Vizio M492i 16-235 or 0-255? on HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-18-2014, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
renji1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vizio M492i 16-235 or 0-255? on HTPC

What setting should I use? I am using a nvidia video card and I can change the dynamic range from 16-235 or to 0-255. I can also change this in XBMC player.

Using 1920x1080 vivid mode 23hz.

The monitor also has a computer mode
renji1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-19-2014, 02:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Whichever. Generally 0-255 is preferred, though. Make sure B&W level of the graphics card matches that of the display. As for a NVIDIA card, use madLevelsTweaker.exe included in madVR.zip to switch between 16-235 and 0-255 (you don't have to use madVR itself).
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
renji1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it seems with 0-255 set on nvidia and 0-255 on madmvr I can not see btb or wtw info.
renji1337 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteelWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I assume you'd have to use computer mode on your TV for 0-255 to be correct, otherwise it's probably expecting 16-235.
SteelWill is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 05:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by renji1337 View Post
it seems with 0-255 set on nvidia and 0-255 on madmvr I can not see btb or wtw info.


You have to use 16-235 if you want to see brb or wtw for obvious reasons.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
renji1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
You have to use 16-235 if you want to see brb or wtw for obvious reasons.

I'm guessing most people use 235 then?
renji1337 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 06:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by renji1337 View Post
I'm guessing most people use 235 then?


I have a feeling that most here prefer 0-255 and could care less about brb and wtw



Regardless, you need to make sure your choice on PC matches the setting on TV. Most TVs default to 16-235 but have options to set to 0-255.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
renji1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
I have a feeling that most here prefer 0-255 and could care less about brb and wtw



Regardless, you need to make sure your choice on PC matches the setting on TV. Most TVs default to 16-235 but have options to set to 0-255.

my tv has no option to switch. the only thing I notice is when I output 0-255 everything gets super dark, way too dark.
renji1337 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 07:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 250
But you said it has a computer mode which I believe will switch to 0-255 mode.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
renji1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
But you said it has a computer mode which I believe will switch to 0-255 mode.
theres modes called VIVID/Calibrated/Calibrated Dark/Computer.



I don't believe computer mode switches to 0-255 color and even if so. I have to use a custom preset to have calibrated color, TV Stock presets always look horrid vs calibrating it yourself and with my tv the moment you change one setting it kicks you out of that preset mode. I'll contact vizio to see.


last years vizio's were limited to 16-235 so im sure this years are the same.

Last edited by renji1337; 08-30-2014 at 08:42 PM.
renji1337 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-30-2014, 10:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 250
There are pros and cons with either mode. You also need to consider that each application has its own different output mode independent of video driver settings. It is not a simple matter. So, either mode is ok as long as it works with the applications you use.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-06-2014, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
renji1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vizio's do not support 0-255 according to vizio tech
renji1337 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-06-2014, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
C17chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
16-235 is proper for video, but ideally you want the pc and the tv to match...so if your pc is outputting PC range and you cant figure out how to change it, use PC range on the TV...or vice versa. Vivid is usually THE worst setting you can use on a TV if you want technically proper.


There are a couple caveats however:


1) It's your setup, you are the one watching it, so do whatever looks good to you. People can jump up and down all day about how unproper your settings are, but if you like it that way better, you're the one watching it, not us.


2) Assuming you do figure out how to match both ranges between the pc and tv....some consideration needs to be taken for other uses of the connected PC. If you are doing other PC things like playing games, surfing the web, etc and not just using it to output video, the full PC range may be the better compromise for you despite 16-235 being more correct for video.
C17chief is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers
Gear in this thread - M492i by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off