My HTPC MB died.. need new AM2 socket micro ATX MB, suggestions plz.. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HTPC MB died.. need new AM2 socket micro ATX MB, suggestions plz..

Hi all,

The microATX motherboard on my HTPC just died (was almost 6 years old), and if possible, I would like to replace it but avoid buying new ram and CPU.

My old MB was the Asus M3N78-VM. It has an AM2 CPU slot.

My CPU is:
AMD Phenom X4 9850 Quad-Core AM2 Socket 2.50GHz 4MB 125W Processor

RAM:
8gb ADATA PC2-6400 800mhz NON-ECC DDR2 Ram AD2800002GMU

Please lmk if it's possible, or if I am better off buying new components. Thanks!
killabee44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 10:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
There are lots of AM2+ microATX mb at ebay. GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H used to be one of the most popular ones.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
vcrpro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 14
FM2 has been around six years????? sheesh-senility is setting in...Anyhow Asrock makes some good boards also..the principals behind Asrock were founders of Asus...

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
There are lots of AM2+ microATX mb at ebay. GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H used to be one of the most popular ones.
vcrpro3 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcrpro3 View Post
FM2 has been around six years?
FM1/2 is the socket for AMD Fusion (later called APU), since 2011.
renethx is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
vcrpro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 14
See how that senility thing works?? I thought it SAID FM2...........
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
FM1/2 is the socket for AMD Fusion (later called APU), since 2011.
vcrpro3 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-03-2014, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
There are lots of AM2+ microATX mb at ebay. GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H used to be one of the most popular ones.
You're right. There are many AM2+ boards. Any other model numbers that you guys think would be good for an HTPC?

Thanks.
killabee44 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-04-2014, 03:31 AM
Senior Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Personally I wouldn't try to rebuild that. You could get a baytrail J1900 that performs about the same but consumes 1/5th of the power. Most of them are fanless as well.

Sure it sucks having to buy new ram but 6 years is what I call getting your monies worth. Do you actually need 8GB for extenders or other use? If not go with 4GB.

Last edited by ikkuranus; 08-04-2014 at 04:29 AM.
ikkuranus is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-04-2014, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
NNate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikkuranus View Post
Personally I wouldn't try to rebuild that. You could get a baytrail J1900 that performs about the same but consumes 1/5th of the power. Most of them are fanless as well.

Sure it sucks having to buy new ram but 6 years is what I call getting your monies worth. Do you actually need 8GB for extenders or other use? If not go with 4GB.
I'd second this. You're better off just replacing the Mobo/CPU when your system is that old. The price for an old replacement mobo may be nearly as expensive as a more modern board.

J1900 would be a nice choice - $75 for the mobo/cpu combo.
NNate is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-04-2014, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well guys, it looks like I was wrong about the MB kicking the bucket. I took a picture and zoomed in. Noticed that some heatsink thermal paste had melted onto the MB from a broken heatsink. It looked toasted.

After cleaning off the burned thermal paste with alcohol, getting a hold of some new plastic anchor screws like the ones it came with from an old mb I sitill had, then resetting the heatsink properly.... it ACTUALLY BOOTED UP!

It's been up for almost a day with no problems. I have rebooted several times and no issues.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ikkuranus View Post
Personally I wouldn't try to rebuild that. You could get a baytrail J1900 that performs about the same but consumes 1/5th of the power. Most of them are fanless as well.

Sure it sucks having to buy new ram but 6 years is what I call getting your monies worth. Do you actually need 8GB for extenders or other use? If not go with 4GB.
Thanks for the advice. I know, I really got my moneys worth. And it looks like Ill get a little more yet lol. The more I thought about it, I was coming to the same conclusion. That the MB was gonna cost too much for such an old board.

But I am gonna start saving for a new system. Can you recommend a system like the Baytrail j1900 but a little more high end?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NNate View Post
I'd second this. You're better off just replacing the Mobo/CPU when your system is that old. The price for an old replacement mobo may be nearly as expensive as a more modern board.

J1900 would be a nice choice - $75 for the mobo/cpu combo.
Yup. Agreed. Any other suggestions for a system a little more high end than the one you guys mentioned? I like the idea of fanless. Thanks!

Last edited by killabee44; 08-04-2014 at 06:22 PM.
killabee44 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off