Low Voltage / Ethernet Contractors in SoCal - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-29-2014, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Low Voltage / Ethernet Contractors in SoCal

So that's the question. I'm moving into a new to us house next week and want to get the ethernet installed stat so I'm looking for suggestions on people to do this for me. I can physically do it but I don't have the time to do it.

Should I go with MoCA or Powerline??

Any suggestions?
Thanks.

Sammy2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-29-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
So that's the question. I'm moving into a new to us house next week and want to get the ethernet installed stat so I'm looking for suggestions on people to do this for me. I can physically do it but I don't have the time to do it.

Should I go with MoCA or Powerline??

Any suggestions?
Thanks.
I use Powerline and love it. Just plug in the adapters and off you go. The next gen of Powerline - Gigabit speed w/MIMO - hits around the holiday season so you might want to just wait to invest in it when that is available and stick with a high-end wireless router for now.
LexInVA is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-29-2014, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
So that's the question. I'm moving into a new to us house next week and want to get the ethernet installed stat so I'm looking for suggestions on people to do this for me. I can physically do it but I don't have the time to do it.

Should I go with MoCA or Powerline??

Any suggestions?
Thanks.
I went with MoCa a little over a year ago, and I'm stuck with 10Mbps transfers. I've been thinking about running an Ethernet cable into my converted garage room, but not looking forward to crawling under the house.
leebo is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-29-2014, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
NNate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Cutting holes in your walls is fun. Covering them back up again is another story, however...
NNate is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-29-2014, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Aryn Ravenlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by NNate View Post
Cutting holes in your walls is fun. Covering them back up again is another story, however...
This is why I invariably wind up paying someone else to do it.
Aryn Ravenlocke is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-29-2014, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by NNate View Post
Cutting holes in your walls is fun. Covering them back up again is another story, however...
YouTube can be your friend.
leebo is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-30-2014, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
NNate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've done it many times. It's just much more time consuming to cover the hole and repaint than the minute it takes to cut it open.
NNate is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-30-2014, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Well, I know how to do it, I did it on the house I'm moving out of.

This time however, it is a matter of having the time to do it, not the expertise.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-30-2014, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Having wired 2 houses, so far, you only to cut a hole for the low voltage box and wall plate, and just fish the wires through the wall from basement or attic.

I think I only had to cut additional holes when I was installing recessed lights where there were none, and rafters ran perpendicular to the room.

If you are planning on having the interior painted, which is what most people do when they move into new to them house, you will already have the paint that will match, should you decide to wire it after you paint.

I really hate how cable TV installers either run the coax along the moldings or drill a hole to the outside to run the wire to another floor/room. They almost never seal it with caulking. So, if you were to do it, then run coax and at least 2 Ethernet wires (one can be used for phone) to each location. For bigger rooms place 2 locations on the opposite sides of each other, future proofing any future re-arrangements.

For a 3,000 ft² colonial figure a good part of a 2 day weekend to wire it completely. Less time for a smaller house or a ranch.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-30-2014, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Good advice. The paint in this home is in really good shape so we aren't planning on re-painting right away but this may accelerate that project.

It is a two-story California Tuscan/Mission style home. The bedrooms upstairs should be a piece of cake for the most part but the Family Room, Kitchen and outside covered patio/BBQ by the pool will be a little bit more of a consideration as to routing of cables.

Sammy2 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off