Thoughts on today's Shell Shocker for an HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Thoughts on today's Shell Shocker for an HTPC

Linky

This will be used to power 4 or 5 WMC extenders as well as a few Rokus. I'll probably put it in my existing case.

Thoughts?
Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Way over powered for what you want to do with. My 10w J1900 box can do all that. But the price is good.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Currently I have an i3-550 Clarkdale that'll do 2 extenders but I'm getting ready to expand my setup because the new lady in my life wants a TV in every room and I figured what the heck I want one in the outdoor kitchen too in the new to us home we're buying. I think I need dome power to do that and still use the HTPC in the Family Room HT.

Next up: installing ethernet network infrastructure. That's going to be fun!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Way too much power consumption for an appliance.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #5 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SoCal
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm no expert but I've been doing a considerable amount of reading recently and I would swap out that PSU for a 80+ unit.
Tesshin is offline  
post #6 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Roku requires transcoding if the video codec is not AVC. FX-6300 should be able to handle multiple instances of transcoding. Power consumption is high (150-200W) under load. You will want to add a good CPU cooler. Single channel memory (1 x 8GB) does not seem good. If you want to use it as a video playback system too, you will need to add a good graphics card, of course.

Last edited by renethx; 07-24-2014 at 09:31 AM.
renethx is offline  
post #7 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I have this video card..

XFX Core Edition FX-785A-ZNL4 Radeon HD 7850 1GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
OK, the deal ends in an hour but the egg usually extends them all day.

That said, it seems that the single channel memory might be something to avoid.

I suppose I should start a new thread, but what's being used these days for HTPC's? I can continue to do the transcoding for MB3 Server on my desktop which is an i5-650 but if I'm upgrading the HTPC I might as well get it to do it all for me and leave the desktop for other purposes.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
We have an older sibling to this processor, AMD Phenom II X6, and it was a much needed upgrade from the X4 when we expanded to 6 TV's.

Ours is on AMD 765 chip, I believe. The one with on-board Radeon 4250. You will need a discreet GPU if you plan on connecting using HDMI, or have copyright protected content.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #10 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Way over powered for what you want to do with. My 10w J1900 box can do all that. But the price is good.

I am highly skeptical on the J1900 able to drive 5 extenders without hampering end user experience.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #11 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
OK, the deal ends in an hour but the egg usually extends them all day.

That said, it seems that the single channel memory might be something to avoid.

I suppose I should start a new thread, but what's being used these days for HTPC's? I can continue to do the transcoding for MB3 Server on my desktop which is an i5-650 but if I'm upgrading the HTPC I might as well get it to do it all for me and leave the desktop for other purposes.

The motherboard, from the specs, supports dual channel. You'd just have to add another stick of RAM if you really felt that you needed dual channel for what you plan on doing with it.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #12 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Linky

This will be used to power 4 or 5 WMC extenders as well as a few Rokus. I'll probably put it in my existing case.

Thoughts?
Sammy, would you post a few details about the item? As of 10am PT, that linky takes you to an i5 Macbook Air (laptop). I don't think that's what you're talking about, right?
leebo is online now  
post #13 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 11:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueiedgod View Post
I am highly skeptical on the J1900 able to drive 5 extenders without hampering end user experience.


I have tested all 4 extenders plus desktop WMC session that totals around 55% CPU usage. No problem with end user experience at all.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #14 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
OK, the deal ends in an hour but the egg usually extends them all day.

That said, it seems that the single channel memory might be something to avoid.

I suppose I should start a new thread, but what's being used these days for HTPC's? I can continue to do the transcoding for MB3 Server on my desktop which is an i5-650 but if I'm upgrading the HTPC I might as well get it to do it all for me and leave the desktop for other purposes.
If you're upgrading the HTPC, why consider this shellshocker? You already have a case, power supply, SSD, memory and drives.

I would get an I5 Haswell CPU and Motherboard

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #15 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by leebo View Post
Sammy, would you post a few details about the item? As of 10am PT, that linky takes you to an i5 Macbook Air (laptop). I don't think that's what you're talking about, right?
Direct Linky

Sammy2 is offline  
post #16 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post
If you're upgrading the HTPC, why consider this shellshocker? You already have a case, power supply, SSD, memory and drives.

I would get an I5 Haswell CPU and Motherboard
Good point. How much do you figure that would be? Any MoBo suggestions?

Of course I'd get more RAM as I'm only x86 right now with 2x2Gb and will go x64 with 2x4Gb or 1x8Gb on this upgrade too.


Last edited by Sammy2; 07-24-2014 at 12:08 PM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #17 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Thanks.

I have that cpu, with a diffrent MB. I think I paid about $180 for both at NE, about 5 months ago. My feeling is that you can get a similiar price almost any time.

Can't say if it will fit your needs though. I put it in my desktop and use it for encoding and every day duties. It's nice, but I still have Mfusick envy. It might do the job, but don't expect it to wow you.

It replaced an AMD Phenom X4 945, which is now in my server. That chip, along with 8Gb memory, feeds two pc's and an Xbox, though only ever two of them at any time.


If you're planning on setting up a whole house media network, and willing to do the work of wiring the entire house, you might consider a better processor and MB, just to get more life b4 needing to upgrade again. Unless you need another SSD, 1Tb HDD, PSU and case. How much more $ would it take to get an i5?
leebo is online now  
post #18 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
The 7200rpm Hitachi 4TB drive coming up looks interesting. Anyone know the price yet ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #19 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
The 7200rpm Hitachi 4TB drive coming up looks interesting. Anyone know the price yet ?
When I saw you had posted in here, I hoped you had something to say about CPU/MoBo hardware for me to look at! LOL! Any recommendations? I'm out of the loop
Spoiler!
I haven't really considered a new build in a long time.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #20 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
When I saw you had posted in here, I hoped you had something to say about CPU/MoBo hardware for me to look at! LOL! Any recommendations? I'm out of the loop
Spoiler!
I haven't really considered a new build in a long time.
I see. Just because you start a new thread, you think it's all about you! Typical.

Not sent from a browser. Keep it to yourself though.
Sammy2 likes this.
leebo is online now  
post #21 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
When I saw you had posted in here, I hoped you had something to say about CPU/MoBo hardware for me to look at! LOL! Any recommendations? I'm out of the loop
Spoiler!
I haven't really considered a new build in a long time.
Haha. Sorry.

My advice is get exactly what you want. Shell shocker is nice, but if the build is not ideal then it's not worth it. Considering I know you are a veteran and would use this, spending another $20 for something that might prove better isn't a big deal in the long run.

I've jumped on a lot of HTPC deals over the last couple years (and had fun doing it) but the more mature I get with this stuff the more I realize the value in just doing it right the first time and not compromising.

I'd suggest taking a moment to clearly outline what you want, and your goals and objective of the new build. make a "like" and must have list perhaps. If this shell shocker aligns perfectly with that, then I'd say for for it. But if it's not then don't be afraid to chase it piece by piece. You'll spend more, but you probably will be happier in the long run. What's wrong with your current HTPC ? It's not that weak or outdated yet.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #22 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
You might start doing the piece by piece upgrade thing as deals come up. That's what I did. New SSD here when the really nice big one is super cheap. Then perhaps a MOBO+CPU combo when the deal is right, then perhaps grab an amazing deal on faster ram when it happens. Reuse your PSU and case for now, grab an upgrade if you want it when you find a deal.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #23 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
You might start doing the piece by piece upgrade thing as deals come up. That's what I did. New SSD here when the really nice big one is super cheap. Then perhaps a MOBO+CPU combo when the deal is right, then perhaps grab an amazing deal on faster ram when it happens. Reuse your PSU and case for now, grab an upgrade if you want it when you find a deal.
My biggest concern is pushing 4 or 5 extenders in addition to the HTPC being connected to the main AVR/TV. I'm also concerned maybe about transcoding for the Rokus BUT I currently use my i5-650 for that and can continue to do that.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #24 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 03:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
You want a Haswell i5 I think.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #25 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Any suggestions on a Haswell i5 and associated MoBo part numbers?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #26 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Can you do microcenter ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #27 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
They are about 20 miles from me in Costa Mesa, CA. Mind you 20 miles takes an hour in these parts
Sammy2 is offline  
post #28 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Well if you can do the i5 or i7 combo you effectively get better chip and board for same cost. The i5 k chip is $199 but you also get $40 off a Z97 motherboard and the total cost is as cheap or cheaper than a lower i5 and H board from newegg.

The i7 is $80 more. The new i7 is called "devils canyon" and it features improved thermal material inside the chip and come stock clocked at 4.0ghz x 4 cores, plus hyper threading. The little bastard runs like 11,500 passmark scores stock.

Either is a great choice. Plenty of horsepower for today and tomorrow, and super efficient. They will cruise around at 800mhz and use a lot less power than your current set up. They draw so little power at idle that they don't work with some power supplies because of it.

4690k or 4790k. Perfect frame rates with Haswell and no 24p bug either. IGPU with an overclock and fast ram should even run MadVR on film. There's a hack now to get 0-255 with them as well.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #29 of 72 Old 07-24-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
For mobo I like the Asrock and Asus stuff. Z97. The Z series boards give you a lot of value besides overclocking (prob not use that). They have Intel LAN, extra sata ports. Next generation sata express. More PCI lanes. HDMI in and pass through. Better fan speed controller to control temps and noise. Extra fan headers for case fans, two fan CPU coolers etc... Some have wireless AC and Bluetooth, come with cloud storage, free remote access and control via splashtop. For the same cost the Z chip like an extreme 3 or 4 or 6 is the way to go IMO. They restart in like a second too. Really quick.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #30 of 72 Old 07-25-2014, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Cool! Drop some links or post the exact model numbers of the parts your talking about. I think that the i5 should be able to do everything I need here. Mayby I'll upgrade my desktop with the i7..
Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off