Thoughts on today's Shell Shocker for an HTPC - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
You might start doing the piece by piece upgrade thing as deals come up. That's what I did. New SSD here when the really nice big one is super cheap. Then perhaps a MOBO+CPU combo when the deal is right, then perhaps grab an amazing deal on faster ram when it happens. Reuse your PSU and case for now, grab an upgrade if you want it when you find a deal.
That's how I do it. I get in on the deals.

The whole science behind the deals is that they would offer a piece of equipment at a great price hoping that you, while purchasing that particular item, realize that you need other parts, and just buy them.
Mfusick likes this.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
For mobo I like the Asrock and Asus stuff. Z97. The Z series boards give you a lot of value besides overclocking (prob not use that). They have Intel LAN, extra sata ports. Next generation sata express. More PCI lanes. HDMI in and pass through. Better fan speed controller to control temps and noise. Extra fan headers for case fans, two fan CPU coolers etc... Some have wireless AC and Bluetooth, come with cloud storage, free remote access and control via splashtop. For the same cost the Z chip like an extreme 3 or 4 or 6 is the way to go IMO. They restart in like a second too. Really quick.
Drool.
leebo is offline  
post #33 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by leebo View Post
Drool.
Haha. Yup. That's the thing. PC tech always gets better. My Z87 + 4770K i7 are no longer current Neither is my 3570k i5 on Z77 in my HTPC Neither is my 2600k i7 on Z77 in my Flexraid server

Z97 and 4790k "Devils Canyon" are the boss now.

Soon X99 will be here and crap in it's mouth too.

Such is the way of PC hardware.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #34 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
josrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Way over powered for what you want to do with. My 10w J1900 box can do all that. But the price is good.
Foxbat121, please tell me more about you system. Are you using CC tuners? I am considering a J1900 MB for DVR duties with an InfiniTV4 and maybe a Duet as well. We usually use 1 extender at a time w/all playback on extenders.
TIA

Not trying to hijack the thread. Just looking for real world Experience with the J1900 MB.
josrq is offline  
post #35 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 10:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Cool! Drop some links or post the exact model numbers of the parts your talking about. I think that the i5 should be able to do everything I need here. Mayby I'll upgrade my desktop with the i7..
http://www.microcenter.com/site/bran...r-bundles.aspx

There you go!

The Asrock Extreme 4 mobo bundle with either the i7 (4790k) or i5(4690k) are winners IMO. $384 with the i7. (newegg sells the CPU alone for $320) [or the i5 for $305]

You can change motherboards in the store and get the same level discount. So take a look at the Extreme3 if you want to save a couple bucks, or perhaps the Extreme6 if you want to step up even more.

You could go all the way and get the extreme11. That little fawcker isn't fooling around. Probably overkill though, even for me.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #36 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...l%209%20Series

You can browse motherboards and see if there is something specific you might want. Extreme4 is often a good blend of cost and performance and features.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #37 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by josrq View Post
Foxbat121, please tell me more about you system. Are you using CC tuners? I am considering a J1900 MB for DVR duties with an InfiniTV4 and maybe a Duet as well. We usually use 1 extender at a time w/all playback on extenders.
TIA

Not trying to hijack the thread. Just looking for real world Experience with the J1900 MB.
You can see it all in this thread Anyone used the new Bay Trail-D chips as a Windows Media Center box?

I'm using a Silicondust HDHR Prime CableCard tuner + a HDHR Dual QAM tuner. That's 3 CC and 2 QAM tuners.
Dark_Slayer likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #38 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
How many extenders are you using?
Sammy2 is offline  
post #39 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 231
4: 3 Xbox 360s and one Echo.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #40 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by josrq View Post
I am considering a J1900 MB for DVR duties with an InfiniTV4 and maybe a Duet as well.
Forgot mention that these MBs typically only has 1 PCIe x1 slot. So, you'd better be using external turners.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #41 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
How about this?

When's this sale end? I'm going to be near MicroCenter today as a matter of fact.

Last edited by Sammy2; 07-25-2014 at 11:16 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #42 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
You can see it all in this thread Anyone used the new Bay Trail-D chips as a Windows Media Center box?

I'm using a Silicondust HDHR Prime CableCard tuner + a HDHR Dual QAM tuner. That's 3 CC and 2 QAM tuners.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
4: 3 Xbox 360s and one Echo.
That's not slacking at all!

Does that HTPC serve as a front end unit too? Mine does and is connected to the main HT.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #43 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
That link brings me to an empty shopping cart

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #44 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
That link brings me to an empty shopping cart
i5 4690 and Extreme 4 for $305 and then a $15 rebate on the MoBo.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #45 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Yeah that is what I was talking about! $290 you get something that's better than what an i3+H series mobo from newegg would cost you.

That 4690 is no joke. It's got huge balls. Compare it to the i5-650 you have now (which is faster than the i3-550)



vs.




