Looking to replace SageTV with new setup....Help - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-16-2014, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rdefino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: chelmsford
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking to replace SageTV with new setup....Help

So I've been using sagetv for about 10yrs. But the last of my streaming devies are dying. So I'm lookin to replace the whole setup.

I would like to be able to:

record tv shows, from cable.
Play rip'd dvd's and blurays
play music and store photos


Is there anything out there that I could use? I have no issues build a HTPC, but I would need some base software and streaming devices to play the content on my TV's.

Any thought or pointers would be great.

thanks
rdefino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-17-2014, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbfleming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I keep telling myself when my SageTV dies, I'll let it go knowing it lived a good life, but then I look around and there's nothing on the market to replace it. Instead of letting it die a natural death, I've resorted to extrodinary measures to resucitate it and keep it working. When the power supplies for the Hauppauge encoders failed, I replaced them. When the motherboard failed from bad capacitors, I had a friend migrate the Window XP hard drive to a new motherboard by performing registry hacks, and that was not easy. Then my Motorola DCT6200 tuners failed, also due to bad capacitors. The same friend used a soldering iron to replace individual capacitors on the tuner circuit boards to get those working again. It still works, barely. And I'm happy it's still alive.

Apparently SageTV has a new life as version 8 in Google Fiber TV: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?p=565124&postcount=18
mbfleming is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-18-2014, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Windows Media Center and Windows Media Center Extenders.

Mostly same functionality, but adds support for encrypted and copyright protected cable like HBO and Cinemax.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 08-18-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,543
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueiedgod View Post
Windows Media Center and Windows Media Center Extenders.

Mostly same functionality, but adds support for encrypted and copyright protected cable like HBO and Cinemax.
This works up to and until you try to play back a ripped Blu-ray at full bit rate. Then you need to either tanscode to a Roku or need to either have a NUC or other HTPC as the client for movies in addition to the WMC extender for TV/PVR use.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-18-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
This works up to and until you try to play back a ripped Blu-ray at full bit rate. Then you need to either tanscode to a Roku or need to either have a NUC or other HTPC as the client for movies in addition to the WMC extender for TV/PVR use.

Maybe I am a minority, but we only have 1 relatively large TV (55") where raw BD rips would've made a difference. The rest of the TV's (6x total) in the house are 42" and under (1x 42", 2x 24", 2x19"), where raw or compressed BD/DVD rips make no difference, since you can't really see the difference.

They are mainly used for live and recorded TV, as well as DVD rips converted to XVID due to the extender support limitation, and my refusal to spend more on something that no one in the house would be able to tell the difference.

Kids don't really care if Bugs Bunny/Dora/Jack/Elmo/Cat in the hat/ is in 1080p or 480p.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-18-2014, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rdefino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: chelmsford
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For Windows Media Center Extenders, is Xbox' the only ones that can connect?

Thanks for the reply's everyone!
rdefino is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-18-2014, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,543
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueiedgod View Post
Maybe I am a minority, but we only have 1 relatively large TV (55") where raw BD rips would've made a difference. The rest of the TV's (6x total) in the house are 42" and under (1x 42", 2x 24", 2x19"), where raw or compressed BD/DVD rips make no difference, since you can't really see the difference.

They are mainly used for live and recorded TV, as well as DVD rips converted to XVID due to the extender support limitation, and my refusal to spend more on something that no one in the house would be able to tell the difference.

Kids don't really care if Bugs Bunny/Dora/Jack/Elmo/Cat in the hat/ is in 1080p or 480p.
This is basically why I am now using Roku and MediaBrowserServer but still have full bit rate rips for playback on the 60" plasma via HTPC in the family room.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-18-2014, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,543
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdefino View Post
For Windows Media Center Extenders, is Xbox' the only ones that can connect?

Thanks for the reply's everyone!
That and Ceton Echo and some of the older Linksys and HP units but they are probably aging hardware just as your SAGE TV stuff is.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 08-19-2014, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Fyodor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
That and Ceton Echo and some of the older Linksys and HP units but they are probably aging hardware just as your SAGE TV stuff is.
I'll add that a lot of people have had very unsatisfactory experiences with the Echo (myself included). I don't want to start an argument about it, but I'd recommend that the OP do a search and judge for him/herself.

The Xbox is larger than the other extenders and the video quality is somewhat diminished but I think that it generally provides the best and most reliable consumer experience for most people.

If OP is not interested in streaming premium/protected content there are a few more options available for clients (such as SFF PCs).
Fyodor is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 08-19-2014, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdefino View Post
For Windows Media Center Extenders, is Xbox' the only ones that can connect?

Thanks for the reply's everyone!

Only 2 products remain available through retail, XBOX 360 and Ceton Echo. Linksys, D-Link and HP products are no longer manufactured, but available through secondary market.

I'm rocking 5x Linksys (DMA 2100 and DMA 2200 mix). I have no intentions of switching, unless they die.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 08-19-2014, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,097
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 432
After seeing the Comcast X1 in action recently I really think that will be my WMC/HTPC replacement when the time comes. If WMC were actively developed it would look like the X1.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off