Is there a good Media Browser Theater configuration guide? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2014, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Is there a good Media Browser Theater configuration guide?

I'm looking to try Media Browser Theater side-by-side with Plex on my main HTPC, but don't see any handy dandy guides.

I really want to make sure things like forced subs work.

Mr Zoid

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using Tapatalk

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2014, 01:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 75
If you don't have MB3 Server installed and set--up - here's a good place to start - http://mediabrowser.tv/community/ind...configuration/

MBT is in alpha release (barely) and though stable for some, is still not meeting the demands of others. I'm not aware of a guide to set-up MBT, though in fairness there isn't a lot to it at the moment anyway - in terms of tweaking. Download the MBT client and it will download the components required.
steelman1991 is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I'd probably consider MBT BETA ready (as is the rest of the MB3 suite). I tried it, and found it very stable, although I've now reverted back to MB Classic with MB3 server. When they get the Live TV integration into MBT, that's when I'll look more closely at it as a replacement for WMC.
tman247 is online now  
Old 06-15-2014, 10:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
I'm looking to try Media Browser Theater side-by-side with Plex on my main HTPC, but don't see any handy dandy guides.

I really want to make sure things like forced subs work.

Mr Zoid

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using Tapatalk
I'm planning on doing on very soon

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
I really want to make sure things like forced subs work.
Please report what you find out about MBT with regard to forced subs... I'm going crazy trying to figure it out.
IndianaGeorge is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
tmservo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Forced subs seemed to work flawless for me, I just had to change settings in LAV to indicate it, and they seemed to take effect. So far, I'm very happy with MBT.. I have it set to auto-start full and it just is smooth as silk. I'm hoping Skins and more come along for it, but I'm liking what I have.
tmservo is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 09:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
What are you guys using DirectVOB or Vs Filter?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
What are you guys using DirectVOB or Vs Filter?
I didn't load anything extra, so I'm guessing DirectVOB?
IndianaGeorge is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmservo View Post
Forced subs seemed to work flawless for me, I just had to change settings in LAV to indicate it, and they seemed to take effect. So far, I'm very happy with MBT.. I have it set to auto-start full and it just is smooth as silk. I'm hoping Skins and more come along for it, but I'm liking what I have.
I'm very happy with MBT too, just trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. I can get subtitles to work in Foxfire by fooling around with the * key on my remote, but I can't get anything to appear in MBT, let alone default to forced subs. I really appreciate any help. I can't even figure out how to add a smily, but at least I could insert an image, so here are my LAV settings:


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LAV settings.PNG
Views:	97
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	123330  

Last edited by IndianaGeorge; 06-17-2014 at 10:06 PM.
IndianaGeorge is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off