Forum Jump: 
 11Likes

post #1 of 38 Old 07-20-2014, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Lets talk codecs

So Ive been running essentially the same HTPC setup for about 5 years. Ive got an i3 box using on board graphics connected via HDMI to my receiver. Im using WMC7, and prefer it due to Ive got the WMC remote commands set up on my Harmony remote. No complaints there. I can play literally every file format from WMC.

My question is about codecs. Ive always used Shark007's codecs. I found them pretty flexible and they do what I need them to do. My question is, is there something newer out there I should look at? I tend to use mostly Intel Quicksync settings, where possible (which is mostly everything).

So what say you? Is there something newer/faster/better I should look at that will play anything I throw at it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 Old 07-20-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Shark007 seems to work fine for most people. I don't know of many people that recommend any codec packs above it. You'll run into a few "purists" (for lack of a better word) that insist all codec packs are evil, but for the most part I think Shark007 is pretty widely accepted as the best of the bunch.
Sammy2 likes this.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
post #3 of 38 Old 07-20-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Shark messed up my system so badly a few years ago, I had to wipe my drive and reinstall the OS from scratch. Plus Shark is now full of malware, so setup is a minefield. I won't touch it.

I recommend LAV. It has none of those issues and is far easier to configure.
bulls likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.