madVR Player Support Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 83 Old 02-10-2016, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,594
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
The madVR portion is not a Kodi guide anymore. It deals exclusively with the madVR control panel.
I understand this. I'm concerned with installing LAV outside MPC-HC and borking LiveTV in WMC due to codec conflicts.

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 83 Old 02-11-2016, 12:21 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
I downloaded the 0.67.0.76 LAV Filters and it is going to install in the x86 Program Files Folder. Do I need the x86 version of MC-HC?
The installer puts both 32-bit and 64-bit versions in the "C:\Program Files (x86)" folder. No need to to use the 32-bit version of MPC-HC.
VBB is offline  
post #33 of 83 Old 02-11-2016, 12:24 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
I understand this. I'm concerned with installing LAV outside MPC-HC and borking LiveTV in WMC due to codec conflicts.
If you're really worried about that, go with the latest MPC-HC nightly's built-in LAV Filters. You'll get an up-to-date version about once a month.


You won't be able to do any 3D playback, though, and I think that's what you're trying to accomplish.
VBB is offline  
 
post #34 of 83 Old 02-11-2016, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,594
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
The installer puts both 32-bit and 64-bit versions in the "C:\Program Files (x86)" folder. No need to to use the 32-bit version of MPC-HC.
That's good news. Interesting that they'd put x64 stuff in the x86 folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
If you're really worried about that, go with the latest MPC-HC nightly's built-in LAV Filters. You'll get an up-to-date version about once a month.

You won't be able to do any 3D playback, though, and I think that's what you're trying to accomplish.
I do want to do 3D playback from mkv's but don't want to bork Live TV in WMC, which is the top priority here. Maybe I wait until all this comes out of beta.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #35 of 83 Old 04-12-2016, 08:57 AM
Member
 
maxfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello!
I have a fast computer but getting small stutters in some scenes. Often in fast moving scenes or when scene is panning even at a slow pace I get stutters. Any simple solutions?
maxfilm is offline  
post #36 of 83 Old 04-12-2016, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfilm View Post
Hello!
I have a fast computer but getting small stutters in some scenes. Often in fast moving scenes or when scene is panning even at a slow pace I get stutters. Any simple solutions?
What gfx card you have? Because from your description seems to me the pc cannot cope.
BlueChris is offline  
post #37 of 83 Old 04-12-2016, 09:56 PM
Member
 
maxfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
What gfx card you have? Because from your description seems to me the pc cannot cope.
def not the problem lol

2x780 sli quadcore at 4.5 ghz and 8 gb of ram ssd win 8. If 2 ppl are walking for example the head is glitching when it's bobbing from side to side, like stuttering. I think it's a hertz issue or something. I use 60 hz.
Just in some scenes I experience this, but mainly when scene is panning.
maxfilm is offline  
post #38 of 83 Old 04-13-2016, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfilm View Post
Hello!
I have a fast computer but getting small stutters in some scenes. Often in fast moving scenes or when scene is panning even at a slow pace I get stutters. Any simple solutions?
Try the troubleshooting steps in this post: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...972#pid2238972.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #39 of 83 Old 04-13-2016, 11:26 AM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfilm View Post
def not the problem lol

2x780 sli quadcore at 4.5 ghz and 8 gb of ram ssd win 8. If 2 ppl are walking for example the head is glitching when it's bobbing from side to side, like stuttering. I think it's a hertz issue or something. I use 60 hz.
Just in some scenes I experience this, but mainly when scene is panning.
Sounds like 3:2 pull-down judder. If your display is capable of 24Hz, set your media player/video renderer to switch to that on playback.
VBB is offline  
post #40 of 83 Old 06-14-2016, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been trying to set this up for my JVC 4k Projector and I notice that while stuff places fine in windowed mode, in any player I use MadVR with in fullscreen mode it messes up. It shows this pattern fuzzing around in the first pic, and if I right click it like mirrors the screen in a blue hue like the 2nd pic.


xiacexi is offline  
post #41 of 83 Old 06-15-2016, 12:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Those patterns look like a GPU hardware or driver problem. You could try a different driver. Make sure your GPU isn't overclocked. Also try disabling NNEDI3, some drivers don't like it.

