Help with picture issue.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Unread Today, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Help with picture issue....

Hello all, i have been meaning to ask this question for a while. I am having some picture quality issues and bellow are a few samples of what i mean as i would not be able to discribe it using words (i guess it would be called rims around light areas?). Here is my setup to help you guys out.

Levono laptop i5-4200M HD 4600 2.50GHz Screen res at 1366x768
Sharp Aquos 40" 1080P with AVS Superlucent panel and UD Spectral Contrast Engine

I am running XBMC Gotham 13.2 with Aeon MQ5 skin with MPC-HC

Here are some sceem shots of my MPC-HC settings, defailt by the way. Also the shoots showing the issue i am having.

Now the problem is always present in all different movies and tv shows i have, but only this type of problem. Any suggestions as to what could be worng?

PS. I sorta calibrated my tv using the steps found here, not sure if this will be of any help.

Sharp Aquos LC-40E67NU calibration help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	427170   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture 1.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	427178   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture 2.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	66.2 KB
ID:	427186   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture 5.JPG
Views:	7
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	427194   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture 6.JPG
Views:	7
Size:	55.8 KB
ID:	427202  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture 7.JPG
Views:	7
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	427210  

Last edited by adinis; Today at 08:17 AM.
adinis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Unread Today, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It appears the issue you are seeing is from the Intel HD Graphics. Are you able to reproduce the issue using a blu-ray player with the same movie/show?
I don't know if that i5 could handle it but you could try installing MadVR to help with that shading issue. It is very resource intensive and only a dedicated Graphics card is able to handle the highest settings for MadVR.


Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K EX4420, B&K TX4430, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is online now  
post #3 of 5 Unread Today, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 214
I can't really see a problem from your pictures, but that could be uneven black levels (also called flashlighting) that is common on LCD type sets.

Just out of curiousity why are you running your output resolution at 768p if the tv is 1080 native?

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #4 of 5 Unread Today, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post
It appears the issue you are seeing is from the Intel HD Graphics. Are you able to reproduce the issue using a blu-ray player with the same movie/show?
I don't know if that i5 could handle it but you could try installing MadVR to help with that shading issue. It is very resource intensive and only a dedicated Graphics card is able to handle the highest settings for MadVR.


Toys
Tried running madvr once but had to discontinue because I had really bad dropp frames. So I decided to just run with stock mpc-hc. My laptop does not have a BD drive and honestly I don't remember having this issue when playing BD with my ps3. Also I don't have a physical BD as it's Constantine.
adinis is online now  
post #5 of 5 Unread Today, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post
I can't really see a problem from your pictures, but that could be uneven black levels (also called flashlighting) that is common on LCD type sets.

Just out of curiousity why are you running your output resolution at 768p if the tv is 1080 native?
Because that's my laptops max res.

I was thinking it could also be the TV, it's over 5 years and it hasn't been professionally calibrated.
adinis is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off