How to resume play with media player classic HC’s - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
How to resume play with media player classic HC’s

How to resume play with media player classic HC’s



I recently ripped a couple of DVD to HDD and trying to playback w/ the HTPC.



I started w/ VLC then found out there’s no resume play (like if I’m watching a DVD then stop it I expect to resume play where I left off).



I searched a little and found the media player classic home cinemahas the resume play

I just can’t figure out how it works.
this did'nt work
I think the feature you are describing already exists. Go in Options > Player and check "Remember File/DVD position". Is that what you want?



Also how do you Guy’s categorize the DVDs?

I'm using my D:\ drive for the ripped DVDs
copy the TS file and paste it to a folder w/ the DVDs name I see one file.

when I look in video libray for same dvd I see nine files looks like four chapters of the DVD then two orange cones, two text files windows can't open and dvd name, space used, type of disc. ect.

is it possiable to have just one DVD icon or am I reduced to one folder(these are homemade dvds)?

edit when I try to right click the DVD I want to choose which media player to playback on I only see VLC, windows media player I don't have the option of using media player classic home cieana, I have to open MPC-HC from desktop then open file. is VLC the defualt player and needs to be downgraded or completely removed?


Thanks for any tips

STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700

Last edited by stevethebrain; 08-04-2014 at 06:32 AM.
stevethebrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-04-2014, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
no one here using media player classic HC

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-05-2014, 07:12 PM
Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You simply need to change MPCHC to the default player. Sounds like you currently have VLC set as default.

Right click, "open with", select mpchc and ensure "always use the selected program..." is ticked

You can also set mpchc as the default from within the mpchc config.

...or the default Windows config (which applies to all programs/file types)> http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...#1TC=windows-7
Krispy Kritter is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-09-2014, 05:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
OK I'll set MPC-HC to the defualt
thanks for the link.

However even when I use MPC-HC from the DT Icon I still can't figure out,
How to resume play with media player classic HC’s


I have all the (that I’ve read about) options checked.

Remember file position

Remember the DVD position

Remember the last window position



Also is there a way to not to constantly resize the view tofull screen?

Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700

Last edited by stevethebrain; 08-09-2014 at 05:15 AM.
stevethebrain is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-09-2014, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 165
MPC-HC will only save so many restore points (up to 40 I think?). After playing a bunch of videos you will lose the older ones. I believe there is a way to edit this in the system files somehow, but it can cause slowness/instability in the software.
StinDaWg is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-16-2014, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I would like to press stop play and expect MPC to resumehowever it always restarts the program.



When I press exit from a playing program it actually doe’sresume this is inconvenient because I then then have to

Open file

View

Full screen.



Couple more ?s on MPC-HC

1.is it possible to avoid constantly resizing screen back upto full size?



2.the DVDs I’ve ripped usually have multiply chapters andMPC doesn’t automatically start the next chapter so I have to think well whatchapter did I just watch (I didn’t observe any highlighted chapter so I wouldknow what was just watched).

Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off