AVS Forum banner

Watching multiple tv's in the same room

2K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  captain_video 
#1 ·
I'm a little bit of a sports nut and I was wondering how I would go about getting cable input for 3 televisions in the same room so I can watch multiple games? Kind of something like this:

http://www.houzz.com/photos/3522917/Spire-Theater-Room-contemporary-home-theater-other-metro

My current setup with one TV is using HDHomeRun Prime with an XBOX 360 and a Windows 8 PC with Media Center. I hate that I have to use Media Center, but it's the only way I could get live tv to work.

I was hoping I could use the Prime to supply the signal for the other 2 tv's since I have 2 other tuners available in the prime, but will this require a XBOX and a Media Center PC for each tuner?

#2 ·
I can't speak for the HDHomeRun since I have no practical experience with it, but there are a few options. I think if I were you, I would use an infinitv 6 pcie card in a centrally-located HTPC and maybe pick up ceton echo's for the TV's. They're small enough to velcro to the back of the TV's. If you've already got an xbox 360, you can use that as an extender (thereby reducing by one the number of echo's you'd need to buy).

The echo's will do live TV just fine, but they're not great for movies. Downside: the echo's are not supported under windows 8, so you'd have to step down to windows 7 on the HTPC to do this. The only other way is to do xbox 360's (more expensive).

It's your good fortune that there are a lot of echo's available cheap on ebay this close to the holidays (http://www.ebay.com/sch/?_nkw=ceton echo&clk_rvr_id=749750283804).

#3 ·