After new case swap created sleep issue Windows7. - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2014, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
After new case swap created sleep issue Windows7.

After new case swap created sleep issue Windows7.

I recently upgraded my PC case now my PC won’t sleep as it should.

This PC is used mainly to record TV shows like in the middle of the night when show has been recorded the PC should sleep (the on/off button should blink) however it stays on.

When I force a sleep
Start
Cursor right, cursor right, enter it will sleep one minute later it wakes this is w/ the mouse and keybroad turned off.

I rarely connect this PC to the net. So I have automatic updates turned off.

Here are the power settings in the BIOS.
ACPI Suspend mode S3 STR
Deep power off mode enabled
Power on by RTC alarm disabled
Power on by PCI devices disabled
Power on by PCIe devices disabled
Wake up by PS/2 KB/mouse enabled
Restore On AC Power loss Last state

Any tips on this sleep issues is appreciated

STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2014, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
New power supply? If so, I'd suspect that's the difference maker. But I have no advice on solving.
DanPackMan is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 274
BIOS settings has no effect on it after Windows booted up. You need check the settings in Device Manager for each devices, especially for mouse and keyboard. If you have a wireless mouse and keyboard, you will have to disable both from waking up the PC. Also check the NIC settings to make sure only magic packets can wake up the PC.


You have to look at the event log to locate power troubleshoot events. This will tell you what wakes up your PC after you manually put it into sleep.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 07-17-2014, 06:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,435
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 230
powercfg -requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
I recently upgraded my PC case now my PC won’t sleep as it should.
Try the above command in DOS and it will tell me what's keeping the PC awake or waking it up... once you know what's up you can address the processes themselves.
Charles R is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
BIOS settings has no effect on it after Windows booted up. You need check the settings in Device Manager for each devices, especially for mouse and keyboard. If you have a wireless mouse and keyboard, you will have to disable both from waking up the PC. Also check the NIC settings to make sure only magic packets can wake up the PC.


You have to look at the event log to locate power troubleshoot events. This will tell you what wakes up your PC after you manually put it into sleep.
I manuelly disable the optical mouse w/ the on/off power switch on bottom of mouse, I would prefer to not disable in control panel because I use it to turn on PC.

What is a NIC and how do I chech it's settings?

How do I check the event log?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
Try the above command in DOS and it will tell me what's keeping the PC awake or waking it up... once you know what's up you can address the processes themselves.
I tried you’r advice powercfg powerrequest result none



I tried last wake result the SSD Samsung Magician SW

Thanks STB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ssmagician1.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	256.4 KB
ID:	166417   Click image for larger version

Name:	ssmagician2.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	255.3 KB
ID:	166425  

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
You can also try this command after it wakes up;

powercfg -lastwake

DanPackMan is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Just a passing thought. I once had a wireless mouse receiver connected to a usb hub. It kept waking my PC immediately. After moving it to a port directly on the PC, the problem went away. Some cases, I believe, have a usb hub type arrangement for front panel connectors.
DanPackMan is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 02:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,568
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Haven't you been down this road before, Steve, with the Samsung Magician waking your PC? Just uninstall it. Problem solved.
mdavej is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Haven't you been down this road before, Steve, with the Samsung Magician waking your PC? Just uninstall it. Problem solved.
Don't need to (or, shouldn't) uninstall it - it's useful for updating firmware on the SSD, running TRIM on command if you are on anything below Win 8.1, checking SSD health, etc.

Just remove the shortcut it places in the startup folder. Then it won't start up with Windows anymore and keep the PC awake. From there on, you just have to kill it via the tray after you use it anytime in the future. Or restart after using it. Whatever floats your boat.
staknhalo is online now  
Old 07-17-2014, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post
Don't need to (or, shouldn't) uninstall it - it's useful for updating firmware on the SSD, running TRIM on command if you are on anything below Win 8.1, checking SSD health, etc.

Just remove the shortcut it places in the startup folder. Then it won't start up with Windows anymore and keep the PC awake. From there on, you just have to kill it via the tray after you use it anytime in the future. Or restart after using it. Whatever floats your boat.
are you saying to just drag the Magician desktop Icon to the recyclebin?
if not how do I remove the shorthcut and prevent Magician from starting at bootup?
Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 64
C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

There is a shortcut to the Magician software there, that shortcut is all you need to delete.
staknhalo is online now  
Old 07-17-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,568
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 487
That works too. But I've never seen a firmware update for my Samsung SSD and haven't used the software since I first cloned it. I still vote to uninstall and only re-install if necessary (probably never). The first time the OP runs it again, it will probably put itself back in Startup, then the head scratching about sleep will ensue again.
mdavej is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 64
There have been 2 firmware updates for my Samsung 840 EVOs since I purchased them last February. Maybe there just weren't any for your make/model. That doesn't mean there aren't ever any for anyone. Or, no need for the software in general; even without firmware updates. RAPID mode is another beneficial feature of the drives you can only enable from within the Magician Software. For this particular piece of software, what it does and what piece of HW it relates to, telling him to remove it is just silly.

And no, I can tell you from experience, it does not re-add itself to the startup folder when you run it if you have previously removed it from the startup folder.

Last edited by staknhalo; 07-17-2014 at 04:41 PM.
staknhalo is online now  
Old 07-19-2014, 04:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post
C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

There is a shortcut to the Magician software there, that shortcut is all you need to delete.
I would like to have the Magician SW just to experiment around w/.

I was able to get to C:/ Users/ user Steve

did not see AppData.

note I have the SSD setup for Max realibility

It's really unbelievably that Samsung doe'snt have a warning about there Magician ruining my PCs sleep.
STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700

Last edited by stevethebrain; 07-19-2014 at 05:02 AM.
stevethebrain is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 51
can you see magician in the start menu in the startup folder? try right clicking on it on the start menu and delete.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
Old 07-19-2014, 06:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 274
The AppData folder is hidden. You will have to enable the option to view hidden folders and files in order to see it.


You can also type MSConfig command to launch a utility that may allow you to edit the startup alternatively.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 07-22-2014, 03:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
even w/ the Magician SW removed the PC will not sleep after a schduled TV recording.

The only way it will sleep if I manuelley
start
crusor right
crusor right
enter.

Any tips on resolving the sleep issue
Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,571
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Leave it running 24/7. That will solve your sleep issue.

bryansj is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off