Converting Digital to Analog for Zone 2 on Receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-05-2014, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Crotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Converting Digital to Analog for Zone 2 on Receiver

I'm trying to convert my digital (HDMI) audio signal to analog so that I can play it through Zone 2 on my Denon AVR-1713. I'm wondering if I could use something as simple as:
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_142LOC8...0.html?tp=2001

and split the signal from my front L/R and loop it back into analog for zone 2. Would this work? Do you think there would be a time delay?
Crotia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-05-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 386
The line level converter shouldn't introduce any delay as it is a passive component. I don't see why it wouldn't work. If there is a delay it would have been introduced by the receiver, and even if there is, would it be discernible in Zone 2? (ie is Zone2 somehow getting video that needs to be synced with the audio or are the two zones in close enough proximity that it will cause an Echo between the two?)

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-25-2014, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Crotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post
The line level converter shouldn't introduce any delay as it is a passive component. I don't see why it wouldn't work. If there is a delay it would have been introduced by the receiver, and even if there is, would it be discernible in Zone 2? (ie is Zone2 somehow getting video that needs to be synced with the audio or are the two zones in close enough proximity that it will cause an Echo between the two?)
Zone 2 is my kitchen area which is adjacent to my TV area, so you can definitely notice the delay - especially if its severe. Upon further consideration, if I connect the F L/R speakers to the zone 2 inputs, I will probably get almost no voices when watching TV in zone 2 since most will come out of the center channel.
Crotia is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-25-2014, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crotia View Post
Zone 2 is my kitchen area which is adjacent to my TV area, so you can definitely notice the delay - especially if its severe. Upon further consideration, if I connect the F L/R speakers to the zone 2 inputs, I will probably get almost no voices when watching TV in zone 2 since most will come out of the center channel.
If you feel ambitious with a fairly basic electronics project, you should be able to keep discrete left and right channels and also combine the center with both L&R to get better results. a 3rd converter to line level and a couple of line level isolation transformers should do the trick.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-27-2014, 02:26 PM
Member
 
SD Vidiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is your source? All of my components (BluRay player, AppleTV, STB) all have both digital and analog output ports which are both hot at the same time. I've just hooked them up in parallel and can use the analog feature of my Zone 2 in my Pioneer receiver.

HB


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Howie: "I think my screen may be TOO big."
Norm: "Screens are like breast implants..."
SD Vidiot is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-09-2014, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Crotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post
If you feel ambitious with a fairly basic electronics project, you should be able to keep discrete left and right channels and also combine the center with both L&R to get better results. a 3rd converter to line level and a couple of line level isolation transformers should do the trick.
This sounds interesting - do you have any idea where I can start figuring out how to do this?
Crotia is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-09-2014, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crotia View Post
This sounds interesting - do you have any idea where I can start figuring out how to do this?
The first few schematics I dug up were sans iso transformers, but the net result should be the same.

http://www.rane.com/note109.html

What you're effective looking for is a pair of stereo to mono summing circuits...

The 1st should sum the line level Left and Center channels, and the the 2nd should sum Right and Center channels.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-11-2014, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I don't think I understand why you need to do this.... I thought that receiver was able to output a digital input to zone 2 as long as it was the zone 1 selected input? I wouldn't recommend looping the channels back into the receiver through a line-level converter, for many reasons. Beyond the problems with loosing channel information, it links the two zone's volumes.

That said, if your receiver doesn't downmix the zone 1 digital input to zone 2 by itself, I'd recommend plugging the analog outputs of your zone 1 sources into the receiver. It's a pain, but it's the best way to do it.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-11-2014, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
it links the two zone's volumes.
That hadn't occurred to me. Good point.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off