How about this for HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2014, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nate Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about this for HTPC

I was thinking of getting this for a small HTPC in a spare room.

I clearly won't be trying to run games or 3D content but I will be streaming HD movies (some full bitrate) from my NAS.

Think I'll have enough power from this guy?

http://www.amazon.com/Intel-DN2820FY...ustomerReviews
Nate Miller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-16-2014, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I believe the Celeron N2820 is actually a quad-core Haswell Bay-Trail Atom, but should be fine for general media-center use. Openelec runs well on it apparently, as does XBMC. Intel's ARC just says it has 'Intel Graphics' and doesn't go into specific detail, but as it's modern chip, it should cope fine - and it's pretty cheap too.
tman247 is online now  
Old 08-18-2014, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Miller View Post
I was thinking of getting this for a small HTPC in a spare room.

I clearly won't be trying to run games or 3D content but I will be streaming HD movies (some full bitrate) from my NAS.

Think I'll have enough power from this guy?

http://www.amazon.com/Intel-DN2820FY...ustomerReviews

Definitely. I've got the first gen Celeron 847 NUC running openelec off a thumb drive and no problems whatseover watching full rip bluray MKVs w/all HD audio tracks off my server. I have heard this version NUC has some issues w/Windows 7 but if you're only watching movies off your NAS then no reason to pay for a Windows license anyway, just stick w/openelec. (BTW Ace is is a nice, light skin which will work well if you want to check that out).
ElJimador is offline  
Old 08-18-2014, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nate Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElJimador View Post
Definitely. I've got the first gen Celeron 847 NUC running openelec off a thumb drive and no problems whatseover watching full rip bluray MKVs w/all HD audio tracks off my server. I have heard this version NUC has some issues w/Windows 7 but if you're only watching movies off your NAS then no reason to pay for a Windows license anyway, just stick w/openelec. (BTW Ace is is a nice, light skin which will work well if you want to check that out).
WMC is pretty much required since I use a SiliconDust HDHR Prime to watch Cable and I have HBO. Since no other PVR will decode HBO I'm stuck with Win7 and WMC. Otherwise I'd use something a lot lighter like OpenElec or XBMC on Ubuntu.

Also, I was in a bit of a hurry so I spent a little more for this i3... http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

$60 more and I'm certain this one will work like a champ

Last edited by Nate Miller; 08-18-2014 at 11:26 AM. Reason: afterthoughts :)
Nate Miller is offline  
Old 08-18-2014, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SoCal
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Nice, the price cut makes up for not having a wifi card. Good deal over all. Got me interested in one now lol
Tesshin is offline  
Old 08-18-2014, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Miller View Post
WMC is pretty much required since I use a SiliconDust HDHR Prime to watch Cable and I have HBO. Since no other PVR will decode HBO I'm stuck with Win7 and WMC. Otherwise I'd use something a lot lighter like OpenElec or XBMC on Ubuntu.

Also, I was in a bit of a hurry so I spent a little more for this i3... http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

$60 more and I'm certain this one will work like a champ
Good call. Didn't realize Win7 and WMC were required too and in that case I'd probably consider stepping up to the i3 too, especially at that price.
ElJimador is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off