Harvesting an ITX MoBo and i5 2300 for a new build. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Sammy2
  • 1 Post By Mrkazador
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-15-2014, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Harvesting an ITX MoBo and i5 2300 for a new build.

So I'm about to scrap my until now trusty i3-550.

I have this bare bones not being used. It has the i5 2300 indicated in the title on a Micro ITX board. I'm thinking of harvesting it and putting it in my current HTPC case. I can see the CPU cooler won't fit. I'll be adding my HD7850 GPU too.

Can I use the CPU cooler from my i3?

Is this board adequate for HTPC?

Thoughts?

Last edited by Sammy2; 08-18-2014 at 12:52 PM.
Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-15-2014, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Nothing?
Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-15-2014, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Nodscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Don't see why you would need a faster processor in your HTPC unless you are using it for gaming or something else, your current processor is more than enough for that duty. If you are currently having issues with streaming stuff then I'd be looking at the OS or network first.

Make something idiot-proof, and they will build a better idiot
Nodscene is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-16-2014, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I believe that the MoBo is shot in my current HTPC so I'm looking at possible no cost solutions to fix it..

HTPC Fails to POST
Mfusick likes this.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-16-2014, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267
The i3-550 is socket 1156 and the i5 2300 is 1155, both use the same spacing for the heatsink so it will fit.
Mfusick likes this.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-16-2014, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I'm moving the i5 into my existing case. It appears that it will fit.

Last edited by Sammy2; 08-17-2014 at 07:11 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-17-2014, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Any further thoughts on the MoBo for HTPC use with my GPU indicated above?
Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-18-2014, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
It should work fine. Did you have a specific concern ?

H67 motherboard right ? With a 2300 i5 ? Should work great. Obviously it should fit fine. Use the normal intel cooler from the old HTPC if you must. Just test it works and that is not what was wrong with the old one

If you had to buy a $15 CPU fan, I guess worse things have happened to people anyways

So if I understand you want to swap motherboards right ? I give you permission to carry on.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-18-2014, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Yeah. I haven't had time to get that old i3 working although I have had it boot and then not boot. Something is obviously wrong with it somehow.

I will probably put this i5 Sandy in my new case and put it in the MasterBedroom, then continue to use my existing Antec NSK1380 for the main HTPC build with that new Devil's Canyon i5-4690k on the Gigabyte GA Z97 MX Gaming 5 that is still in the box.

I already told my fiance' that this next weekend is all mine for getting this dealt with. We'll see how that goes, right?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-18-2014, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Yes, it is an H67 so I'd just take out the whole thing and swap the CPU cooler off my i3 and put it in the case..

Then there's re-doing the OS on the SSD and all that fun stuff..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-18-2014, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 55
An i5 2300 on an H67 board with an HD7850 is pretty competent platform for HTPC use, particularly for secondary HTPC duties.

My primary HTPC is an i3 530 on an intel H55 board which I just recently updated the GPU to an EVGA 750 Ti. I have it set to Jinc for madVR chroma and pixel scaling. The 750Ti is a very quick HTPC GPU and it would perform even better on an H67.

My primary personal workstation is an i3 2100 with a GT 545 nowhere near the graphic horsepower of the 750Ti. This box is running an H67 Intel board. It is more than adequate for most HTPC tasks. I had matching GT 545s in both the Clarksdale and Sandy Bridge systems and the GT 545 performed markedly better on the Sandy Bridge. Leads me to conclude the H55 PCIe bus is not very well optimized. On the Sandy Bridge workstation I often have cable tv news running in a WMC window while doing all my other PC tasks with no slowdown at all. In fact I have an HP extender keyed to this box as well and I don't sense any slowdown from the extra load.

While newer intel stuff has many advantages the Sandy Bridge stuff is plenty quick and energy efficient. An i5 2300 with a mid-level discrete GPU is in my opinion more than adequate to handle all but heaviest HTPC work loads. I have another i3 2100 box with a Ceton in it, that I am going to consider repurposing. It is avaliable as it looks like I am going to end up using SiliconDust stuff exclusively. I will probably install an SSD, and a GT 750Ti in an appropriate case and make it my primary HTPC in the next couple of months. I have and HD7790 floating around here but the performance and energy consumption of the 750Ti is pretty much unmatched it its class. Bothe he HD7790 and the 750Ti are a healthy GPUs but not up to 7850 performance.

Personally while I really like what madVR does, I don't see its value unless you are using a really big display. I only use madVR day to day on my primary HTPC which is feeding my 92" Mitsubishi DLP.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-18-2014, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I will probably utilize my older GT430 for this bedroom build powering a 40" 1080p LN650A LCD now that I think of it.

I'll keep the HD7850 for the primary HTPC listed above in the Family room which is a yet to be built.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-19-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Yes, it is an H67 so I'd just take out the whole thing and swap the CPU cooler off my i3 and put it in the case..

Then there's re-doing the OS on the SSD and all that fun stuff..
You should have a USB stick ready to go with everything you need. It won't take too long.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 08-19-2014, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I know.. I don't.

I did my HTPC in 2011 and was having issues with x64 and codecs for Live TV so I went x86 and all was well. I never bothered with x64 but now is the time!

I just need to remember all those little tweaks like forcing more regular clock updates so your PVR is always on time and all tje other little things that I did in that 1st year of HTPC discovery.
Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off