Looking for a dependable prebuilt "appliance" dedicated for Plex 1080p transcoding - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Question Looking for a dependable prebuilt "appliance" dedicated for Plex 1080p transcoding

Currently, I'm using my 8 year old HTPC Intel Quadcore 2.4Ghz, 8GB RAM (Win7), to transcode 1080p mkvs (which still isn't fast enough for certain tasks). I'm looking to offload PMS onto a much more powerful dual-bay, "NAS-like" appliance (dedicated to Plex Media Server and SMB shares).

In a perfect world, the below device would be ideal for me (if the CPU was significantly faster and more memory) for the same price:
QNAP HS-251 2-Bay Fanless Personal Cloud NAS, Intel 2.41GHz Dual Core CPU with Media Transcoding, PLEX and DLNA Support

GOAL:
  • Set-it-and-forget-it appliance that comfortably handles 1080p transcoding (intended for simultaneous Roku3 + PC Web-clients).
  • Dual-HDD bay solution. Only time I should touch this device is when swapping out a disk (flagged for predictive failure.).
  • Cost effective for the purpose it serves.

I know I'm not going to find the perfect solution out there; but, hopefully I can find the closest to what I'm looking.

NOTE: PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE dont just suggest a bunch of spare PC parts. I don't have the time nor interest in building a PC from scratch. Also, I'm not a Mac guy, so people don't suggest a Macmini.

Thanks in advance
MKANET is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Sounds like pretty much any desktop PC would work. Just get one with a decent processor and enough RAM.

bryansj is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 104
That QNAP isn't powerful enough to transcode multiple streams at the same time and that's going to be your problem with NAS appliances generally. Most have Atom or Celeron processors at best which are way too weak for multiple transcodes.

If it's purely going to be a Plex server and you want something as appliance like as possible then I would suggest a NUC or Gigabyte Brix with at least an i5.
ElJimador is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
tdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 46
As others have mentioned, commercial NAS units do many things well - but heavy duty transcoding isn't one of them. The Synology DS214play is worth looking at. Another option is to just buy a PC from Dell or HP that has a couple of extra drive bays...

Otherwise, you are going to need to split duties. If you are Ok with your storage solution, then you can get a NUC to just do transcoding. You now have several boxes, but if you want highly specialized requirements that might be necessary.
tdallen is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 527
The specs and the processor model listed don't agree. The Celeron D 360 is an 8 year old single core 3.46 GHz processor. I wouldn't expect much transcoding performance out of it if that's what it has.
I wouldn't buy anything for the purpose of transcoding that doesn't have a QSV capable processor. Plex might not support it today but I suspect they are working on it, even if they won't admit it.

QSV processors:
http://ark.intel.com/search/advanced...rketSegment=DT
Ken.F is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
tdallen; and, all thanks for the quick replies. I'm trying to get a better idea of what kind of real-world transcoding performance to expect with whatever solution I choose. Can someone please recommend the most cost-effective CPU speed and model I should look for in a desktop PC? I haven't shopped for a PC in a long time. Ideally, I was hoping for something on the smaller side (the smaller, the better). If anyone has any specific suggestions, I'd really appreciate it.
EDIT: I just saw the Synology DS214play... Edit: The specs show 1.6 Dual core. It only transcodes SD; per the Plex NAS compatibility spreadsheet

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdallen View Post
As others have mentioned, commercial NAS units do many things well - but heavy duty transcoding isn't one of them. The Synology DS214play is worth looking at. Another option is to just buy a PC from Dell or HP that has a couple of extra drive bays...

Otherwise, you are going to need to split duties. If you are Ok with your storage solution, then you can get a NUC to just do transcoding. You now have several boxes, but if you want highly specialized requirements that might be necessary.

Last edited by MKANET; 12-01-2014 at 03:15 PM.
MKANET is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,558
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 424
http://www.assassinhtpc.com/

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post
I'm trying to get a better idea of what kind of real-world transcoding performance to expect with whatever solution I choose.
Have a look here: The ultimate Pentium processor ??? I am just going to drop this here...

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is online now  
post #9 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 244
I'd get a current i5 if it was me and shoot for finding a good deal on an i7.
wiley165 likes this.

bryansj is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 12-01-2014, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
tdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 46
The 4th generation Haswell Core i3-4360 has a PassMark Score of 5599, where you're looking for approximately 2,000 per 1080p stream. That's just a ballpark - high bit rates can require a lot more. I'd consider a CPU like that, one of the upper end 4th generation Core i3's, as the starting point for a box that will handle multiple transcoding streams, and you should give consideration to an i5 or even an i7 (or Xeon) depending on how much work you want it to do.
tdallen is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I'd get a current i5 if it was me and shoot for finding a good deal on an i7.
+1 on starting at the i5 (quad core).

OP didn't mention how many simultanious transcodes at once, but indicated Roku + Web-Clients (plural), so I'm taking that to mean at least 3.

If you still believe the philosophy of one core per transcode, that puts you at an i5. You probably could get by with an i3 (2 physical cores + 2 virtual cores), but why handicap it.

wiley165 is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Main issue here is you don't want to build a PC from scratch... but as someone suggested, you could get a normal Dell desktop with an i7 processor, drop in some extra HDDs and RAM (up to 16GB if you want) and call it a day...

I don't know of any ready-made appliance that will meet up with this in terms of performance... if it does exist, be sure it will cost you an arm and a leg...
ajhieb likes this.
balky is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,558
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by balky View Post
Main issue here is you don't want to build a PC from scratch...I don't know of any ready-made appliance that will meet up with this in terms of performance.
I'll try again:
http://www.assassinhtpc.com/

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The i3-4360 looks like it makes sense. It looks like for an addition $160, the "Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00GHz" has over double the PassMark performance 11288.

