XBMC/FlexRAID - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2014, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bkinder83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
XBMC/FlexRAID

I've been noticing that I get an error during a Validate task on my FlexRAID array on the last movie I've watched in XBMC. The error is "HANDLE_VALUE error=32". Does XBMC keep the file open on my HTPC after completion?

Thanks for any help.
bkinder83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
probably edits the file while the update or process is running. If you modify an existing file it will throw an error. I wouldn't worry about it. The file probably changed slightly (like watched status changed or edited)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bkinder83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
probably edits the file while the update or process is running. If you modify an existing file it will throw an error. I wouldn't worry about it. The file probably changed slightly (like watched status changed or edited)
Thanks for the response. Does the Validate task kick out if it receives an error? I wouldn't want it to miss an unknown amount of files. Also, would you think it could be something different if I mentioned that I do an Update nightly including one prior to the Validate?
bkinder83 is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
rc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I get tons of these errors, but it doesn't seem to affect Validate/Verify/Update. I should probably check to make sure it Restores correctly though...
rc05 is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 09:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
No the process completes but if you did a restore probably the watched status on that one would be unmatched instead of watched.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkinder83 View Post
I've been noticing that I get an error during a Validate task on my FlexRAID array on the last movie I've watched in XBMC. The error is "HANDLE_VALUE error=32". Does XBMC keep the file open on my HTPC after completion?

Thanks for any help.
What scraper are you using? Local metadata only puts a lot of stress on flexraid's update/validate/verify, but the imdb/tmdb scrapers build a library cache on your C: drive which should be excluded from your array
Dark_Slayer is online now  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Yeah you can set PLEX or MediaBrowser to also store stuff outside the movie folder or on another drive (like SSD)

But honestly I would not worry about it. I chased those problems before and as long as the server is idle next time (like middle of the night) it will complete successfully. The error doesn't mean your entire flexraid array is bad either- it just means that one file. If you restored you'd be ok anyways. This is just the problem with snapshot raid, it's a snapshot. Anything that adds or deletes won't mess anything up, but files that change and still exist will throw an error. Only way around it is to not use the server during the process (or run the process again when you are done using it) or convert to a real time raid solution.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 07-09-2014, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
techmattr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 184
You should have an Update scheduled to run right before the Validate.... in case you don't already.
techmattr is offline  
Old 07-09-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmattr View Post
You should have an Update scheduled to run right before the Validate.... in case you don't already.
I do update and then validate- otherwise it's pointless.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off