That is a noticeable upgrade and worthy IMO ^

But then again the amount of ASS that the Devil's Canyon kicks actually probably makes it a better "value" for the $80:



http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?....00GHz&id=2275

That's a lot of ass it's kicking for the price. But overkill is overkill and that CPU is overkill. Tempting though. It would likely last you many years with competitive viability though, which is a value unto itself. $80 more is attractive considering it doesn't use more power, and includes hyperthreading.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	65
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	180090   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	65
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	180098   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	67
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	180106  

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #46 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
Yeah that is what I was talking about! $290 you get something that's better than what an i3+H series mobo from newegg would cost you.

That 4690 is no joke. It's got huge balls. Compare it to the i5-650 you have now (which is faster than the i3-550)



vs.




That is a noticeable upgrade and worthy IMO ^

But then again the amount of ASS that the Devil's Canyon kicks actually probably makes it a better "value" for the $80:



http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?....00GHz&id=2275

That's a lot of ass it's kicking for the price. But overkill is overkill and that CPU is overkill. Tempting though. It would likely last you many years with competitive viability though, which is a value unto itself. $80 more is attractive considering it doesn't use more power, and includes hyperthreading.
Will it work with the same MoBo?

And I can ditch my Radian HD 7850 with this? I do 3D occasionally.

I suppose I need some new RAM too. Suggestions?

Last edited by Sammy2; 07-25-2014 at 11:52 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #47 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:53 AM
Member
 
josrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Forgot mention that these MBs typically only has 1 PCIe x1 slot. So, you'd better be using external turners.
Foxbat121, Thanks for link to the other thread. I was planing to use a uATX board. here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157513
josrq is offline  
post #48 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Does that HTPC serve as a front end unit too? Mine does and is connected to the main HT.

No. It is a headless DVR. But I did test it running all 4 extenders plus desktop WMC session (that is 5 WMC sessions total) when I setup. No problem.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #49 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Will it work with the same MoBo?

And I can ditch my Radian HD 7850 with this? I do 3D occasionally.

I suppose I need some new RAM too. Suggestions?
The socket 1150 stuff will all use the same motherboard, but you want a 9th generation for the new stuff (Z97 or H97 instead of Z87 or H87) since it does seem that the 97 series is much improved and "better".

You can't use your existing mobo with these new chips, you need to use the proper socket.

LGA775<LGA1366<LGA1155<LGA1050. You can't mix very modern socket 1150 CPU with older chipset motherboards, they are not compatible.

But yes, the same motherboard works with both the 4690k and 4790k. These are basically the top model i5 and i7 chips available right now, the "K" series indicates enthusiast grade parts, meaning higher clock speeds and unlocked multipliers. The i7 comes stock with a 4.0ghz clock speed, (you can overclock it for more) which is really quite a performance boost over the 3.5ghz parts that are non "K" or older generations of i7.

I would keep the 7850 card perhaps. It's more powerful than the iGPU in these. You can turn off the GPU card when not using it and save power on these new chipsets anyways, basically use the igpu unless you need the extra horsepower for madvr or gaming or whatever.

Both of these CPU will do 3D with the iGPU if you needed it though.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #50 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 12:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
You can use the same DDR3 ram if you have some. DDR3 1066/1333/1600/1866/2133/2400/2800 all works great in these motherboards. The faster the better, but if you have some use it for now, and upgrade when you find a great deal.

2400mhz is a great choice if you are buying today. I like to try to snag a deal on RAM when I get it. It just makes me feel good.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #51 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
And new RAM?

I'll be picking up the i5 combo today though. I can look for deals on RAM in the mean time. I'll go with 8 Gig which should be fine.
Mfusick likes this.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #52 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
See my above post

When you get ram get 2400mhz or higher. You don't want to handicap those awesome CPU too much. You getting SSD upgrade too ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #53 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
You know about M.2 ports or SATA EXPRESS ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #54 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
You know about M.2 ports or SATA EXPRESS ?
No. Before you know it. You'll have me buying a whole new system!

Sounds like I can use it as the front end and a MB3 server.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #55 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Well when you are ready for an upgrade on your SSD that would go nice with this system, you'll feel the difference with something like a Sammy 850 PRO. But not urgent. Just an "upgrade"

Yes.. it could function for both easily.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #56 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
What's a good price on that RAM these days? If it's close at MicroCenter I'll just get it.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #57 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Microcenter ram usually sucks. I like the deals newegg does on the Gkill trident X.

corsair isn't bad, but the crucial stuff is often subpar. I've had the most bad sticks with crucial, especially anytime I went high end with crucial. They are always a little off the game, and in contrast I've never done an RMA on G.skill. Mushkin ram I've had good luck with too. I usually try to catch a deal, like an egg saver or shell shocker, or one of the coupon codes. Tomorrow might be good, newegg usually does a weekend ram special email blast. Or check slick deals or Saviry app on your phone. They are good about posting up the deals.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #58 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Thank you. On my way to MicroCenter now..

I'll keep my eye open for RAM. Do you have a link to what I should get?
Sammy2 is offline  
post #59 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I got the Gigabyte Z97 Gaming 5 board because I needed an M ATX board. After MiR it's the same price.

Last edited by Sammy2; 07-25-2014 at 06:26 PM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #60 of 72 Old 07-26-2014, 04:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,061
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 855
Sa-wEEET!

Congrats. Let me know what you think.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off