From Slickdeals: Acer Desktop (Refurbished): Celeron J1900 Quad Core $159 good deal? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2014, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Is that bitstream or decoded PCM? Win7 or Win8?
What's the difference? How can you tell?
I'm using Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
If "DTS HD Master Audio 5.1" lights up in your AVR's display, yes, it is working. If only "DTS" lights up, then no, it's not working, your AVR gets only the core DTS.
DTS does not show up on my AVR's display.
Only PCM.
shnxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
DTS does not show up on my AVR's display. Only PCM.
Then DTS-HD MA bitstreaming is not working, even core DTS bitstreaming is not working either. At least core DTS bitstreaming should work. It looks like your player is decoding core DTS to 5.1 PCM.
renethx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
Then DTS-HD MA bitstreaming is not working, even core DTS bitstreaming is not working either. At least core DTS bitstreaming should work. It looks like your player is decoding core DTS to 5.1 PCM.
What's the difference?
shnxx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,206
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
What's the difference?
Between core bitstream and PCM? None.

Between core and MA? This:
DTS Core VS DTS MA
mdavej is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
In addition, most PC software can't decode full lossless DTS-HD MA. They decode core DTS 5.1 instead. That's why bitstream HD Audio is important.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have no idea what any of those things mean.

So does this mean I'm getting true 5.1 surround sound, similar to the way it was intended to be heard?
shnxx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 02:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,206
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
I have no idea what any of those things mean.

So does this mean I'm getting true 5.1 surround sound, similar to the way it was intended to be heard?
If you're getting DTS, then you're getting 5.1 surround the way a DVD was intended to be heard.

If you're getting DTS MA, then you're getting 7.1 surround the way a Bluray was intended to be heard.

Your AVR should be able to display what kind of signal it's getting.

One format has more detail than the other, but you may not notice the extra detail. If it's important to you, then you'll just have to dig in and learn about it. I can't explain it any better than the links posted so far.
mdavej is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
If you're getting DTS, then you're getting 5.1 surround the way a DVD was intended to be heard.



If you're getting DTS MA, then you're getting 7.1 surround the way a Bluray was intended to be heard.



Your AVR should be able to display what kind of signal it's getting.



One format has more detail than the other, but you may not notice the extra detail. If it's important to you, then you'll just have to dig in and learn about it. I can't explain it any better than the links posted so far.

This is what I get

shnxx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
It shows no HD audio support at all. What bothers me more is the lack of hdcp support on that page. That will be a real deal breaker for HTPC usage.

Sent from my RM-940_nam_att_200 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
It shows no HD audio support at all. What bothers me more is the lack of hdcp support on that page. That will be a real deal breaker for HTPC usage.

Sent from my RM-940_nam_att_200 using Tapatalk
I see.

Okay so there was something wrong with it.
shnxx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Not necessary. As stated before HD audio (DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD) is currently not supported by the driver. But I'm not sure about HDCP issue.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Not necessary. As stated before HD audio (DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD) is currently not supported by the driver. But I'm not sure about HDCP issue.
Well if it's not outputting audio correctly (even older PCs do this correctly right?) then it's a flaw.
Very disappointing.
shnxx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
DTS-HD/TrueHD bitstreaming is supported in PC since 2009.

At least you are getting surround sounds in the form of DTS/DD, so not that bad considering the price? You have been warned of this anyway.

Last edited by renethx; 07-26-2014 at 05:20 PM.
renethx is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 05:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
Well if it's not outputting audio correctly (even older PCs do this correctly right?) then it's a flaw.
Very disappointing.
The PC need to support HDMI 1.3. Also, Intel's driver updates routinely broke HD Audio capability even on regular desktop chipsets. So, it is not uncommon to see a PC that can't output those HD Audio.


BTW, the real advantage of J1900 is the incredible low power consumption (10w) vs regular desktop CPUs which are around 100w. So, if you have the real need for such low power consumption, it is a real gem. But if you want treat it as a cheap desktop PC, you get what you paid for.


I use J1900 to build my own WMC server that is entirely fanless (not even a fan in power supply) and compact size (the case is slightly bigger than a book).

Last edited by Foxbat121; 07-26-2014 at 05:31 PM.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 07-27-2014, 04:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
DTS-HD/TrueHD bitstreaming is supported in PC since 2009.

