New HTPC. What's needed for 1080p / DTS HD-MA playback? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes

post #1 of 32 Old 07-14-2014, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
New HTPC. What's needed for 1080p / DTS HD-MA playback?

I have been wanting to build a HTPC for quite some time now, but kept putting it off. I have built multiple gaming PCs in the past but this is my first time building a HTPC and I honestly have no idea what is needed to get smooth audio and video playback. I've searched for suggestions, but hardware moves so fast that even a 6 month old post is now outdated. The most demanding content I'll run is 1080p movies with DTS-HD audio in which the file size is usually around 12-15gb. I have no need for 3D playback, gaming, or 4k at this time. My plan is to just play movies off of a shared hard drive from my desktop, although I am not sure if that would be a bottleneck at all. Any thoughts there? I'd have to imagine that many members on here are just using network storage though.

Here are my general requirements for a HTPC.
- Run 1080p / DTS-HD movies smoothly.
- Quiet enough where I can't hear it over normal listening volume. It doesn't have to be silent though.
- Slim / Sleek looking case that wouldn't look out of place with my other components.
- IR control so I can use my Harmony remote for controlling whatever front end UI I decide to go with. Most likely XBMC though.
- Preferably under $500 but am willing to go higher so I dont make compromises somewhere. I do not need Windows or media drives which should help with the cost. I also have a spare GTX 460 that I have from an old computer that I could use if needed.

Denon X4000 | Paradigm Studio 60s | Paradigm Studio CC-590 | Dual SVS PB-2000s | Panasonic GT50
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 07-14-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 192