6Likes

post #1 of 50 Old 06-23-2014, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Are components' quality going downhill?

I have been building PCs for 10 years. I basically never had anything arrive DOA or even fail after years of use. Only thing I ever had to RMA has been hard drives.

That was until six months ago. Since then, I have had bad SATA ports on new mobos, RAM arriving inop, bad SAS cables, flaky backplanes, you name it.

Over the weekend I assembled a machine for my neighbor. Asus B85 Vanguard mobo, 4 sticks of Crucial Ballistix RAM, Pentium processor.

No POST on first power on. DRAM LED lights up red. Okay, remove all four sticks. Stick #1 in slot 1 - system in power cycle loop = bad stick.

Stick #2 , 3 or 4 in slot 1 - system runs fine. So those sticks are good.

Any combination of sticks #2 -4 in slots 1 and 2 - system runs fine.

Any stick(s) in slot 3 and/or 4 - no POST, red DRAM LED.

So we have one bad memory module and two RAM slots inop. Great.

Went to local store (above gear came from Amazon) and bought a new identical motherboard and 2x4 GB of Kingston Hyper-X RAM. Transferred CPU to new board.

Result: No POST, red DRAM LED, with the new mobo, with every combination of Ballistix and/or Hyper-X memory. This board flatly refused to work.

So back with the CPU onto the first board, which boots fine with any 2 sticks of either RAM brand (except the dead Ballistix one) in slots 1 and 2. But slots 3 and 4 are dead.

So I can leave it there and run with two RAM sticks in single channel mode, or RMA the board to Amazon. But how do I know a third board will work?

Of course the CPU could be flaky as well, but why different symptoms on two identical motherboards?

And no, I haven't bent any pins in the 1150 socket(s).

Have I just had bad luck with the parts? Or have I made two slightly different versions of some obscure mistake in the same day?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement