Noob questions about laptop for my first mediacenter/tv recorder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2014, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Noob questions about laptop for my first mediacenter/tv recorder

Hi, I want a htpc able to play various files and record from tv, nothing on wireless and everything for only one tv and I don't think I'll have it connected to internet. I would prefer if possible to continue using only my tv remote (my tv has Anynet+ by the way).




I'm a very cautious buyers and I did some research, but I still need some clarifications:


1. I have an antenna in my tv recorder (about to dying), and a coax cable from here to the tv, but if I remove the power cable from the recorder (power, not the coax) the tv (capable of getting digital terrestrial signal on its own) loses the signal, therefore if I buy a pc, must this always stay turned on to simply watch live tv? I wouldn't want that..isn't there a way to let the tv use its own internal decoder?


2. For starting a scheduled recording is possible to make the pc starts on its own? At least from stand by, if not hybernation (wake on lan?).


3. If I connect antenna only to tv, is there a way to make the pc take the signal via HDMI or other cable?


4. Is possible to record while watching another previous rec? And to watch something in XBMC or MPC-HC while recording?


5. If I buy a tv tuner card will I be able to command it with my tv remote?


6. I want to control the pc not only for XBMC and Windows Media Center but for MPC-HC too, and I saw Flirc which seems appropriate, is there anything better or maybe this is actually useless?


7. I read with HDMI-CEC adapter I will be able to turn on and off tv and pc with a single key; is this still possible with Flirc?


8. Is there a way/addon to create chapters/bookmarks on the fly during your vision, which will be remembered after closing the pc?




If someone doesn't have all the answers feel free to post anyway, I'll be glad, thank you.
a8213711 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2014, 02:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Also I have one more question:
can all of this work if I leave the laptop always closed? Should I leave it opened when recording or watching dvds? (I never had a laptop)
a8213711 is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
YES, it must always be on to even watch LiveTV... period. Next issue.
a8213711 likes this.
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Also I have one more question:
can all of this work if I leave the laptop always closed? Should I leave it opened when recording or watching dvds? (I never had a laptop)

typically, a laptop will go into standby when lid closed. You will have to configure your system to not standby when lid closed. Otherwise, it is the same as desktop with the exception that laptops are not designed to operate thermo efficiently as desktop. Leave it on for a long time could cause overheat.
a8213711 likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 153
1 You need a coax splitter so each device has it's own signal. Sounds like you are currently using some sort of pass-through.

2 Scheduled recordings will wake from standby. (wake on event)

3 NO

4 Yes

5 You would have to have a learning remote

6 Most of us use a Media Center IR and a universal remote

7 Not familiar with Flirc.

8 Most software will have a resume feature. I'm not sure about bookmarks

You can run a laptop with the lid closed. Mine will run a little bit cooler with the lid open.
a8213711 likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you!
One more : is 7200RPM in the HD needed for watching a file stored in the HD (or a previoulsy recording) while recording another program? (I don't think I'll record in HD)
a8213711 is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Thank you!
One more : is 7200RPM in the HD needed for watching a file stored in the HD (or a previoulsy recording) while recording another program? (I don't think I'll record in HD)
No, 5400 is fine for multiple HD recordings
a8213711 likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 153
BTW You will want internet connection for guide updates.

Andy_Steb is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Another one, please!
If I use a splitter can I use a tv mono tuner and still be able to see live one channel (antenna on tv) while recording another one (antenna on tuner on pc)?
Or should I necessarily use a dual tuner?
Sorry for my ignorance.

As for guide updates I think I'll do it all manually
a8213711 is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 08:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Which ever way works best for you. It doesn't really matters. Just make sure you still have enough signal strength after using a splitter (which typically adds addition -3.5db loss in signal strength).

But once you get used to DVR, you will not like the DVRless live TV because you can't pause or rewind. A modern PC can easily handle 4 to 6 tuners. So, why not invest in a dual tuner so that you can either record multiple shows at the same time or record one and watch another show with live TV buffering for you to pause and rewind.
a8213711 likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 153
You can use a single tuner for what you are trying to do. But the quality of the tuner may be sacrificed with a single unit.

I would go with a network HD Homerun over a USB type tuner even if I didn't need the extra tuner just because of the quality and sensitivity of the tuners.
a8213711 likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off