MyHD for Dish5000 & JVC30K DVHS recorder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been holding out for the new Samsung 165 OTA STB with firewire output to record HD content using the Dish 5000/Modulator but wondering if I should consider going the HTPC route instead.

I currently have an HTPC configured with the following:
Asus CUSL2C MB
PIII 866MHz
256 MB
30GB disk
Radeon LE
Soundblaster Live Value
Network card
Modem
Capture card for dscaler
Win98

I take it I will need an IEE1394 card for the firewire support. Which low cost 1394 card is recommended?

How much disk space does one need to capture HD content? I have a spare 40GB hard drive I could install but not sure how much recording time that will get me.

Is the MyHD card compatable with my current motherboard and hardware and what other software tools do I need to archive to the JVC30K?

TIA
-hardwired

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 09:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
â€I take it I will need an IEE1394 card for the firewire support. Which low cost 1394 card is recommended?â€

I recommend the Adaptec AFW-4300 FireWire card.

â€How much disk space does one need to capture HD content? I have a spare 40GB hard drive I could install but not sure how much recording time that will get me.â€

Approx 8.5GB per hour.

â€Is the MyHD card compatable with my current motherboard and hardware and what other software tools do I need to archive to the JVC30K?â€

Check your motherboard manual to ensure it supports the PCI 2.2 specification.

You can record direct to tape or hard drive with MyHD and the use DVHSTool to archive to and restore from D-VHS tape.
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD Content is somewhere around 8 GB/hour.

It should be compatible with your board. CPU should
be OK for HD record, but for AVI for OTA Standard channels
I think you will be limited to 240 x 320 (My 1GHz P3 is pegged
at 100% with studder and audio issues at 480 x 640).

Failure is not an option. It comes bundled with every Microsoft product
jkaiser is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.

Can I stick with Win98 or do I have to go with Win2K or XP for MyHD, Adaptec Firewire card, or DVHSTool?

I am sort of dreading going to a new OS and possibly breaking the DVD video and audio on the ATI video card and Soundblaster.

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recording to D-VHS tape only works in XP.
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have MyHD + Dish 5000 + modulator + JVC 30K, and I use DVHSTool to transfer to tape. I highly recommend this combo, though caveat emptor regarding the lifetime of the Dish 5000 modulator.

You could dual boot to preserve your Win98 partition. However, then you might miss some recordings unless you make the recording reservations under both Win98 and XP.

Another option is to grab some old piece of crud PC, stick a firewire card in it, install XP on it, and use it to transfer to tape, getting access to the files via either an ethernet or a firewire network connection to a shared directory on the MyHD+Win98 PC. Without adding a second PC, it's really hard to transfer to tape while also recording to disk.

Yet another option is to find MyHD application version 1.55.2, which does a very good job of upscaling DVD, and just forget about your old DVD stuff (but I suggest saving the hard drive just in case.) Beware that 1.55.2 has been taken off the MyHD website. Apparently the DVD consortium would prefer that we never buy any more DVD's, and towards that end the consortium is blocking our attempts to upscale DVD's past 480p so that they are bearable to watch now that we are accustomed to HDTV.
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-17-2002, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by hardwired


I currently have an HTPC configured with the following:
Asus CUSL2C MB
PIII 866MHz
256 MB
Is the MyHD card compatable with my current motherboard and hardware and what other software tools do I need to archive to the JVC30K?

TIA
-hardwired
One of my MYHD machines is EXACTLY what you listed. CUSL2-C with 866Mhz P3.

It is 100% compatable. I didn't even fool with which PCI slot it went in - I just stuck it in and installed the SW.

I did slow the CPU clock down because that system has always run a bit warm (even before I put the MYHD card in) and 866Mhz is way overkill for the card.

Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-18-2002, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Another option is to grab some old piece of crud PC, stick a firewire card in it, install XP on it, and use it to transfer to tape, getting access to the files via either an ethernet or a firewire network connection to a shared directory on the MyHD+Win98 PC.
Abdul,

I have a notebook with XP and firewire that I can connect to my network. I suppose I can use that to transfer to the JVC with the files residing a shared folder on the HTPC. Do you know this works or do I have to copy the multigig file to the notebooks drive first?

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-19-2002, 02:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I've used dvhstool over a network, 100 Mbps ethernet, but not enough to know if it's reliable. You could also use a firewire network.
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-12-2002, 01:20 PM
Member
 
ahagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can You Record Data 3000K to the Tape ?Does it support a file system?
ahagen is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off