Hauppauge low resolution, and motion artefacts - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 07-19-2014, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hauppauge low resolution, and motion artefacts

I'm in New Zealand. I bought a Hauppauge 1900 last month new.

On some recordings, I've been bothered by the recorded TS files motion artefacts.

Thanks to freeware MediaInfo, I've discovered the Hauppauge1900 records at least two different resolutions

* 1920 x 1080
* 720 x 576

The scan type is always interlaced.

Interestingly even though the WinTV7 software is terrible to use, it does the best job of hiding the motion artefacts from Hauppauge videos.

Am I correct the Hauppauge capture device is automatically picking the same resolution as Freeview?

In other words the TS video is at 720x576, because FreeviewNZ broadcasted at the same resolution?

(I actually called the Hauppauge support numberin New York, who told me they weren't familiar with the 1900, and suggested I email Singapore. Singapore never replied.)
kingdragonfly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 07-20-2014, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I found a solution.


I found a flag in XBMC that de-interlaces the video on playback.

I'm guessing WinTV7 is doing the same thing (but not "settable")

It does make it look a little fuzzy, but the motion artefacts are much less noticeable.

Cheers
kingdragonfly is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off