Simple (rookiie) connection question - re: HD4350 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-14-2014, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
NDman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Simple (rookie) connection question - re: HD4350

Hello All.

I have a very simple question regarding the connection for HD4350. currently I have a very primitive setup with the computer (HD4350 -> old LG HDTV via HDMI). And the sound is coming through a set of computer speakers.

I am thinking of upgrading and get a basic soundbar, like this one, or similar

https://www.harmanaudio.com/search_b...200-Z&CJPID=CJ

My question is, how should I connect the setup if I were to pursue a soundbar? Would it be HD4350->soundbar (via HDMI) and then from the soundbar->TV (via another HDMI) to get the audio? Is that even possible?

Seemingly simple issue but I am just stumped.

Basically, I would like to use the soundbar to be the primary speaker for the computer, and when I watch stuff on the TV using the computer. I have a monitor for the computer, and also hooked it up to the TV (as kind of a dual monitor setup).

Thanks a lot in advance! Cheers!

Last edited by NDman; 06-14-2014 at 12:54 PM.
NDman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-14-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Connect optical out or RCA out from TV to soundbar. TVs don't have HDMI outs.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-14-2014, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
NDman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, mdavej.

A follow-up though... how do I configure the HD4350 to pass the audio to the TV as well? right now when I play media (be it DVD using WMP or Windows Media Center (Win7)), it only has audio to the computer-linked speakers. Nothing would come out of the TV. It seems like I may have to configure something with the HD4350 to pass the audio through and bypass the computer speakers?

Any advice? Thank you again.
NDman is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-14-2014, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Then you must still be using your computer's built in sound controller and not the video card's. Uninstall your PC's sound driver (Realtek, for example) and install the AMD HDMI Audio driver. Get the latest from AMD's website. I also disable my onboard sound in the BIOS for good measure.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-14-2014, 06:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,005
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
You have two sound playback devices: onboard audio (analog speakers and S/PDIF [so precisely three devices]) and HDMI audio (HD 4350). If you want to use both, onboard for computer speakers (default sound playback device; all system sounds come from this) and HDMI for TV (e.g. with WMP/WMC), then install both drivers (HDMI audio driver is included in "AMD Catalyst Software Suite" and should be automatically installed during its installation), then set "Speakers" to default in Sound control panel and in WMP > Options > Devices > Speakers choose HDMI audio as the playback device. Do the same for WMC.
renethx is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-14-2014, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
NDman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many thanks, mdavej and renethx!!
NDman is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off