At least you are getting surround sounds in the form of DTS/DD, so not that bad considering the price? You have been warned of this anyway.
Yes it's definitely fine given the price.
I just hope that the driver releases in the future will address this omission.
I will probably get a second HTPC in the future anyway so it's not a big deal either way.
shnxx is offline  
Old 07-27-2014, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,657
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 315
AFAIK in regards to the HD-audio bitstreaming, the j1900 will bitstream all formats in openelec (which makes use of Intel's linux drivers -- I don't think they support the foss drivers anymore, could be wrong)

The windows drivers from intel do not have this enabled to date, but it isn't a hardware limitation

*disclaimer* - I don't own a j1900 board and haven't tested it, but have heard success of others testing this within openelec and un-success of those testing this with windows
shnxx likes this.
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So given this circumstance, should I use DIRECTSOUND or WASAPI in XBMC?
shnxx is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 04:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 61
With no HDCP / PAP support, using directsound will pass your audio through the windows sound mixer and the quality will more than likely be messed up...

WASAPI on the other hand will allow the audio to bypass the windows sound mixer, meaning you will have to use your AVR for volume control...

Since you're going to be using XBMC anyway, why don't you try Openelec or XBMCBuntu as suggested by Dark_Slayer...

Both are way easier to set up than Windows and take a tremendously lesser amount of time to set up... plus no Windows license cost...

Chances are you might just be lucky HD audio bitstreaming will work as none of the restrictions on Windows apply in the Linux arena...
balky is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ha yeah many have suggested Openelec and Linux.

Unfortunately Microsoft Windows is critical for some Asian websites and applications my family uses for some content as they are not available or do not work on other platforms (sometimes they don't even work in OSX).

Also I tried Ubuntu about 10 years ago and it left a bad taste in my mouth.
I don't think I'm looking to get into typing command lines for HTPC use.


Oh by the way, those of you who were looking to get in on this deal--- there is a second chance now

http://slickdeals.net/da/mem-i/p6949...u326392/r-9999
shnxx is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 01:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,206
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post
Oh by the way, those of you who were looking to get in on this deal--- there is a second chance now

http://slickdeals.net/da/mem-i/p6949...u326392/r-9999
Thanks for the heads up. Grabbed one this time and just finished setting it up. Downgraded to Win 7 and am running WMC with an InfiniTV 6 ETH. It's working great, a lot better than my old rig, and much quieter. The processor maxes at 10W. Looks very nice in my rack too.

Word of warning, this has no expansion except for a half height mini-PCIe. So as long as you have an external tuner, you'll be fine. I had to unplug the optical drive to add my SSD. You can add more SATA ports with a mini-PCIe card.
mdavej is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post
If you need WMC it is not really that good a deal. I have an older Atom/Ion with Win 7 it just needs an Asrock J1900 ITX and some memory to be comparable. .. The problem is this ACER MB Firmware is locked to Win 8 so you have to either buy Win 8.1 Pro PowerPack and WMC for about $100 or load an older firmware version and do some other things to get Win 7 on it. So I think it is an okay deal but it is debatable.. If it had Win 7 on it they would sell like wildfire at the price.
Wow thats crazy and why I prefer to build. But at this price you can't really beat it.
whiteboy714 is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,206
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 429
^^^
BIOS flash only took about 5 minutes, so no big deal in the grand scheme of things.

But I wanted to share some power measurements.

- Sleeping 0.5W
- Full power, running WMC (no video) 14W
- Play video 19W

This thing is so efficient, if I leave it on 24x7, that's only an extra 75 cents per month. Now I can just leave it on and quit fighting sleep/wake issues. It's an awesome little HTPC.

One more little wrinkle though. It does fail DCA for some reason, so I just ran this:
http://rricketts.com/digital-cable-a...stry-override/
mdavej is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 02:45 PM
Member
 
ianeicher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
I use J1900 to build my own WMC server that is entirely fanless (not even a fan in power supply) and compact size (the case is slightly bigger than a book).
Foxbat, have you by chance done a build thread on this? If not, would you consider it? I'd be very interested to see how it went.
ianeicher is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 04:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
There is already a J1900 thread about it. Do a search
Foxbat121 is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off