Not sure about the blue screen. Almost looks like YCbCr vs RGB output.
madshi is online now  
post #42 of 83 Old 06-29-2016, 06:58 AM
Member
 
SteveMet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Intel driver has a configure item: IT Content. Should it be turned on or disabled?

Seems it's level limiting related...

Last edited by SteveMet; 06-29-2016 at 07:04 AM.
SteveMet is offline  
post #43 of 83 Old 07-26-2016, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey there,

Thank you so much for all of this info. That custom build example is probably what i'll go for.


my question is, how much of an improvement does madvr give to streaming content (720p/1080p), the kind that doesn't look great to begin with (not the best encoding)?
Chris Booth is offline  
post #44 of 83 Old 07-26-2016, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Booth View Post
Hey there,

Thank you so much for all of this info. That custom build example is probably what i'll go for.


my question is, how much of an improvement does madvr give to streaming content (720p/1080p), the kind that doesn't look great to begin with (not the best encoding)?
It can do wonders with poorly-encoded web streams. Just don't expect miracles.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #45 of 83 Old 01-23-2017, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Keeping my resolution at 2160/24p when playing 1080p movie

Can someone help me figure out how to keep my resolution at 4k/24p when playing a Blu-ray movie via Pot Player or JRiver MC 21 using MadVR- The HTPC is set at 4k/24p with my GTX 970 card but as soon as I play the 1080p movie via Hard Drive it automatically converts down to 1080/24p, then when I exit out of the software player it goes back to the 4k/24p which is how I have it set - I know there has to be somewhere I can make the changes to keep the 4k resolution when playing the 1080p movie
CmiBobby is offline  
post #46 of 83 Old 01-23-2017, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Are we talking 2D or 3D movies? And which display modes have you entered in the madVR device setup (if any)?
madshi is online now  
post #47 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Display Modes MadVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Are we talking 2D or 3D movies? And which display modes have you entered in the madVR device setup (if any)?
Display modes are : 1080/60p, 1080/24p, 2160/60p, 2160/24p and this is for a normal back up copy of my 2d Blu-Ray movie 1080p coming from my HardDrive
CmiBobby is offline  
post #48 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 602
madVR switches to that display mode from your list which most closely matches the source. So if you have 1080p24 in there, and you then play a Blu-Ray, madVR will switch to 1080p24. If you don't want madVR to switch to 1080p, then remove all 1080p modes from the display mode configuration, and only leave the 4K modes in there.
madshi is online now  
post #49 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Section where to change display resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR switches to that display mode from your list which most closely matches the source. So if you have 1080p24 in there, and you then play a Blu-Ray, madVR will switch to 1080p24. If you don't want madVR to switch to 1080p, then remove all 1080p modes from the display mode configuration, and only leave the 4K modes in there.
OK Thanks - Now I cant remember where to go to change the Display in MadVR - What section is this in the Player or MadVR?
CmiBobby is offline  
post #50 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 03:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmiBobby View Post
OK Thanks - Now I cant remember where to go to change the Display in MadVR - What section is this in the Player or MadVR?
Never mind I found it
CmiBobby is offline  
post #51 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Is worth upgrading to GTX 1060 from GTX 970

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR switches to that display mode from your list which most closely matches the source. So if you have 1080p24 in there, and you then play a Blu-Ray, madVR will switch to 1080p24. If you don't want madVR to switch to 1080p, then remove all 1080p modes from the display mode configuration, and only leave the 4K modes in there.

ALSO - UPGRADE - I have a 4th generation I-7 CPU and a GTX 970 and I am trying to get the very best picture I can on my 120 inch screen via new JVC RS 400 projector using MadVR PotPlayer - Do you think it would be worth the investment to upgrade to a GTX 1060 if I am not a Gamer - I Just want to get the every best picture I can out of my back up copies of 1080p Blu Ray movies using my HTPC up converting to a 4k/24 picture
CmiBobby is offline  
post #52 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Very best is probably gtx 1080 or titan although 1060 should do well with 4k upscaling @ 24fps.

