Charter cable: What channels are encrypted? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
  • 1 Post By Dark_Slayer
  • 1 Post By mdavej
  • 1 Post By Sammy2
  • 2 Post By Foxbat121
  • 1 Post By Sammy2
  • 1 Post By Foxbat121
  • 1 Post By Dark_Slayer
  • 1 Post By ajhieb
  • 1 Post By Foxbat121
  • 1 Post By signcarver
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2014, 12:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Charter cable: What channels are copy-once?

Sorry if this is the wrong area. Pertains to my HTPC. Can the folks with Charter share if any channels are still copy freely? Looked around on Google but lots of old posts and these things seem to change fairly often.

Last edited by whiteboy714; 08-27-2014 at 09:46 PM.
whiteboy714 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2014, 01:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 316
I'd like to know the answer to this question as well

Off the top of my head . . .

@Sammy2 used to use Charter and had mentioned nearly all copy-once
@mdavej (or perhaps @bryansj -- actually forgot which one, sorry) also used Charter but said nearly all copy-free

Likely different markets as well

Last I recall Comcast had copy-once movie channels, but also Sprout, TVLand, National Geographic, and Palladia
whiteboy714 likes this.
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 05:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Still the case in my market. Even some premiums are copy freely at times.
whiteboy714 likes this.
mdavej is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I have a lot of copy-free channels. The Digi-tiers are hit and miss (mostly hit) and the Premiums are copy once.
whiteboy714 likes this.

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Encrypted channel does not mean copy-once. Encrypted means you need a cable card to view it. Whether it is copy-free or copy-once depending on the addition flag on the channel. You can have a channel encrypted but still copy-free.
ilovejedd and whiteboy714 like this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Encrypted channel does not mean copy-once. Encrypted means you need a cable card to view it. Whether it is copy-free or copy-once depending on the addition flag on the channel. You can have a channel encrypted but still copy-free.
Well then everything is encrypted in my area as it just went all digital with the new Spectrum service that just rolled out. I know that whiteboy714 has a Prime tuner so I just jumped over the technicalities of encryption vs copy protection and answered the question.

That said, someone stumbling across this thread, say even from a Google search, would not know this and having the correct information that you provided would be very important. Thanks for the clarification.
whiteboy714 likes this.

Last edited by Sammy2; 08-27-2014 at 08:59 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 08:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
My take:


Channel encryption = cable providesr are protecting their bottom line, e.g. to ensure you can only view the channels you paid for. They can careless whether or not you can copy the content.
Copy-once = content owner or content provider is protecting their bottom line so that you can't copy their contents freely.
whiteboy714 likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
.
Copy-once = content owner or content provider is protecting their bottom line so that you can't copy their contents freely.
That would make sense if companies like twc didn't flag channels copy-once that Verizon and Comcast flag copy-free
whiteboy714 likes this.
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,598
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
That would make sense if companies like twc didn't flag channels copy-once that Verizon and Comcast flag copy-free
I think it still holds true, but companies like TWC just took the lazy approach and said "$#$^-it, flag'em all and be done with it" since it doesn't really harm anything from their perspective and its one less thing they have to worry about.
whiteboy714 likes this.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
Old 08-27-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
That would make sense if companies like twc didn't flag channels copy-once that Verizon and Comcast flag copy-free
Verizon only start to flag copy-once for premium channels a year or so ago. Before that, all channels copy-free.
whiteboy714 likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Charter has been all over the place with protections and varies too much by market... some markets only protect premiums, some markets protect all HD (as well as SD premiums and not local HD), and some markets protect all but locals... I have heard with this digital conversion that some markets have been less restrictive (at least for a while) and are no longer using/have been neglecting the TAs but again it varies too much by market.

Much of charter has gone all digital and all encrypted.
whiteboy714 likes this.
signcarver is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks guys, you are right Sammy I do have an HDHR. And thanks foxbat for clarifying that. I updated the thread title.
whiteboy714 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 02:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Thanks guys, you are right Sammy I do have an HDHR. And thanks foxbat for clarifying that. I updated the thread title.
I don't recall what the thread title was, but there is virtually no unencrypted cable these days in the US afaik. Also

HDHR -> Typically used to refer to the dual (ATSC for OTA)
HDHR Prime -> Cablecard tuner (both can do qam, but that's beside the point)

If your thread title mentioned Copy-Free then you were on the right track before. It's useful to know when cable companies mark their channels copy-free, because you can use your HDHR Prime in a large variety of ways for those channels (ServerWMC, MythTV, mediaportal, NPVR, DLNA, etc). This is not possible when they are copy-once and you are locked into WMC for those (either way they are encrypted, but the Prime paired with your cablecard and subscription decrypts them for you)
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Copy protection can be easily defeated with an HDCP stripper. Not legal obviously. Just stating this for informational purposes.

Edit: After reading some articles I'm not really sure if it is actually legal or not. Grey area for sure at the least. As long as you are only doing it for personal use it would probably be similar to ripping DVDs. Technically illegal to break copy protection but no one is going to come to your house and confiscate your copies.

Last edited by StinDaWg; 08-28-2014 at 09:27 AM.
StinDaWg is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
what its this india tv chanels lol
norway1 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
I don't recall what the thread title was, but there is virtually no unencrypted cable these days in the US afaik. Also

HDHR -> Typically used to refer to the dual (ATSC for OTA)
HDHR Prime -> Cablecard tuner (both can do qam, but that's beside the point)

If your thread title mentioned Copy-Free then you were on the right track before. It's useful to know when cable companies mark their channels copy-free, because you can use your HDHR Prime in a large variety of ways for those channels (ServerWMC, MythTV, mediaportal, NPVR, DLNA, etc). This is not possible when they are copy-once and you are locked into WMC for those (either way they are encrypted, but the Prime paired with your cablecard and subscription decrypts them for you)
Oh dumb it doesn't actually change the thread title just the subject line. Thanks for your help, I think everything was covered above.
whiteboy714 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Oh dumb it doesn't actually change the thread title just the subject line
I see now
Dark_Slayer is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off