AVS Forum banner

ESXi compatibility / starter advice needed

807 views 21 replies 7 participants last post by  ElJimador 
#1 ·
Hi. I'm planning a new server/htpc build and wondering how do-able it should be to run ESXi with Windows 8.1 pro and unRAID as guest OS's? Or if not ESXi if there's some other approach to allow me to run both on the same machine? To be honest I'm just starting to learn about virtualization and what I think I need to start is just some guidance on whether my hardware is compatible and then if it is maybe some pointers on installing ESXi and the Windows guest OS. If I can get that running first then I can take a little more time on the unRAID piece since I'm not planning to buy the new hard drives for it until later this year anyway.

Here's my hardware with some compatibility notes on each based on the research I've been able to do so far:

Board: Asus H97M Plus (per ESXi forum, compatible except for some issues w/the NIC which it sounds like there are workarounds for).

CPU and Graphics: Xeon E3-1230 v3 + GTX 750 Ti or i7-4790 w/IG (the other will go in my current Windows server/htpc which is being repurposed as a desktop; Anyone know if either should work? I know both CPUs are compatible but I don't really understand how graphics are passed through and whether the 750 Ti can be assigned for Windows while unRAID effectively runs headless)

RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600 (2x4GB) (can upgrade to 4x4GB if that's not enough however if I were running these in separate machines I don't think I'd ever use >4GB in Windows and 4GB has been plenty for other unRAID server I already have).