Depends on what you want to do with madvr.
dwaleke is online now  
post #53 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Best PQ from MadVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
Very best is probably gtx 1080 or titan although 1060 should do well with 4k upscaling @ 24fps.

Depends on what you want to do with madvr.
Not being a Gamer - and using my HTPC to watch movies - I just want the best picture I can get for playing my back up copies of my 1080p Blu-Ray movies but I don't want to over spend on a Video card if the next lower less expensive Video card would work just as well for maximizing the full potential of using MadVR . Since I have my video card set to output 2106p24 to my JVC RS 400 projector which will accept a 4k signal then I am assuming up converting the 1080p picture to 2160p rather than keeping the resolution at 1080p would give me a better looking picture on my 120 ft screen? I haven't tried this yet but really don't want to spend $500 on a video card if a $250 video card would work just as well, since once again I am not a Gamer and don't play video games

Last edited by CmiBobby; 01-24-2017 at 04:18 PM. Reason: Spelling
CmiBobby is offline  
post #54 of 83 Old 01-24-2017, 11:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Upscaling to 4K should help. Can't say much about which GPU is faster than which. Generally you can get a rough picture about madVR performance when looking at game performance. It's roughly comparable. If your current GPU can do NGU Medium for 4K upscaling then that's 95% there. NGU High is only a small improvement, NGU Very High an even smaller improvement.
madshi is online now  
post #55 of 83 Old 01-25-2017, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Video cards for best PQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Upscaling to 4K should help. Can't say much about which GPU is faster than which. Generally you can get a rough picture about madVR performance when looking at game performance. It's roughly comparable. If your current GPU can do NGU Medium for 4K upscaling then that's 95% there. NGU High is only a small improvement, NGU Very High an even smaller improvement.

Ok I will experiment with my current card - What is the max dropped frames you want to stay under ?
CmiBobby is offline  
post #56 of 83 Old 01-25-2017, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmiBobby View Post
Ok I will experiment with my current card - What is the max dropped frames you want to stay under ?
Zero.
dwaleke is online now  
post #57 of 83 Old 01-25-2017, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,594
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Always going to drop a few right at the start of playback when switching frame rate.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #58 of 83 Old 01-26-2017, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Upscaling to 4K should help. Can't say much about which GPU is faster than which. Generally you can get a rough picture about madVR performance when looking at game performance. It's roughly comparable. If your current GPU can do NGU Medium for 4K upscaling then that's 95% there. NGU High is only a small improvement, NGU Very High an even smaller improvement.
So I am getting some frame drops when playing my 1080p movies via PotPlayer using MadVR and upscaling the movie to 4k/24. I have a 4th generation I-7 and I have my GTX 970 video card set up to display 4k/24 to my 4k faux JVC projector. In the MadVR section, I have the Chroma settings set to NGU to medium quality, but what settings do I use for the Image upscaling section in MadVR ? I have it set right now for LUMA= NGU very high & for Chroma= High and for Algorithm to use after doubling= set to Jinc AR & using "image downscaling setting"


Before I go out and purchase a better performing Video card I just want to get some feed back from some experienced MadVR people and see if I have it set up pretty much correctly and not selecting a section that is not needed - Thanks

Last edited by CmiBobby; 01-26-2017 at 04:14 PM. Reason: Spelling
CmiBobby is offline  
post #59 of 83 Old 01-26-2017, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Try chroma ngu low, upscaling luma ngu medium, rest let madvr decide.

Then increase luma to ngu high if you can.
dwaleke is online now  
post #60 of 83 Old 01-27-2017, 01:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
Try chroma ngu low, upscaling luma ngu medium, rest let madvr decide.

Then increase luma to ngu high if you can.
Exactly. Alternatively you can also use superxbr AR for chroma upscaling, which might save a bit performance compared to NGU low.
madshi is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off