W7 PC that refuses to sleep - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 34 Old 07-28-2014, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Please help No audio for external speakers out of Yamaha AVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdcrox View Post
Beware, MS Essentials is a good BASIC anti-virus, but it really doesnt stop much. I just read a review, and went with Bit Defender Free for my mother's computer. She had MSE, and wound up with hundreds of bad things, including trojans, key-loggers, and some worms for good measure! And she is 78 yrs old! So mostly from shopping sites I believe.
Thanks for the tip STB.

well dam I fix one PC issue and create another TV related issue.


Please help No audio for external speakers out of Yamaha AVR



I have a Samsung P58C500 TV and a Yamaha RXV 465 AVR

A Magnavox DVR, Sony BD and a PC connected to the AVR w/HDMI cables then out of AVR w/ HDMI to the TV also have a optical Tosh linkconnected to TV’s audio out to AVR AV1.



I have always been able to use my external speakers for alldevices except for now the TV’s audio will only play though it’s own builtinspeaker, my DVD, PC and BD will still play w/ my speakers connected to the AVRjust not w/ the TV.



The TV has the option of speaker select external or TVspeaker. I haven’t unplugged any cables and I’ve attemped to reconfigure theAVR however I still can’t get audio for TV.



Please advice

STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 34 Old 07-28-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,771
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
A Magnavox DVR, Sony BD and a PC connected to the AVR w/HDMI cables then out of AVR w/ HDMI to the TV also have a optical Tosh linkconnected to TV’s audio out to AVR AV1.
I'm confused, if you have all the equipment into to the receiver with HDMI and then from receiver to TV with HDMI both audio and video should get to the TV.

The toslink connection to the receivers AV1 in should not be necessary from tv toslink out unless your using a built in ATSC tuner for OTA HD.

Look in the tv settings to be sure you have HDMI setup to do video and audio. Likewise look for a similar setting in the receiver for the HDMI out.
oman321 is offline  
post #33 of 34 Old 07-28-2014, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
resolved

Quote:
Originally Posted by oman321 View Post
I'm confused, if you have all the equipment into to the receiver with HDMI and then from receiver to TV with HDMI both audio and video should get to the TV.

The toslink connection to the receivers AV1 in should not be necessary from tv toslink out unless your using a built in ATSC tuner for OTA HD.

Look in the tv settings to be sure you have HDMI setup to do video and audio. Likewise look for a similar setting in the receiver for the HDMI out.
the tosh link somehow got disconected.

plugged it back in and I have the audio. thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #34 of 34 Old 07-28-2014, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I'm curious what you Guy's have you'r settings for
when the PC sleeps in minutes.

The three times I tested my sleep was for one minute recordings PC was put asleep 15 minutes pryor to recording PC woke up and PC right after recording immediately went to sleep. (this is the way it has always sleep)

I maynot have completely resolved this sleep issue

because Monday morning the last scheduled recording was to end at 2:00am at around 2:20am the PC was still on.

I have the when the PC is set to sleep set at 30minutes (which is defualt) so if the issue is resolved would it have sleep at 2:30am?

and why did my three tests put the PC to sleep
immediately after recording?


Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off