  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How far is your router from your htpc. ?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Orange14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

15 feet but I did an identical build for my wife's workstation which is upstairs and she streams video all the time.  I'll be putting in a 2nd HTPC up in our bedroom as soon as the new furniture arrives and plan to use the same MoBo for this build as our house is not wired for Ethernet.

Orange14 is online now  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh really? Because I am moving into a basement apt. And the landlord is providing me with free WiFi. I wanted avoid having to get my own line if I didn't have to .... I just didn't know of the signal would be strong enough or if the antenna on the mobo was good enough

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
Orange14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

My wife's office build is 60 feet or so from the router and upstairs and it seems to work fine.  You will need to try it and if it's not satisfactory see if the landlord will install one of the Ethernet over Power Line transmitters.   That should do the job if the WiFi does not.

Orange14 is online now  
post #17 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gotgrowth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that require any hardwires? Because that would be impossible with thebsetupnof the house

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
gotgrowth is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 05-16-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 33
With ethernet over power line, plug two or more adapters into power outlets in different parts of the house and they use the power lines for ethernet. It's slower than Cat5 or Cat6 but is usually sufficient for video and more stable than a typical wifi connection. Depending on the home wiring they may work well for you.
dfkimbro is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off