If I get a Desktop PC, it might as well get one powerful enough to handle all my server needs; not just PMS and network shares.

Could someone please recommend a specific product line from Dell (or HP) that would give me the closest to what I'm looking for? (Best value/dependability for a headless Windows 8.x Pro PC with small SSD for OS + 2 disk RAID). I also saw http://www.assassinhtpc.com/ link. If they happened to have a solution at a better value than Dell or HP, maybe someone could recommend it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdallen View Post
The 4th generation Haswell Core i3-4360 has a PassMark Score of 5599, where you're looking for approximately 2,000 per 1080p stream. That's just a ballpark - high bit rates can require a lot more. I'd consider a CPU like that, one of the upper end 4th generation Core i3's, as the starting point for a box that will handle multiple transcoding streams, and you should give consideration to an i5 or even an i7 (or Xeon) depending on how much work you want it to do.
MKANET is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,558
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post
I also saw http://www.assassinhtpc.com/ link. If they happened to have a solution at a better value than Dell or HP, maybe someone could recommend it.
Ask THEM. It's all they do.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
tdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 46
The big websites stink these days. You can't select processor upgrades, and you can't easily find basic information like the number of open drive bays in a chassis. You might have to give Dell or HP or Lenovo a call and tell them what you want, or drop into a Best Buy . I spent a little while looking but the lack of details reminded me why I build my own...

Do you have any local computer shops who could build to order? I know there are several around my area.
tdallen is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The below system looks pretty close to what I want ($1999 from Dell); except it would still need to buy another 3TB disk; and, format as RAID1 for data storage. Not sure if the CPU included is the K version (the same CPU that had an average PassMark performance 11288). I didn't see the CPU I wanted on the AssassinPC webpage. I'll contact them anyway, just in case they haven't updated their website yet.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tdallen View Post
The big websites stink these days. You can't select processor upgrades, and you can't easily find basic information like the number of open drive bays in a chassis. You might have to give Dell or HP or Lenovo a call and tell them what you want, or drop into a Best Buy . I spent a little while looking but the lack of details reminded me why I build my own...

Do you have any local computer shops who could build to order? I know there are several around my area.
MKANET is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,558
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 424
You'll want to keep your Win 7 (you can probably transfer the code online; I had to call the 800 number once, no biggie).

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Win7 doesnt have hyperv.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
You'll want to keep your Win 7 (you can probably transfer the code online; I had to call the 800 number once, no biggie).
MKANET is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 244
$2,000 sounds like a ripoff. I guess that's why I build my own.

bryansj is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,783
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I've personally used Dell's accidental damage warranty more than once in the past for my laptops (and an old desktop). They come to my home; and, service the PC with no hassle. I can't put a value on this; mainly because it's also included in the price.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
$2,000 sounds like a ripoff. I guess that's why I build my own.
MKANET is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post
I've personally used Dell's accidental damage warranty more than once in the past for my laptops (and an old desktop). They come to my home; and, service the PC with no hassle. I can't put a value on this; mainly because it's also included in the price.

The price on it is $129 as shown in your picture. I would rather save that money plus the extra $1000+ on the Dell system and put it in savings. If something breaks I could use the money to fix it. However, you said you didn't want to build anything so go for it. Just realized where you are posting... Most of us are on Newegg building systems and try to avoid places like Dell.

I could build myself a great transcoding media server for under $1,000.

bryansj is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post
The i3-4360 looks like it makes sense. It looks like for an addition $160, the "Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00GHz" has over double the PassMark performance 11288.

If I get a Desktop PC, it might as well get one powerful enough to handle all my server needs; not just PMS and network shares.
You probably don't need an unlocked "K" processor. The plain i7-4790 would be just fine for your purposes. When I built my transcoding server I didn't want to cheap out on the processor so I decided to get the i7-4770. I resisted buying the 4770K because I know that if I was able to overclock it I would eventually do it. I wanted stability without the temptation.
Ken.F is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 12-02-2014, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post
The below system looks pretty close to what I want ($1999 from Dell); except it would still need to buy another 3TB disk; and, format as RAID1 for data storage. Not sure if the CPU included is the K version (the same CPU that had an average PassMark performance 11288). I didn't see the CPU I wanted on the AssassinPC webpage. I'll contact them anyway, just in case they haven't updated their website yet.

If you're going to be running this headless and you're set on Windows then you might want to consider Win 8.1 Pro for the Remote Desktop hosting. There are other remote desktop solutions but that's the one that has worked best for me and so worth the price bump IMO. Other than that this machine will certainly suit your purposes, however there is quite a bit here that is mismatched overkill also. For example:

*32 GB RAM is about 4x what you should ever need
*256 GB SSD is is at least 2-3x what you should for need for a boot drive
*3 TB HD is nice but 7200 RPM adds nothing over 5400 when all you're doing is storing large video files
*Windows itself isn't even necessary. As long as you're running 3 hard drives or less you could get a free unRAID license (which also takes care of your RAID solution), run Plex server on that, and even boot off a USB thumb drive so you don't need the SSD either.

Those extras are all things you're paying for in that $1999 price tag that you don't need and that (aside from Windows perhaps) aren't going to make a bit of difference in how that machine performs as a Plex server.

I think you should stick to your original idea and if you're not comfortable building the appliance that you want then get Assassin or some other PC builder to do it. The machine you need shouldn't cost near this much even w/the convenience of someone else building it for you and taking the time to walk you through your options.

One last thing: if the Plex clients you have in mind include friends or family outside your home, check to make sure your internet upload speed isn't going to put serious limits on that. Because if you don't have fiber and you want clients to be able to stream it at least 720p then you might find yourself limited by bandwith to only 2-3 streams tops and then that i7 (or any i7) will be overkill also.
ElJimador is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off